Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd June 2005, 02:50 PM
ECarroll47 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
installing RPMs

HI all
I am new to Fedora coming from Suse and would like to no how to install RPMs, I see you can not just click them and they install like in Suse. what do I do?

PS. Running FC4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd June 2005, 02:58 PM
jcliburn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 1,180
From the command line:

rpm -ivh rpmfilename

rpm -Uvh rpmfilename

man rpm for lots of other options.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd June 2005, 02:58 PM
sailor Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas - Home of the Alamo, the "Cradle of Texas Liberty"
Age: 56
Posts: 4,109
To install rpm's you need to go into a terminal and as root:
Quote:
rpm -Uvh filename.rpm
the "-Uvh" is the paramaterI use most often ( it will will install or upgrade the package) there are various commands you can use just run
Quote:
man rpm
to see all options.
__________________
**********************************************
sailor
San Antonio, Texas

Fedora 20 - Lenovo IdeaPad V570
**********************************************
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd June 2005, 03:06 PM
ECarroll47 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks you all .Thats what I thought.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd June 2005, 03:19 PM
laurent Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 49
Posts: 77
You can alwways double-clic them to install them. i do it every day ! :o)))
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd June 2005, 03:27 PM
BostonWatcher Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 74
ECarroll, I'm not sure if I understood your question. But, with KDE, you can skip the commandline in almost all simple situations.
So, if you are browsing a webpage that has the rpm you need to install, you can just click on it and the it will open with 'kpackage' that, among many other things, will let you install the package with a click.
If you are browsing your filesystem with konqueror you can do exactly the same. Obviously you can also run kpackage alone.
If you're familiar with apt, you can also use the synaptic front end for an all-graphic management of your rpms.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
installing, rpms

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing rpms without... linux4me Using Fedora 6 30th April 2008 04:11 AM
Installing RPMs Tsunami22 Using Fedora 1 5th August 2006 11:36 PM
Installing other RPMs bilou Using Fedora 13 16th April 2005 01:50 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:08 (Saturday, 26-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat