Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #31  
Old 17th August 2012, 05:27 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,919
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

Steve, this is Virtualbox at the moment. I will try KVM when I get home (in my other computer). I could not get TC1 & TC2 to work either.

By the way, are these one of the issues you are facing?

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=844463
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=848930

---------- Post added at 10:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:52 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonamedotc View Post
I don't think the partitioner works very well.
  • Once a partition is created, I am unable to change the partition size. I am having to delete the partition and recreate it.
  • Also, regardless of what capacity I enter, the partitioner creates only 500 MB space. Automatic partitioning creates bigger partitions without problems.
Chris Lumens replied on the mailing list to these questions - http://lists.fedoraproject.org/piper...st/109491.html
  #32  
Old 17th August 2012, 06:27 PM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,263
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

@nonamedotc
Did you try a USB boot on a bare metal?
I couldnt get past beyond the recovery shell on all the TCs.
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD
  #33  
Old 17th August 2012, 07:39 PM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,994
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nonamedotc View Post
Steve, this is Virtualbox at the moment. I will try KVM when I get home (in my other computer). I could not get TC1 & TC2 to work either.

By the way, are these one of the issues you are facing?

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=844463
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=848930
The first matches my TC2 experience, but I don't have the details nor time to investigate.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
  #34  
Old 17th August 2012, 08:37 PM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,919
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hadrons123 View Post
@nonamedotc
Did you try a USB boot on a bare metal?
I couldnt get past beyond the recovery shell on all the TCs.
Nope. I have not got past Virtualbox in any of the TCs so far. As of now, only TC3 shows any hints of working. Screenshot of the fist screen -



Link to the image - http://forums.fedoraforum.org/album....pictureid=1363

Last edited by nonamedotc; 18th August 2012 at 04:06 AM.
  #35  
Old 18th August 2012, 02:19 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,542
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

Well, using VirtualBox, I got it installed, though the base install seems far more bloated than the previous minimal.
However, it wouldn't boot because it couldn't find a png file and apparently grub needs some sort of pretty background.

(Which is being unfair of course, it's TC 1 and still quite buggy, still, grub requiring a png file is the type of thing that makes me start ranting about those durn kids.....)
  #36  
Old 18th August 2012, 03:45 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,334
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

Grub don't neeeeeeeed noooooo steeeeeeenkin png file!

Crap! If they started putting that crap in by default, it appears I am going to have to spend time to strip it out. I wish they would at least make it a choice before sticking all the bloat crap in.

A bootloader should be just that.. a bootloader. nothing pretty.. nothing fancy.. just boot the darned OS as quickly and efficiently as possible. The more crap that is put in, the more chance that something will break and you have an unbootable system.
  #37  
Old 18th August 2012, 04:00 AM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,263
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

@nonamedotc
Your link is broken.
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD
  #38  
Old 18th August 2012, 04:01 AM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,919
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by smr54 View Post
Well, using VirtualBox, I got it installed, though the base install seems far more bloated than the previous minimal.
Well, that kind of explains why package customization is missing too! I have long felt that ease of package customization during install is one of the best points of anaconda! Looks like that's going away ...
  #39  
Old 18th August 2012, 04:44 AM
Demz3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

im sure someone said on one of the lists that the old Customization during install will not be returning in this new Anaconda.
  #40  
Old 18th August 2012, 05:14 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,279
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

The Fedora Project: Almost ten years of solid innovation and progress ... uninterrupted by common sense. <....>
  #41  
Old 18th August 2012, 05:28 AM
Demz3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

i'll miss it but once installed its just as easy enough to yum the stuff up once the DE is installed
  #42  
Old 18th August 2012, 05:35 AM
nonamedotc Offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3,919
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
The Fedora Project: Almost ten years of solid innovation and progress ... uninterrupted by common sense. <....>
Brilliant!

It is really quite insane. Guess, I would have to install base system and install everything on top. It is definitely easy as Greg says - just a little inconvenient ...
  #43  
Old 18th August 2012, 05:48 AM
hadrons123 Offline
'The Blue Dragon'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pitt,PA
Posts: 1,263
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

I always had to remove a bunch of stuff after installing from a LiveCD. so it doesnt make any difference to me!
__________________
LENOVO Y580 FHD Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM CPU @ 2.40GHz × 8 |660M GTX NVIDIA | 16 GB SSD
  #44  
Old 18th August 2012, 06:27 AM
Demz3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

one problem i have with the New Anaconda is you can only install the 1 DE but once installed you have to do a groupinstall of another DE to have more than 1 DE/WM to log into i think scott pointed that out in one of the lists ages ago?
  #45  
Old 18th August 2012, 11:26 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,542
linuxchrome
Re: Fedora 18 TC1 images are out!

The thing is, I try not to rant anymore. Two reasons--one, the fact that I don't like something, doesn't mean it's not good. More importantly, at some point, I realized that Fedora and Ubuntu, to pick the two most obvious, are far more popular than say, ArchLinux, which is probably the most popular of the Let's not include the kitchen sink distros.

And, it's like complaining about politics, very little is going to be done. When RH 6.x came out with the crippled text install, there was some disbelief from those who use RH and its clones at this next step towards making it nice for the masses, but then people adjusted--no one is going to suddenly change 100 servers from RH (or CentOS or whatever) to Debian or Ubuntu server.

RH is sort of in the same position as MS--they can, within limits, do whatever they want, and though folks may complain they'll keep using it because it's too much trouble to switch--and more importantly, it seems the vast majority of desktop users prefer things this way (or else they'd be using Arch, let alone Gentoo, or leaving Linux for BSDs)

It's all stuff that can be dealt with, but it makes more work.

Last edited by smr54; 18th August 2012 at 01:11 PM.
 

Tags
fedora, images, tc1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 7 images are DVD only?! HMSS013 Using Fedora 56 3rd June 2007 05:13 AM
Fedora 7 images are DVD only?! HMSS013 Using Fedora 25 1st June 2007 12:41 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:19 (Friday, 28-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat