Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th April 2006, 04:57 AM
Sticky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Angry Firefox and Flash Plugin Problems

I responded on a similiar thread but thought I would open my own as well.

I have this very crazy problem that has reproduced itself on two seperate machines.
Running FC5 with default Firefox 1.5.0.1 installed in /usr/lib/ I run into the problem of Fox not recognizing the installation of Flash Player 7.0.
I have ran the RPM package installer to no avail as it installs in ./mozilla/ and no where else.
After copying the plugin files to the ./plugins/ folder manually Fox still does not recognize the plugin.
I can tell this by not only going to a website using flash but also through about:firefox, it doesn't show up on the plugin list.
Warren's yum repo for flash also hasn't worked out for me. Every website I go to still tells me I need to install the Flash plugin.
I'm completely stuck, I'm still new to Linux but feel as if I have done pretty well in trouble shooting this problem.

Tell me if I'm being a stupid newb and missing something obvious.

Thxs in advance for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th January 2007, 06:43 AM
rstrong30 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Your not stupid... Firefox is! I'm having the same problem. I'll let you know if I find something.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th January 2007, 07:09 AM
rstrong30 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
This worked for me on FC6.

1. wget http://macromedia.mplug.org/macromedia-i386.repo
2. cp macromedia-i386.repo /etc/yum.repos.d/
3. yum install flash-plugin
4. restart firefox
5. type "aboutlugins" in browser and look for flash
6. last... try flash site!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th January 2007, 11:28 AM
eldje Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
jup worked for me on FC5 ... tnx ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th January 2007, 05:42 AM
raremon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
I don't knwo why its not working on my computer... is it working on 64bit pcs? I tried that and what happened is that yumex didn't push through... instead, it popped out a warning needed to be debugged... please help... thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th January 2007, 01:17 PM
alpha645 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by raremon
I don't knwo why its not working on my computer... is it working on 64bit pcs? I tried that and what happened is that yumex didn't push through... instead, it popped out a warning needed to be debugged... please help... thanks...
I suggest you use the 32-bit. I also have an 64-bit CPU, but these days, it's useless. Java and many other programs simply don't work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th January 2007, 06:15 PM
stlouis1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by rstrong30
This worked for me on FC6.

1. wget http://macromedia.mplug.org/macromedia-i386.repo
2. cp macromedia-i386.repo /etc/yum.repos.d/
3. yum install flash-plugin
4. restart firefox
5. type "aboutlugins" in browser and look for flash
6. last... try flash site!

wouldn't that just install the rpm here?
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get...lease.i386.rpm
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th January 2007, 07:53 PM
alpha645 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by stlouis1
wouldn't that just install the rpm here?
http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/get...lease.i386.rpm
Probably, but yum will also automatically look for updates.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th January 2007, 10:26 AM
raremon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpha645
I suggest you use the 32-bit. I also have an 64-bit CPU, but these days, it's useless. Java and many other programs simply don't work.
does this mean that flash and other programs will simply not work on 64-bit cpu?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th January 2007, 02:19 PM
alpha645 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by raremon
does this mean that flash and other programs will simply not work on 64-bit cpu?
Well, there are exceptions. But the chance you get everything to work under 64-bit is very small.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19th January 2007, 05:25 AM
raremon Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpha645
Well, there are exceptions. But the chance you get everything to work under 64-bit is very small.
wow... what a chance! anyways, thanks for that information... now I know I can't play flash on my PC at office... hehe... thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19th January 2007, 06:22 AM
alpha645 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by raremon
wow... what a chance! anyways, thanks for that information... now I know I can't play flash on my PC at office... hehe... thanks...
Remember one thing, some stuff does work sometime. So it's alway worth trying
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19th January 2007, 11:23 PM
fedora1953 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5
Adobe does have the Flash Player for the Firefox / Seamonkey browsers. It can be downloaded from: http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/downl...sion=Netscape4

Download the Option 1: .tar.gz
After the download is complete click on the “install_flash_player_9_linux.tar.gz” icon. Your Archive Manager will then open. After is does, click on the “Extract” icon. It will ask you where to extract the folder. After doing that, click the Extract button. It will extract the “install_flash_player_9_linux.tar.gz” you had downloaded into 4 files. Open that folder and click on the “flashplayer – installer” A window will open asking if you want to “Do you want to run "flashplayer-installer", or display its contents?”
Click on the button that reads, “Run in Terminal.” Follow the prompts and you are finished.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19th January 2007, 11:33 PM
joe.pelayo Offline
An ape descendant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mexico City
Age: 30
Posts: 3,105
Try to disable SELinux, that worked for me once.
__________________
Notebook: Acer Aspire 5536-5112.
AMD Athlon X2 QL64 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, ATI Radeon HD3200 (256MB), 250GB Toshiba HDD, HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GT20N
Windows 7 Professional, Fedora 20 x86_64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
firefox, flash, plugin, problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F11 x86_64, Firefox 3.5, flash-plugin i386, mozilla-plugin-config bongoman Using Fedora 21 30th July 2009 02:58 AM
Help with Fedora 10 (64bit) - Firefox 3 Flash plugin problems Achilleas Using Fedora 17 26th May 2009 04:43 PM
flash-plugin and firefox ntr0py Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 5th June 2007 01:50 PM
firefox flash plugin xGutsAndGloryx Using Fedora 1 15th November 2006 09:04 PM
firefox flash plugin Negatratoron Using Fedora 0 17th September 2006 03:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:25 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat