Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th May 2006, 09:55 AM
pnix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Software Raid Question(install new disk with mdraid)

I have 2 harddisks(hda,hdc) and built them as Software RAID array(mdraid) when install FC3.

Now I found that hdc is bad and need to replace. I'm not sure, Can I just replace it with a brandnew disk then mdraid will partition and copy everything for me? or I need to prepare partition table first before replace the old one.

another question is how can I know that mdraid will copy from hda to new hdc(that what I want) or it will copy from hdc to hda.

below is my /proc/mdstat

[root@ora10g ~]# cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid1]
md1 : active raid1 hda2[0]
30716160 blocks [2/1] [U_]

md2 : active raid1 hda3[0]
30716160 blocks [2/1] [U_]

md3 : active raid1 hda4[0]
1124480 blocks [2/1] [U_]

md0 : active raid1 hda1[0]
15358016 blocks [2/1] [U_]

unused devices: <none>
[root@ora10g ~]#
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th May 2006, 10:09 AM
bryancole Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 414
Here's what you do (however I've not tried this exact procedure, so you might want to wait for a more authorative advice!)

1) First remove your failed device from each array: "mdadm Manage --remove md1 /dev/hdc2" etc.
2) Then replace your disk (unless it's hotswappable hardware you'll need to power down)
3) Recreate the partitions on the new hdc (raid partitions in this case), using 'parted' or fdisk etc.
4) Add the partitions to the raid arrays: "mdadm Manage --add md1 /dev/hdc2"

The new array-components should start building in the background. You may need to leave things overnight to complete. see the man-page for mdadm for more details.

You need to set up the partitions to match your existing disk (making raid-partitions as appropriate); you have to do this manually. You then
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd May 2006, 11:09 AM
pnix Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks bryancole, sorry for late reply. I'm too busy this week and just test your advice today and it work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
disk, mdraid, questioninstall, raid, software

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jmicron software raid 1 seen as raid during install, as 2 disk after xranix Using Fedora 0 9th March 2009 04:02 PM
software raid -- migrating to a new disk mdschiller Using Fedora 0 13th April 2008 06:26 PM
How to fake out Disk Druid? - FC6 + software raid 1230kc EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 20th November 2006 02:52 PM
FC5 Disk Druid software RAID maker messed up old /dev/md0? cruiserparts Using Fedora 0 5th April 2006 02:35 PM
FC 4, Software-RAID and IDE Disk power management akbhargava Using Fedora 0 2nd August 2005 04:12 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:01 (Friday, 29-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat