Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 31st March 2006, 06:31 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
FC5, system-config-soundcard and device precedence

Houston: I've got a problem.

So it happens I want to use both of my sound cards, an onboard VIA and my Creative Labs Live! Value. The problem: Up to Fedora Core 4 I could control (as one would expect) which card was the default and the first card (used by default by many apps) by means of simple /etc/modprobe.conf manipulation, but with Core 5 and its creative way of managing ALSA devices, I simply can't figure out how!

The thing is that the onboard VIA card is being systematically placed before the Live! and I WANT the Live! to be the default and card0, so I did a rearrengement in /etc/modprobe.conf... To no avail... The way I was able to work around the problem was to unload all modules in a fresh reboot, and then reload them in the order I wanted (first the emu10k1 then the via82xx)... But upon reboot, you guessed it! Relocation!

How can I stop Core 5 from doing things as IT wants and do things as I want?

HELP!

BTW, here's my /etc/modprobe.conf:
Code:
# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
alias snd-card-0 snd-emu10k1
alias snd-card-1 snd-via82xx
# module options should go here
#options snd snd_cards_limit=2
#options snd-emu10k1 card_index=1
#options snd-via82xx card_index=2
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore
        # card #0
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
        # card #1
alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss
Ohh, and for some reason the modules don't recognize the options snd_index=# or card_index=#
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st March 2006, 06:37 AM
LocutusOfBorg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 684
I have a similar setup with a onboard 8ch chip and my 6ch audigy.
I simply copied the relevant lines from my FC4 modprobe.conf and it works - but I do have a .asoundrc file in my home directory in which I have set the default alsa device (and a number of plugins) so that it uses the audigy.
__________________
I am Bill of Borg. Resistance izkx GPF 0x5654 8820 Application
RESIST.EXE has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st March 2006, 07:36 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
Hmm... thanks for pointing to the .asoundrc and that directly relates to /etc/alsa.conf and ainit.conf
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st March 2006, 09:30 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
Seems my problem was /etc/asound.conf (should have known it!)
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st March 2006, 07:05 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
For some very strange reason, it seemed as if Core 5 was ignoring modprobe.conf altogether and I had a problem with module load precedence, which I thought was controlled by modprobe.conf's snd-card-# <module> directives, being '#' the order in which the modules would load... That held true in Core 4, but in Core 5 after several reboots it did not work, I had to completely halt the system and once I rebooted this morning it strangely worked... Odd.
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd April 2006, 10:59 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
An update... On another cold boot, the devices switched back... again. This is driving me nuts. I don't seem to be able to make the card I want to be the first (card 0) and default card... Why was this changed for Core 5 final? It worked fine with the tests, though.
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th April 2006, 03:44 PM
null_pointer_us Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82
I and others seem to be experiencing similar problems with multiple/USB audio devices in FC5. There's a chance your issue may be related. I have created a bugzilla entry which you might want to follow in case a resolution or workaround is proposed and applies to your situation.

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=188033
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
device, fc5, precedence, systemconfigsoundcard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora Core 9 and system-config-soundcard prt7u Hardware & Laptops 1 2nd June 2008 06:32 PM
VNC - opening system-config-soundcard coolbeansdude51 Using Fedora 0 7th October 2007 09:12 PM
system-config-soundcard not working after fc6 3rd install MrUmunhum EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 25th March 2007 02:07 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:30 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Novohrad-Volynskyy Travel Photos on Instagram - Pervomaysk Travel Photos on Instagram - Dan Khun Thot