Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th April 2006, 06:24 PM
surfsilver Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Problems dual booting FC5

Complete newbie!!!
pentium 4 system 1GB ram Master and slave IDE drives XP on master FC5 on slave.

Some background FC2/3,ubuntu,Mepis,centos4.2/3,suse10 all installed and ran fine booted no problem on this system. FC4/5 both seem to install fine but trash my master boot area on hda and only display grub error 15, if I fix the mbr using knoppix I can get windows to boot fine but no FC5. can anyone help I,m thinking the problem is with anaconda as set up for FC4/5 as centos installs and runs fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th April 2006, 06:32 PM
Mtnear Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: WV
Age: 38
Posts: 107
dual boot...

You might want to try fedorajim's method at:

http://www.fedorajim.homelinux.com/?q=node/2
__________________
(1) Compaq Presario V3015NR - Windows XP / Fedora Core 6 (VMWare)
(2) Ubuntu 6.06 / Windows XP dual boot:
Chaintech 7NJL1 Apogee | Athlon XP 2600+ | 1GB Kingston RAM | GeForce 6600GT | Soundblaster Live!24bit
Registered Linux User # 424679 | Registered Ubuntu User # 5980
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th April 2006, 06:35 PM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,823
Grub is generic. I think your problem is you are not installing the FC5 grub and whatever grub is in the MBR is overriding you. If it were me I would just reinstall FC5 and install that grub into the MBR remembering to add the Windows entry during setup.

edit: Just checked out mtnr's link, we posted at the same time. Good info there.

Last edited by JN4OldSchool; 18th April 2006 at 06:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th April 2006, 06:58 PM
s_esquibel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago
Age: 37
Posts: 20
I used FedoraJim's method. Worked like a charm. I installed GRUB to /hdb MBR (which is the fedora drive) and disconnected /hda so that the MBR is available (I don't believe one can access the MBR on a slave. I then reconnected the drive after install, and had my bios boot to /hdb. No worries.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th April 2006, 07:42 PM
JN4OldSchool Offline
"Sean The Terrible" -- The forum(er) Vista® rep
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,823
So the moral of the story is put your Linux partition on the master drive and Windows on the slave.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th April 2006, 09:10 PM
surfsilver Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks

Thanks to all for your advice I,ll try out your suggestions and post the results.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
booting, dual, fc5, problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Hard Disk & dual OS - booting problems Derek18 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 16th September 2009 07:09 PM
Dual Booting Problems itmike Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 24th April 2009 02:48 AM
problems dual booting Win XP ... Please help! mrgrieves Using Fedora 7 20th January 2008 04:12 PM
Problems dual-booting lockdown571 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 20th February 2006 04:13 PM
Problems in dual booting cprao Using Fedora 4 8th May 2005 07:28 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:04 (Monday, 24-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Playas - Zhicheng Photos - Anjangaon Travel Photos on Instagram