Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th April 2006, 05:50 AM
cow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
intel D945 matrix raid 1 array how do i rebuild array?

i am using FC5 with an intel D945 intel matrix iCH7 chipset raid 1 array setup. i pulled out one of the drives and put another in place now the bios says rebuild in the OS. how do i rebuild in FC5 linux? Is there a software or command to easily rebuild the array?

any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th April 2006, 07:21 AM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
I haven't tried raid in Linux, but your question made me curious. So I was reading:
http://man-wiki.net/index.php/8:mdadm
Perhaps you can figure out your situation and explain it to me. I would think that you might have to set the new drive up for raid. But I didn't see any "rebuild" command. So perhaps if you add the drive to the array, it automatically begins to rebuild itself.
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th April 2006, 08:11 AM
cow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
tashirosgt: the link is talking about Linux software raid... i am using the fake software raid supported by the controller. i appreciate the info though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th April 2006, 08:23 AM
cow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
i think i found something pertaining to what i am doing.

http://people.redhat.com/~heinzm/sw/dmraid/readme
http://tienstra4.flatnet.tudelft.nl/~gerte/gen2dmraid/

but i have no idea what it all means...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th April 2006, 03:06 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,964
After reading:
man dmraid
It isn't clear to me what you are supposed to do. The dmraid command seems to be used to inspect raid arrays. You just put in a new drive, so I presume it needs to be partitioned and formatted. I suppose you could use dmraid to see what the current state of the array is. Is the controller supposed to be smart enough to partition and format a swapped drive by itself?
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
array, d945, intel, matrix, raid, rebuild

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to rebuild RAID array Austin_joe Using Fedora 0 21st September 2009 09:12 PM
hardware RAID1 rebuild - intel matrix, shankar_das777 Servers & Networking 6 22nd December 2008 12:23 PM
MDADM array crashes on rebuild jscheponik Using Fedora 1 4th November 2008 04:54 PM
Trying to Install FC9 on Intel RAID array DiggerG Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 18th September 2008 06:13 AM
Has anyone had to rebuild a RAID array under FC5? chopperboy EOL (End Of Life) Versions 0 22nd June 2006 11:24 PM


Current GMT-time: 20:38 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Lowell - Nimes Photos - Kolomenskoye Travel Photos