Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th August 2006, 11:41 AM
jojojo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Saving a complete Operation system on DVD

Hello,

I would like to prepare myself for situations if something will happen to hardware, software etc...
Therefore I studied the "Hard Disk Mini How-To" from the internet. So far it works fine and I had no complications.

Now I would do the same but instead of using a second harddisk I would like to burn the datas on a DVD. Right now my system is not that big and it would fit on a DVD.
I tried already to burn everything with K3B onto the DVD but when I try to recopy the datas some files are not readable anymore(for example "console" from the folder "dev").

Does there exist such a methode or do I have to improve anything?

I don`t want to clone the harddisk and I don`t want to copy the exact partition. I simply want to save the datas and recopy them onto the already prepared partition.

regards

jojojo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th August 2006, 03:03 PM
ccrvic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by jojojo
Now I would do the same but instead of using a second harddisk I would like to burn the datas on a DVD.
Google for "mondo rescue".

Vic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th August 2006, 03:39 PM
linux_paul Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 320
I personally use mondo but partimage is also available.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th August 2006, 08:42 PM
jojojo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Exactly!! I checked mondo already. Easy to use and flexible. I reinstalled the system from the DVD and system works already with the other harddisk!!

The only thing I wonder about is the fact that at the end the program complained, after checking again the DVD(checking is an additional option). It says that the operation failed. But I didn`t care about and reinstalled everything. What could it be in case of complaining?

In case of partimage: as I understand it can only be used if the for example new harddisk has the same partitions as from the one from which the datas had been saved. Isn`t it? And with mondo I have the option to modify.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
complete, dvd, operation, saving

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete System Lock-up! derekw Using Fedora 12 23rd February 2008 04:54 PM
Complete system freezes pd1853 Hardware & Laptops 9 23rd February 2007 04:03 PM
system freezes after a few hours of operation goll Using Fedora 8 20th January 2005 02:16 PM
Whether I can saving my system, lost MBR and partition table ? jiawj Using Fedora 8 17th September 2004 01:35 AM
How to mount a HDD with a complete system (7.2) MaMan Using Fedora 1 29th June 2004 11:47 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:36 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat