Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 3rd May 2006, 03:03 AM
Daverz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 128
I think you built the rpm with too many dependencies. Monodevelop complains about not being able to load a Sybase client!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 3rd May 2006, 11:15 AM
msumurph Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 18
code_astronomer,

I have also noticed problems with my help files and I have noticed problems with opening PDF files. There seems to be a Mime type probelm. I was not sure when the issue happened as I updated a few things in addition to Monodevelop, but I suspect that since you are also having a problem its a safe bet one of these is the culprit.

I guess there is a lesson to be learned here about installing rpmsthat aren't in extras yet. I'm sorry for that. I'm going to work on this problem (probably email the packager) and see if I can get my things back to normal. In the mean time, I would not reccommend anyone install these rpms until these issues are resolved.

I did not install the mod_mono or the ikvm so I have no advice on that issue.

Sorry again. Good luck.

Last edited by msumurph; 3rd May 2006 at 11:25 AM. Reason: Correction
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 3rd May 2006, 11:20 AM
msumurph Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 18
Daverz,

Just to clarify, I didn't build the packages, just found them on the Mono-list, but I agree there are issues. The packager's email is on his web site if you wish to contact him.

Take care!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 3rd May 2006, 11:31 AM
code_astronomer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: England
Posts: 470
msumurph: I kind of managed to fix my stuff...(see this users thread: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...d.php?t=107542, they had similar problems to me).

I actually removed monodevelop and all the packages I installed with it to get it to work, so I'm roughly back to normal now.

I was going to build the source, which would probably have been a better option, or install using the installer...nevermind...at least I roughly know how to fix the problem if it happens with something else

I also recommend people wait for an official Extras release
__________________
-- M$ cater for the lowest common denominator --
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 3rd May 2006, 12:30 PM
rshendershot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 28
I reinstalled a couple of mime related packages. I think what did the trick was reinstalling gnome-vfs2 though I also reinstalled gnome-mime-data and shared-mime-info. Smart Package Manager makes this easy to do (search mime in description, click select reinstall) by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 19th May 2006, 03:41 AM
snoze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: INDIA
Posts: 796
Smile MONO IDE rpm

Is there any IDE for mono... I mean rpm for FC5
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 19th May 2006, 04:05 AM
snoze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: INDIA
Posts: 796
error in mono coding

a.cs(8,0): error CS8025: Parsing error
Compilation failed: 1 error(s), 0 warnings

here is the code
class Hello {
static void Main() {
System.Console.WriteLine("Hello World");
}
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 19th May 2006, 04:07 AM
snoze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: INDIA
Posts: 796
its working class is diff..
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 19th May 2006, 01:58 PM
msumurph Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 18
You are missing a closing bracket "}" for the class:

class Hello {
static void Main() {
System.Console.WriteLine("Hello World");
}
}

This compiled correctly with the command:

mcs helloworld.cs -out:helloworld.exe
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 19th May 2006, 05:45 PM
Marcolux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 55
how install Monodevelop in FC5

Hello, Can somebody help me?
i tried to install Monodevelop in my FC5 but it send me a message error,
How can i fix it?
Thanks

[root@localhost Marco]# yum localinstall monodevelop-0.10-0.novell.noarch.rpm
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Local Package Process
Cannot open file: monodevelop-0.10-0.novell.noarch.rpm. Skipping.
Nothing to do
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 20th May 2006, 12:38 PM
code_astronomer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: England
Posts: 470
make sure you are running yum from the directory that you downloaded the file to.
so if you downloaded to /home/user/downloads, cd to that directory and then try again.
__________________
-- M$ cater for the lowest common denominator --
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 20th May 2006, 08:04 PM
Marcolux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 55
Monodevelop doesnt run

Thanks code_astronomer,
it seemed to run but when it was finishing a message error came up.

[root@localhost Download]# yum localinstall monodevelop-0.10-0.novell.noarch.rpm
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Local Package Process
Cannot open file: monodevelop-0.10-0.novell.noarch.rpm. Skipping.
Nothing to do
[root@localhost Download]# yum localinstall monodevelop-0.11-0.novell.noarch.rpm
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Local Package Process
Examining monodevelop-0.11-0.novell.noarch.rpm: monodevelop - 0.11-0.novell.noarch
Marking monodevelop-0.11-0.novell.noarch.rpm to be installed
Setting up repositories
livna [1/4]
livna 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
core [2/4]
core 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
updates [3/4]
updates 100% |=========================| 951 B 00:00
extras [4/4]
extras 100% |=========================| 1.1 kB 00:00
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package monodevelop.noarch 0:0.11-0.novell set to be updated
--> Running transaction check
.....
--> Processing Dependency: mono(gtkhtml-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 for package: monodevelop
--> Processing Dependency: mono(gconf-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 for package: monodevelop
--> Processing Dependency: mono(gdk-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 for package: monodevelop
--> Processing Dependency: mono(Boo.Lang) = 1.0.0.0 for package: monodevelop
--> Processing Dependency: mono(gnome-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 for package: monodevelop
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(Boo.Lang.Parser) = 1.0.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(Boo.Lang) = 1.0.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(glib-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(Boo.Lang.Compiler) = 1.0.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(gconf-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(gtkhtml-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(Boo.Lang.Interpreter) = 1.0.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(monodoc) = 1.0.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(gtk-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(glade-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(gtksourceview-sharp) = 1.0.0.2 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(pango-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(gnome-vfs-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(gdk-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(gnome-sharp) = 2.4.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop
Error: Missing Dependency: mono(Boo.Lang.CodeDom) = 1.0.0.0 is needed by package monodevelop


Somebody can help me?

Thanks for you reply
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 23rd May 2006, 12:18 PM
Rtsbasic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
I refer you to the following quote (post 13). Following these instructions I now have a fully functional Monodevelop installed and working

Quote:
Originally Posted by msumurph
I have a working Monodevelop using the RPMS provided here:
http://www.all-the-johnsons.co.uk/mono/rpms.html (read this message first http://lists.ximian.com/pipermail/m...ril/031484.html).

First I installed gecko-sharp2 and mono-nunit via yum, then using rpm -Uvh I installed:

gtksourceview-sharp-2.0 (apparently needs --force also)
monodoc
monodevelop

This monodoc package does not appear to provide the mono documentation, but the IDE is working.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 23rd May 2006, 07:19 PM
code_astronomer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: England
Posts: 470
I would be careful...There were some major problems when myself and others have installed it.
__________________
-- M$ cater for the lowest common denominator --
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 23rd May 2006, 07:40 PM
Rtsbasic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13
Such as? I've been extensively working on this system all day and no mono related problems yet. If you use the RPM's on the Mono website I would expect problems, but using 3rd party ones built specifically for FC5 it works well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monodevelop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MonoDevelop ShivaS Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 4 15th June 2008 01:44 PM
MonoDevelop HayZam Using Fedora 2 19th September 2007 06:38 PM
Monodevelop jjesurun Using Fedora 4 4th September 2007 08:40 PM
help monodevelop ronin1982 Programming & Packaging 16 29th November 2006 04:44 PM
Monodevelop rcassick Using Fedora 7 29th July 2006 10:57 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:31 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram