Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th March 2005, 08:24 PM
TheJkWhoSaysNi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Mount Extended Partition?

My hda has two partitions. Both NTFS. I've installed the ntfs package so that ntfs partitions can be mounted. hda1 is a logical partition and mounts fine. hda2 is an extended partition and wont mount.

It says this:

Quote:
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda2,
or too many mounted file systems
(aren't you trying to mount an extended partition,
instead of some logical partition inside?)
How can I mount the extended partition? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th March 2005, 08:31 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 39
Posts: 4,175
I don't think you can mount the extended partition.
The extended DOS partition causes most of the confusion on the part of those setting up new DOS/Windows PCs. It really functions as a "container" that holds all DOS partitions except for the first (primary) volume. The reason that this structure was used is that the original design, with its limit of four partitions, was too restrictive. The extended DOS partition system allows you to have up to 24 disk partitions in a single system, without violating compatibility with older hardware and software designed based on the original four-partition limit.
Someone chime in here if I'm mistaken
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th March 2005, 08:34 PM
TheJkWhoSaysNi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Is there any way I can read the data from the partition other than moving the data to another drive and recreating the partition as a logical partition?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th March 2005, 02:56 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 39
Posts: 4,175
I think your missing the point There is no data on the extended partition. Think of it this way, you have a cup cake pan that can hold 12 cup cakes. the 12 cup cakes are the partitions and the pan is the "extended" or container that holds the partitions.

What is the FS of that partition? Not the extended
What is the output of
Code:
su - (to become root don't forget the dash )
fdisk -l
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?

Last edited by fedorajim; 29th March 2005 at 02:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
extended, mount, partition

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mount extended partition? bg3075 Using Fedora 6 18th April 2009 05:33 PM
Removing extended partition ronan.l.n Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 6th March 2008 11:29 PM
How to mount extended & LVM partition ? kio Using Fedora 3 9th July 2006 05:17 PM
extended partition problems vuashnel Using Fedora 2 18th April 2006 01:17 AM
primary or extended partition??? buchalkalan Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 25th September 2005 04:14 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:43 (Saturday, 02-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat