Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #991  
Old 14th July 2012, 01:51 PM
Linuxour Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Egypt
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

This is a great script , thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #992  
Old 21st July 2012, 04:32 PM
Driftwould Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 64
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

I am updating my laptop from F15 to F17 and have been using Autoplus for sometime. Sadly I see on DangerMouse's website that he is ill and it will go dark next month. Very unfortunate since his script has been so helpful to me and nodoubt to many others. Does anybody no if it still works with F17? Can anyone recommend an alternative?

To dnmouse, thanks for all your help in the past and best wishes.
Reply With Quote
  #993  
Old 21st July 2012, 04:40 PM
jbuckley2004 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 247
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

Let me recommend EasyLife as a reasonable alternative. It worked well for me when I installed F17.

I second your thanks to Dangermouse. Autoten/Autoplus has been a tremendous help.
Reply With Quote
  #994  
Old 21st July 2012, 05:54 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

Autoplus does indeed still work for F17. I have used it on my F17 installs ever since F17 alpha was released.
Reply With Quote
  #995  
Old 22nd July 2012, 04:07 PM
Riff Gaffer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Age: 50
Posts: 85
unknownfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Driftwould View Post
I am updating my laptop from F15 to F17 and have been using Autoplus for sometime. Sadly I see on DangerMouse's website that he is ill and it will go dark next month. Very unfortunate since his script has been so helpful to me and nodoubt to many others. Does anybody no if it still works with F17? Can anyone recommend an alternative?

To dnmouse, thanks for all your help in the past and best wishes.
That's really sad. It seems from his site that it's because DM can't afford the hosting fees so maybe a few donations will help and keep the site going
Reply With Quote
  #996  
Old 22nd July 2012, 06:50 PM
robertdaleweir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 418
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riff Gaffer View Post
That's really sad. It seems from his site that it's because DM can't afford the hosting fees so maybe a few donations will help and keep the site going
Hi Riff Gaffer
I agree. Freedom and free should not mean that Beer doesn't cost money. The help and usage of his work that I have gotten from DM goes beyond money. Let's step up and give him some help.
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 3.9.10-100.fc17.x86_64 GNOME 3.4.2
CPU AMD 955 Quad Core
MoBo Gigabyte MA785GM-UD2H-AM3 MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs OCZ DDR3-1333 PC-10666
Reply With Quote
  #997  
Old 23rd July 2012, 01:46 AM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 60
Posts: 1,341
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

Yes, I too am sorry that such a useful utility as Autoplus will no longer be available. I would also like to challenge those who have found it useful but have not supported DangerMouse's efforts to do so. Perhaps if enough others step up, the site can be kept alive. (I would not make the challenge if I had not already given toward support).

at Dangermouse: How much is the hosting fee for the web site?
__________________
StephenH

"We must understand the reality that just because our culture claims certain things are true it does not mean they are!" --M. Liederbach

http://pilgrim-wanderings.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #998  
Old 23rd July 2012, 02:56 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

Sadly, just monetary support many not be enough

It still takes time and effort to keep the site running and the applications updated. If DM is having health issues, then he may not be able to continue to put the time in that it takes.

The monetary problems could probably easily be resolved with just a few donations from members here, but the other issues aren't so easily resolved

Whatever happens to his site and applications is secondary to his health, though. I sincerely hope and pray that DM makes it through his problems and comes back better than ever.

I am not going to go into any religious beliefs here (and don't wish this to start any religious debate), but I do hope that whatever your beliefs/religion, etc... that you keep DM in your thoughts and prayers/meditations/whatever, and wish him a very speedy recovery.
Reply With Quote
  #999  
Old 5th August 2012, 08:49 PM
ddan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 168
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

I would say the most important is to keep the site active for awhile. DM wouldn't have to update the site for awhile until he is feeling better. We could all give a bit to the web hosting fee and see what happens with DM's health.

I could also host the site if that is required. But I'm probably not up to updating it up every release.

ddan
Reply With Quote
  #1000  
Old 5th August 2012, 09:40 PM
robertdaleweir Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 418
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddan View Post
I would say the most important is to keep the site active for awhile. DM wouldn't have to update the site for awhile until he is feeling better. We could all give a bit to the web hosting fee and see what happens with DM's health.

I could also host the site if that is required. But I'm probably not up to updating it up every release.

ddan
Hi ddan
Here here. I personally would be glad to help in anyway.
__________________
Robert :)
Kernel 3.9.10-100.fc17.x86_64 GNOME 3.4.2
CPU AMD 955 Quad Core
MoBo Gigabyte MA785GM-UD2H-AM3 MicroATX
Memory 8 Gigs OCZ DDR3-1333 PC-10666
Reply With Quote
  #1001  
Old 16th August 2012, 05:07 PM
ddan Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 168
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

I haven't been able to contact dangermouse. But I'm still willing to host the site if that is required. Does anyone know how to contact him?

ddan
Reply With Quote
  #1002  
Old 16th August 2012, 06:02 PM
ajamison Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dundee, Michigan
Age: 34
Posts: 1,207
windows_7firefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

If need be someone can use the src rpm to host a side project of it till we can get in touch with Dave (A.K.A Dangermouse)

I have worked closely with him in the past and have his personal email if you are interested in helping him out with hosting or what not send me a PM on here i can forward you his email and you can pop him out an email.
__________________
Andrew Jamison
IRC:ajamison5579
Linux Counter # 435228
-----------------
Wiki page helping to show appropriate Fedora versions of Ubuntu commands [url=https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedorianDictionary]Fedora Dictionary[/url <--- Outdated been very busy looking to update it soon
Reply With Quote
  #1003  
Old 16th August 2012, 06:06 PM
ajamison Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dundee, Michigan
Age: 34
Posts: 1,207
windows_7firefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

in case the site goes down before someone can get the src rpm

I have attached the src rpm for the latest release
Attached Files
File Type: rpm autoplus-1.4-5.src.rpm (25.8 KB, 114 views)
__________________
Andrew Jamison
IRC:ajamison5579
Linux Counter # 435228
-----------------
Wiki page helping to show appropriate Fedora versions of Ubuntu commands [url=https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/FedorianDictionary]Fedora Dictionary[/url <--- Outdated been very busy looking to update it soon
Reply With Quote
  #1004  
Old 17th August 2012, 07:37 AM
Demz3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

i tried to contact him over a month ago but got no reply . hope he gets better.
Reply With Quote
  #1005  
Old 17th August 2012, 10:51 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
linuxfirefox
Re: Autoplus to help install codecs,flash etc...

Guys, I share your concern and wishes that Dave's health improves and perhaps he'll take us up on our offers sometime in the future, but we must respect his decision to call a halt for now.

Easylife is a fine alternative and I'm sure Duli can use our support in his efforts as well.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autoplus, codecs, flash, install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F14- non free/proprietary (flash/codecs/graphical drivers) zerobug Using Fedora 3 13th November 2010 09:04 PM
Add/Remove gets Internal Error / no free codecs? / Adobe Flash Doesnt Work kanazky Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 10 Only) 1 27th September 2008 09:44 PM
Trying to install codecs LockDeltz Using Fedora 3 8th June 2008 11:24 PM
is it ok to install ALL the mp3 codecs? marko Using Fedora 3 11th November 2007 08:27 AM
cant install codecs dw5437 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 4th October 2006 04:58 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:10 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat