Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th December 2006, 05:19 AM
carlman001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Problem with beryl animation

hi
I've installed beryl-manager.
Now, when fedora is starting and I log in as root, the beryl's setting are not loading automatically and I can't see the title bar, I don't know why. I have to reload manually by beryl-manager, but it shouldn't be like that.

Please, Do you know how can i see the title bar in the windows again?
The desktop effects is in on.

Thanks
Carlos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th December 2006, 06:31 AM
Dies Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,754
No, but I'll tell you this, setting beryl as a startup program on the root account is a terrible idea.
Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th December 2006, 02:05 PM
carlman001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Ok Dies, I won't try to make settings to beryl.
But at least, how can I show the title bar in the windows again?

When I use, for example: firefox or a terminal or word processor, I see the menu items but I can't see the title bar, I don't know why. In what part i should configure in order to see the title bar in the windows.

Thanks
Carlos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th December 2006, 07:01 PM
Maxorata Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 45
Hi,
I had the very same problem and this is what I did to solve it:
Clicked on the Beryl-manager Icon an selected Beryl as my window manager.
This should solve your problem, it worked for me. From time to time you may have the same problem, just click on "reload window manager" and it should work again.
Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th December 2006, 08:25 PM
rappermas Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colorado
Age: 25
Posts: 1,281
Turn off desktop effects because beryl and desktop effects, (beryl vs compiz) are not the same thing. They conflict.
__________________
PRECISION:
Dell Precision 380, Intel Pentium D, 3.00 GHz, 2 GB (4 x 512 MB) DDR2, ATi FireGL v3100 (128 MB), SB X-Fi, Sony 16X DVD-ROM, Optiarc 16X DVD+/-RW

VALOR:
HP Pavilion, Intel Pentium IV 3.2 GHz HT, 1 GB Corsair, nVIDIA Quadro FX 1100 (128 MB), SB Live!, HP 16X DVD-Writer 400i, 16X DVD-ROM

HPPAV:
HP Pavilion 8766C, Intel Pentium III 900 MHz, 640 MB PC-100 SDRAM (3 DIMMs), nVIDIA GeForce FX5200 (256 MB), ESS Maestro 2E, HP CD-Writer Plus (CD-RW 4X), Hitachi 8X DVD-ROM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th December 2006, 02:53 AM
Saint Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Earth... sometimes
Posts: 384
If you did want it for root just add beryl-manager to startup programs in sessions

But it is a bad idea, you shoudnt really be loging in as root user

Its best to have a normal user and then use sudo or su to run things with root permissions when you need it

You should be doing this as while a root user everything you run has root permissions, meaning anything you download and run has the abbility to completly runin your system which you dont want ;- )
__________________
_________________________________
Cheers to the community for all the awsome work :)
HP Proliant N36L Microserver Os: FC19-MATE Ram: 2x4 gig DDR3 1333C8 Video Card: Nvidia GTX520
Main PC Os: FC15, Win7 CPU: Intel i7-2600K Ram: 2x4 gig DDR3 1600C7 Video card: Nvidia EVGA GTX570-OC

Last edited by Saint Mike; 30th December 2006 at 02:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th December 2006, 04:55 AM
carlman001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Hi, I have to tell something.
It could be bad idea, but works!!!
I went to System>Preferences>Sessions, in Startup program tab I added the following commands:
1) beryl, then click on Add button.
2) beryl-manager and click on Add button.

Then I've logout and login as root and works, I already can see the bartitle in the windows. beryl reloads automatically with its settings.

Carlos
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th December 2006, 11:24 AM
Saint Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Earth... sometimes
Posts: 384
I dont think you need both beryl and beryl-manager, just have beryl-manager

if you are having problems with window titles then it will usually be becuase you are trying to run both compiz desktop effects and beryl at the same time.
__________________
_________________________________
Cheers to the community for all the awsome work :)
HP Proliant N36L Microserver Os: FC19-MATE Ram: 2x4 gig DDR3 1333C8 Video Card: Nvidia GTX520
Main PC Os: FC15, Win7 CPU: Intel i7-2600K Ram: 2x4 gig DDR3 1600C7 Video card: Nvidia EVGA GTX570-OC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st December 2006, 05:47 PM
carlman001 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 56
Saint Mike, you are right.

What happened is bery was in on and desktop effects too. Then I put desktop effects in off and it'sworking.

Yes, beryl was not neccesary, only beryl-manager.

Thanks for information
Carlos
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th January 2007, 05:21 PM
Maxorata Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 45
New problem with Beryl settings

Well, now I'm having problems with beryl, they're not serious, but would like to get rid for them.
After tweaking Beryl settings, all my desktops are enabled, sixteen of them. You can see the 16 squares on the taskbar. I've only enabled 4 desktops in KDE, but for some reason when using Beryl-manager all 16 desktops open (they're not really open, they just show up in the taskbar as if I had enabled them in KDE, which I had not done.
Does anyone know how to get rid of this?
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FedoraCore6-screen1.png
Views:	90
Size:	841.8 KB
ID:	11012  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
animation, beryl, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with beryl sabarish737 Using Fedora 1 18th November 2007 06:18 PM
FC7 - Beryl - Wont Load Beryl Window manager m3taL Using Fedora 6 15th September 2007 06:51 AM
Beryl svn problem?? NetSpy Using Fedora 1 2nd September 2007 06:00 PM
Beryl Question....Causing beryl to rotate the cube after X amount of minutes? rstr5105 Using Fedora 0 13th December 2006 06:34 AM
Beryl problem Lindy Using Fedora 2 8th December 2006 03:02 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:35 (Friday, 22-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat