Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 7th May 2006, 03:14 AM
taltonho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Solved the issue in amarok not playing samba shares. Had to change the gstreamer engine to the xine by installing the xine package and also amarok-extras-nonfree.i386 1.4-0.3.beta3.lvn5 available from ftp://fr2.rpmfind.net/linux/livna/fedora/5/i386/. Can now browse to networked winxp box and play mp3s. Still not up to speed on radio streams as of yet.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 7th May 2006, 03:07 PM
Vlok Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Moscow
Age: 26
Posts: 12
I am using beta3 and having the same problem.
I have no firewall enabled. Tried to reinstall gstreamer - no effect.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11th May 2006, 05:09 AM
jdogzilla Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 70
Anybody have a solution to this ... amarok is still not playing radio streams or podcasts for me
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11th May 2006, 05:15 AM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
Hmm... so switching back to beta2 didn't work? This is really dissapointing that so many people are having this problem... hopefully somebody can chime in here and suggest something else.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11th May 2006, 06:33 PM
PseudoNym Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Secret City
Posts: 33
I've had issues with amarok in FC5 as well. To be able to play music files located in a shared directory on an XP box I have had to mount the share in the /mnt/ directory. I'm still new to linux and am point and click type user .. so to mount the samba share I ended up using smb4k to mount the share (note I had to be running smb4k as root to get the smb share to mount in the /mnt/ directoy). Still, if I reboot the system the samba share is finiky about mounting .. sometimes it will sometimes it wont. Using Xine as the engine also solved the problem of amarok not playing streams off the net.

At this point the problem I am having with amarok is the "Global Shorcuts" have stopped working when using the default settings win+whatever key. Anyone else run into this problem with the global shortcuts and if so have a solution?
__________________
As always ... have a day :|

Nym

Lunar Outpost
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11th May 2006, 07:25 PM
PseudoNym Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Secret City
Posts: 33
Well, I found a solution to the Win key not working for the default global shortcuts ... In case anyone else runs into the same problem here is what I had to do to fix it.

open /etc/X11/Xmodmap and add the following line:

mod4 = Super_L
__________________
As always ... have a day :|

Nym

Lunar Outpost
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12th May 2006, 09:05 AM
sej7278 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,008
add another "it dunt work boss" for me, fc5.

could it be a gstreamer issue?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12th May 2006, 11:21 AM
Vlok Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Moscow
Age: 26
Posts: 12
Quote:
I think that it is gstreamer issue, because
Quote:
Originally Posted by PseudoNym
Using Xine as the engine also solved the problem of amarok not playing streams off the net.
But what can be done with gstreamer to solve the problem i don't know.
I've tryed to use xine myself - no effect, so it is amarok's problem

Last edited by Vlok; 12th May 2006 at 12:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 21st May 2006, 04:55 AM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
Alright so this is still troubling me. A few have suggested using the xine engine but even when i install the xine libraries amarok still doesn't give me the option to use the xine engine. Perhaps I need a little further clarification.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 21st May 2006, 02:01 PM
grndplane Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Covina, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 234
Try xinetd I think its at dries or livna. After I used Yumex to get it I had the Xine engine choice in Amarok. Yes it has been more stable and also has a little better sound.
__________________
-Mike
[Registered as user #402956 with the Linux Counter]
http://counter.li.org

Dimension 2350, 1g Corsair Memory, WD250G hard drive, and a really good fan.

Ubuntu 9.04
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 21st May 2006, 05:18 PM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
that didn't work. The description of that package didn't seem like it was the right one either.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 21st May 2006, 05:22 PM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
Alright well i fixed that by downloading amarok-extras-nonfree from livna and now the xine engine appears. let's see if this works!!!
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 21st May 2006, 05:31 PM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
[solved]

[SOLVED] Definitely worked if you install the xine libraries and the amarok-extras-nonfree rpm from livna. That way you'll be able to use the xine engine in amarok. Sound quality is perfect. Ahh... the sweet sound of success.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 22nd May 2006, 08:55 PM
grndplane Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: West Covina, CA
Age: 59
Posts: 234
I did install those packages, but I thought it was the xinetd that did it. Oh well I guess when in doubt, get it all. Glad it worked.
__________________
-Mike
[Registered as user #402956 with the Linux Counter]
http://counter.li.org

Dimension 2350, 1g Corsair Memory, WD250G hard drive, and a really good fan.

Ubuntu 9.04
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 3rd July 2006, 11:24 PM
spiderx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
I tried all of the above but still doesn't work
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amarok, live, play, radio, streams

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amarok with radio streams issue stephanie.steve Using Fedora 2 19th April 2007 10:26 AM
Trying to play .asf streams in either gmplayer or totem zxc Using Fedora 4 7th February 2005 09:16 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:50 (Friday, 19-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat