Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th July 2005, 12:55 AM
92b16vx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 676
/boot/grub/grub.conf + modification = ?

So, does anyone know why when I remove rghb quiet from behind "kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00" in my "/boot/grub/grubconf" it causes my external HD and thumbdrive not to mount?
__________________
Windows 7 x64 | Ubuntu | i7 920 | EVGA x58 E758 | HIS HD 6870 | 12GB RAM | 6TB Storage
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th July 2005, 03:07 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
(!) ...we give up. Give us a hint. Try removing "rhgb" and the "quiet" seperately and see if one of them alone causes the problem.
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th July 2005, 07:20 PM
92b16vx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 676
Actually, I did, and it didn't mount them either time. Then I put it back and it did, then I rebooted once more, and the external didn't mount I guess it's just screwy.
__________________
Windows 7 x64 | Ubuntu | i7 920 | EVGA x58 E758 | HIS HD 6870 | 12GB RAM | 6TB Storage
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th July 2005, 07:29 PM
tejas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bangalore
Age: 27
Posts: 1,574
Well pretty obvious -

rhgb stands for redhat graphical boot. It is responsible for drawing that blue box aroung the screen when it says
starting foo [OK]

quiet just makes sure the kernel doesn't spit out 1000s of messages while loading
__________________
I Was Counted! Registered Linux User #384707

BASH && Beer && Bass! Now THAT makes sense!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th July 2005, 07:34 PM
92b16vx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 676
That's what I was thinking, but there was 0 problems till I did that, then all of a sudden the external and thumb wouldn't mount, I changed it back and there they were. One time when I booted into Windows, and then back, they didn't mount with it corrected.
__________________
Windows 7 x64 | Ubuntu | i7 920 | EVGA x58 E758 | HIS HD 6870 | 12GB RAM | 6TB Storage
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th July 2005, 01:57 AM
92b16vx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by tashirosgt
(!) ...we give up. Give us a hint. Try removing "rhgb" and the "quiet" seperately and see if one of them alone causes the problem.
Ok, I did it a couple times both ways, and if I remove "quiet" alone, it works fine, external and thumbdrive mounts, if I remove "rhgb" or both they will not mount, and gives an error during boot, about needing to know what filesystem then [FAILED]

Is there a reason for this, ok some kind of correlation between them?
__________________
Windows 7 x64 | Ubuntu | i7 920 | EVGA x58 E758 | HIS HD 6870 | 12GB RAM | 6TB Storage
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th July 2005, 03:26 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
Could you quote the exact error message? (It might be in /var/log/messages.)
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th July 2005, 04:02 PM
92b16vx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 676
I can't seem to get into /var/log/messages I keep getting not enough permissions if you know how, that would help.

But the message is mounting filesystem: mount: you must specify filesystem type.
__________________
Windows 7 x64 | Ubuntu | i7 920 | EVGA x58 E758 | HIS HD 6870 | 12GB RAM | 6TB Storage
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th July 2005, 04:27 PM
92b16vx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 676
Bah, logged on as root, and got in. I can't seem to find the message anywhere in /var/log anywhere else to get the exact message?

It is after it initializes eth0, you know, when you can hide details/showdetails.
__________________
Windows 7 x64 | Ubuntu | i7 920 | EVGA x58 E758 | HIS HD 6870 | 12GB RAM | 6TB Storage
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
modification

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
possible to edit /boot/grub/grub.conf from live cd? mailman1175 Using Fedora 4 29th December 2008 01:28 AM
FC4 and /boot/grub/menu.lst and /etc/grub.conf zillah Using Fedora 33 13th January 2006 06:57 AM
editing the /boot/grub/grub.conf file Debaser13 Using Fedora 10 10th June 2005 05:40 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:52 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Munster Photos - Jacksonville Travel Photos - Nova Prata