<---- template headericclude ----->
Need opinions & comments - thinking of switching to FC5
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    zambizzi Guest

Need opinions & comments - thinking of switching to FC5

I apologize ahead of time for the long-winded post...I'm posting to get some simple, honest answers since I'm almost entirely unfamliar w/ Fedora and haven't touched it since FC2. I'm sure a lot has changed so please fill me in!

I've been using Gentoo since 2002 and have been (mostly) happy w/ it. It has been a great learning tool and has really made me appreciate Linux...it's the reason I'm a using Linux today - other distros at the time couldn't match up and turned me off *fast*.

These days, I'm a little tired of the maintenance Gentoo requires and don't really have the time it takes to "hold hands" and make sure nothing breaks when upgrading packages. I've once again started looking outside of Gentoo for another distro that is equally as stable, flexible, and fast. Granted, Gentoo is only as stable as you make it...mine has been rock-solid since I'm very conservative about how my system is configured...and careful.

I can't see a distro out there today that's advancing and innovating on the level that Fedora/RedHat is. When I started w/ Linux, I started w/ RedHat (5.2) and it was pretty rough until 8.0/9.0 and beyond...right about the time I switched to Gentoo.

FC5 looks absolutely fabulous. I built a PC last night for my 15 yr. old step-son and didn't have time to go through the Gentoo install & configuration pee-pee dance afterwards...I wanted something he could take home and just run with. I installed a basic FC5 desktop and ran all of the updates...it looks incredible...but I haven't had enough time to break it yet.