Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th June 2006, 04:35 PM
cap98 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 5
/usr/bin/cdrecord: Resource temporarily unavailable. Cannot get mmap for 4198400 Byte

i have this error message when i try to erase cd-rw or burn audio trackswith k3b (or other burning applications) as user. I't's all ok if i try do to the same thing like root.
I already used k3bset to change permission on cdrecord.
Any idea?
thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th June 2006, 05:25 PM
gtr225 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bronx, NY, USA
Age: 29
Posts: 247
I have the same problem too, the only way to get around it is to burn as root. I believe an update to the kernel doesn't allow a user to burn unless they are the root.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th June 2006, 04:01 AM
boby Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sighisoara
Age: 30
Posts: 8
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtr225
I believe an update to the kernel doesn't allow a user to burn unless they are the root.
Nope, just updated to 2.6.17-1.2139_FC5 and still same error

Boby
__________________
.:: Linux is user friendly ... it's just selective about who it's friends are ::.
My Homepage: www.frozenminds.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th June 2006, 04:04 AM
gtr225 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bronx, NY, USA
Age: 29
Posts: 247
Yes, it's been like this for the past few kernel versions. Originally when burning did work under k3b as a user it was because it would change some permissions and stuff. I think because of security reasons, the newer kernels don't allow it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th June 2006, 04:13 AM
boby Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sighisoara
Age: 30
Posts: 8
As far as I can remember we had this once on FC3 or FC4 too. It was fixed in the comming kernel version, but now it takes more time
OK, I still have to burn as root.

Boby
__________________
.:: Linux is user friendly ... it's just selective about who it's friends are ::.
My Homepage: www.frozenminds.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th June 2006, 04:21 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
I have never had a problem burning with k3b as user. I have not tried with the latest 2.6.17 (just updated yesterday), but with all other kernels I have burned as user.

This topic has been covered, but I don't recall if there was a solution or what that solution might have been. Try the search. There should be something there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th June 2006, 04:25 AM
gtr225 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bronx, NY, USA
Age: 29
Posts: 247
Yea I really hope they make it the way it was. That's the worst bug when something works fine then because of a change, some cool feature doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th June 2006, 04:31 AM
boby Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sighisoara
Age: 30
Posts: 8
It's even listed in bugzilla for more than 2 months:
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=189199
__________________
.:: Linux is user friendly ... it's just selective about who it's friends are ::.
My Homepage: www.frozenminds.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th June 2006, 06:59 AM
LocutusOfBorg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by cap98
I already used k3bset to change permission on cdrecord.
cdrecord mustn't be run suid root, and the device permissions on the burner must be set to 666 (use udev for this).
__________________
I am Bill of Borg. Resistance izkx GPF 0x5654 8820 Application
RESIST.EXE has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
byte, mmap, or usr or bin or cdrecord, resource, temporarily, unavailable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kdevelop libtool temporarily unavailable Indian Programming & Packaging 8 1st May 2010 01:47 AM
nohup.out - rainlendar2: Fatal IO error 11 (Resource temporarily unavailable) on X se Thaidog Using Fedora 0 11th May 2009 12:09 AM
NAMED error? or temporarily unavailable host? overlord Servers & Networking 3 30th August 2008 07:11 PM
cdrecord: Resource temporarily unavailable. Cannot get mmap for 4198400 Bytes... whatdoineed2do Using Fedora 1 24th January 2007 10:47 PM
cdrecord: Resource temporarily unavailable. Cannot get mmap for 8392704 Bytes on /dev jarodriguezm Using Fedora 0 7th June 2006 03:33 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:40 (Thursday, 18-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat