Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd May 2006, 03:17 PM
shawnrgr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 32
Posts: 107
amaroK won't play live radio streams!

When i try to play a radio stream with amaroK, it says connecting to stream at the bottom left of the playlist window then goes away and nothing happens... Any ideas?
__________________
compaq presario r3000 laptop
cpu: amd athlon(tm) 64 processor 3700+
ram: 1035428 kB
video: nvidia corp nv17 [geforce4 420 go 32m]
display: LCD 19in Widescreen [Rosewill]
hdrive: toshiba mk8025gas [80gig]
os: fedora core 5 - x86
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd May 2006, 03:22 PM
grndplane Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Covina, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 234
I have no idea. My Amarok is playing a stream right now.
__________________
-Mike
[Registered as user #402956 with the Linux Counter]
http://counter.li.org

Dimension 2350, 1g Corsair Memory, WD250G hard drive, and a really good fan.

Ubuntu 9.04
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th May 2006, 12:27 PM
shawnrgr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 32
Posts: 107
Anyone with any ideas on what could be causing this?
__________________
compaq presario r3000 laptop
cpu: amd athlon(tm) 64 processor 3700+
ram: 1035428 kB
video: nvidia corp nv17 [geforce4 420 go 32m]
display: LCD 19in Widescreen [Rosewill]
hdrive: toshiba mk8025gas [80gig]
os: fedora core 5 - x86
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th May 2006, 03:01 PM
grndplane Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Covina, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 234
I take it that Amarok plays mp3's fine for you, but not radio play lists (pls). Try to go to your browser and in the options where it says actions for file types.
Add the type (pls) without the () , then set the action to other and type in Amarok. Check the box pass url directly to application. See what happens. I am using Gstreamer for the Amarok engine. Good luck.
__________________
-Mike
[Registered as user #402956 with the Linux Counter]
http://counter.li.org

Dimension 2350, 1g Corsair Memory, WD250G hard drive, and a really good fan.

Ubuntu 9.04
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th May 2006, 07:49 PM
Vlok Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Moscow
Age: 26
Posts: 12
I have the same problem, can it be solved? (=
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th May 2006, 11:48 PM
shawnrgr Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 32
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by grndplane
I take it that Amarok plays mp3's fine for you, but not radio play lists (pls). Try to go to your browser and in the options where it says actions for file types.
Add the type (pls) without the () , then set the action to other and type in Amarok. Check the box pass url directly to application. See what happens. I am using Gstreamer for the Amarok engine. Good luck.
firefox doesn't give me the option to add actions. which seems strange. edit>prefs>downloads>view & edit actions. Im guessing thats the right spot. Is there another way to add actions?
__________________
compaq presario r3000 laptop
cpu: amd athlon(tm) 64 processor 3700+
ram: 1035428 kB
video: nvidia corp nv17 [geforce4 420 go 32m]
display: LCD 19in Widescreen [Rosewill]
hdrive: toshiba mk8025gas [80gig]
os: fedora core 5 - x86
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th May 2006, 05:57 AM
taltonho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
I have the same problem. In fact, amarok behaves the same way trying to access mp3s via samba from my networked WinXP machine, but plays local mp3s fine. Any solution? The FC4 amarok streamed mp3s across the network fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th May 2006, 07:18 AM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
Hmm... count yet another person in with this problem. I wasn't going to start a post because i hadn't messed around with it enough (because ryhthembox plays them just fine) but I like the look and feel of Amarok so if anybody figures this out let me know. I've tried removing and reinstalling.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th May 2006, 02:39 PM
grndplane Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Covina, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 234
I am still running core 4. I was to lazy to configure core 5 since I have everything working fine now. My browser is Opera, and it can be configured.
__________________
-Mike
[Registered as user #402956 with the Linux Counter]
http://counter.li.org

Dimension 2350, 1g Corsair Memory, WD250G hard drive, and a really good fan.

Ubuntu 9.04
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th May 2006, 03:58 PM
Vlok Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Moscow
Age: 26
Posts: 12
I don't think that problem is connected with browser anyway. It's amarok internal problem. I can add radio stations but i can't play them.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th May 2006, 04:43 PM
CodyJarrett Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
doesn't work for me either
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th May 2006, 04:45 PM
grndplane Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Covina, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 234
Could it be that a port on your firewall or router is closed and preventing Amarok from connecting?
__________________
-Mike
[Registered as user #402956 with the Linux Counter]
http://counter.li.org

Dimension 2350, 1g Corsair Memory, WD250G hard drive, and a really good fan.

Ubuntu 9.04
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th May 2006, 06:51 PM
taltonho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
I can transfer files from my networked WinXP machine to the Linux machine running FC5 just fine. I can then open and run them locally in amarok. I can browse to the winxp machine and the mp3 files are listed in the file list on the left side of the amarok screen. When I load one of these, or any of the radio streams, all I get is "connecting to stream source" on the lower left of the screen for a short while then nothing. Rhythmbox is able to play all of my mp3 files over the network. I suspect a problem in amarok, KDE, or FC5. I'd like to remove the beta amarok and replace it with the older version which ran fine, but I don't seem to be able to find an old amarok rpm to install. I am surprised this problem isn't all over the forums. I tried turning off firewall, eetc, removing the amarok /home/.kde files, etc. No good. Any insight appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th May 2006, 01:10 AM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
Well, still no luck with this although i think im getting some more information from the amarok forums. Seems to be problems with gstreamer engine, other clame the xmms and xine engine work. Here you can download beta2: http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pu...extras/5/i386/
might just switch to beta2 if everything works
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th May 2006, 07:57 PM
taltonho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
I tried disabling both window's firewall on one machine and Linux firewall on the other, no effect.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amarok, live, play, radio, streams

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amarok with radio streams issue stephanie.steve Using Fedora 2 19th April 2007 11:26 AM
Trying to play .asf streams in either gmplayer or totem zxc Using Fedora 4 7th February 2005 10:16 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:25 (Thursday, 18-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Altare Della Patria Roma - Arpoador Travel Photos - Hotel Punta Blanca Isla De Coche - Long Island Travel Photos on Instagram