Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 25th May 2006, 05:28 PM
savio_mit_glug Offline

Question Text Mode console does not change back to GUI,

Friends,

I'm a newbie to GNU/Linux,as I'm sure you can see by my post count , but that is mainly because I usually get the solution to the problem I'm facing by just reading the responses to others' queries.This is a great fourm, by the way!! I started off with FC2 last February. Just last week I installed FC5 successfully. So far I've been able to sort out all the problems that appeared just by reading replies to others queries in forums and by Googling for the error, but there's one problem I couldn't find the solution for on the net.

The problem is this: When I hit Ctrl+Alt+F1, it goes into the text mode console as it should, and the other five text consoles also appear with no problems, but when I hit Ctrl+Alt+F7, instead of going back to the GUI, the entire screen just blanks out and I'm not able to get into the GUI at all. I've also noticed that the keyboard becomes unresponsive. For example, if I try to turn off Caps Lock while the screen is in this blanked state, the Caps Lock light still stays on. Typing startx at the terminal just says that X is already running. I tried searching the internet and also on this fourm, but I've not been able to find anything.

I have 512 + 256 MB of RAM, on an Intel 845 motherboard. If any other specs or files are required, just tell me, I'll post it.