Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Servers & Networking
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Servers & Networking Discuss any Fedora server problems and Networking issues such as dhcp, IP numbers, wlan, modems, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th June 2006, 09:25 AM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
Determining IP information for eth1... failed; no link present. Check cable?

Ok, I've been trying to work through my intel 2915 wifi issues. (which I configured successfully as eth1). I thought I solved this problem already (see http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/...d.php?t=114425 ), but now I seem to have tried everything.

Determining IP information for eth1... failed; no link present. Check cable?

Very frustrating.

I have no idea what this message means in the context. And I can't do anything until I solve this error message.

My router has an unencypted network.
When I scan the network using iwlist scan, I see my router.
Network Manager sees that my ssid exists. (It is unencrypted).

wpa_supplicant is running. so is my network profile.

Wifi settings on sysconfig-network is: Mode: Auto, SSID: Auto, Channel: 1, Transmit Rate: Auto, dhcp.

dmesg shows
ieee80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
ieee80211: 802.11 data/management/control stack, git-1.1.7
ieee80211: Copyright (C) 2004-2005 Intel Corporation <jketreno@linux.intel.com>
ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, git-1.0.8
ipw2200: Copyright(c) 2003-2005 Intel Corporation

I installed Group : System Environment/Kernel
Source : ipw2200-firmware-3.0-2.src.rpm
Build Time : Sun Jun 25 04:49:51 2006
Install Time : Mon Jun 26 02:45:24 2006

Quote:
# wlan0 and wifi0
# INTERFACES="-iwlan0 -iwifi0"
#INTERFACES="-iwlan0"
INTERFACES="-ieth1"
# ndiswrapper and prism
# DRIVERS="-Dndiswrapper -Dprism"
#DRIVERS="-Dndiswrapper"
DRIVERS="-Dwext"
(this part had to be changed manualy).

I keep going around in circles on wifi. Fix it, break it, flail about, stumble upon some way to reset, and thencontinue normally until the problem reappears. Bugging the crap out of me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th June 2006, 05:40 PM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by idiotprogrammer
dmesg shows
ieee80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
ieee80211: 802.11 data/management/control stack, git-1.1.7
ieee80211: Copyright (C) 2004-2005 Intel Corporation <jketreno@linux.intel.com>
ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, git-1.0.8
ipw2200: Copyright(c) 2003-2005 Intel Corporation

I installed Group : System Environment/Kernel
Source : ipw2200-firmware-3.0-2.src.rpm
Build Time : Sun Jun 25 04:49:51 2006
Install Time : Mon Jun 26 02:45:24 2006


(this part had to be changed manualy).

I keep going around in circles on wifi. Fix it, break it, flail about, stumble upon some way to reset, and thencontinue normally until the problem reappears. Bugging the crap out of me.

Here's part of the problem, notice in your dmesg you have the driver for you Intel pro as 1.0.8, but you have the 3.0 firmware, you need firmware 2.4 !

If you upgrade your kernel to the 2139 release, you will need the 3.0 firmware
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th June 2006, 07:58 PM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
Gosh, your suggestion sounded so logical! I only wish it had worked!

The error message disappears, but nothing connects, even though I removed encyption on my network and iwlist scan still shows the cells present.

I had not upgraded my kernel to 2.6.17-1.2139_FC5
, so I did that and upgraded to 3.0 firmware.

however, dmesg now shows this:

ipw2200: Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200/2915 Network Driver, git-1.1.1
ipw2200: Copyright(c) 2003-2006 Intel Corporation

ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:0b:02.0[A] -> GSI 21 (level, low) -> IRQ 66
ipw2200: Detected Intel PRO/Wireless 2915ABG Network Connection

I don't know if this log yield any useful information.

git-1.1.1 = ipw2200 3.0?

yumex confirms the files have been installed as rpms
/lib/firmware/ipw-2.2-boot.fw
/usr/share/doc/ipw-2.2-bss.fw
/usr/share/doc/ipw2200-firmware-3.0/ipw-2.2-bss_ucode.fw

Group : System Environment/Kernel
Source : ipw2200-firmware-3.0-2.src.rpm
Build Time : Sun Jun 25 04:49:51 2006
Install Time : Fri Jun 30 13:12:19 2006
License : Distributable
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th June 2006, 08:06 PM
scotta3234 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 1,280
I am having problems at this very stage as well. Although my wireless will eventually connect and start working normally it now takes 30 seconds-45 seconds to get the ip information rather than the 4-10 seconds it used to take.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th June 2006, 08:29 PM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
Looking at http://www.ces.clemson.edu/linux/fc2-ipw2200.shtml, I have to wonder whether I need to make more changes to my settings/modules.

What about ieee80211-1.1.14. Do I need to install this? because I can't find it anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th June 2006, 08:39 PM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
some possibilities:

1)the firmware update is not working/compatible with the network gui tools. (solution: configure by hand? pass on parameters to modules/kernel? )
2)creating/overwriting profiles too many times corrupts the config files. (solution: remove profiles/rpms and start over?)
3)Network Manager has lots of problems switching between networks and profiles, esp when dynamic and static (solution: reboot a lot?)
4)the profile wizard has some crazy defaults for 2915 (Managed instead of Auto, 0 instead of Auto), leading me to believe it is misreading the default settings for the device. (Solution: configure by hand without using the wizard).

Other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th June 2006, 08:41 PM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
I think it's time to file a bug here. But I can't quite figure out if the bug is fedora's or intel's.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th June 2006, 08:53 PM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
About Bill Moss's ipw2200 how to page.

he mentions installing ieee80211-1.1.13 modules and the driver.

What is the difference between driver and firmware?

Can you do this using only rpms/yum?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th June 2006, 10:21 PM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by idiotprogrammer
About Bill Moss's ipw2200 how to page.

he mentions installing ieee80211-1.1.13 modules and the driver.

What is the difference between driver and firmware?

Can you do this using only rpms/yum?

yumex confirms the files have been installed as rpms
/lib/firmware/ipw-2.2-boot.fw
/usr/share/doc/ipw-2.2-bss.fw
/usr/share/doc/ipw2200-firmware-3.0/ipw-2.2-bss_ucode.fw
The driver is is for the Intel Pro Module, the ieee80211 is the subsystem for the iees80211 extensions. They are different animals altogether. You dmesg file looks good EXCEPT for the firmware error. If you used YUM/YUMEX to install the firmware, use yum /yumex to remove ALL versions of the firmware. Then download the version 3.0 of the firmware and and unzip and then copy the 3 files into your /lib/firmware directory and then reboot the computer


Make sure there are not any files in the /lib/firmware directory EXCEPT the 3 files for the 3.0 firmware
-rw-r--r-- 1 mmcguire mmcguire 191142 Mar 7 12:49 ipw2200-bss.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 mmcguire mmcguire 185660 Mar 7 12:49 ipw2200-ibss.fw
-rw-r--r-- 1 mmcguire mmcguire 187836 Mar 7 12:49 ipw2200-sniffer.fw

For some reason you still have a version 2.2 of the firmware that it is finding. One bad thing about building your own modules like Bill mentions is that eveytime there is a kernel upgrade you will need to compile new modules for the new kernel

Last edited by Iron_Mike; 30th June 2006 at 10:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st July 2006, 01:44 AM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
ok, in /lib/firmware, there were other versions which I deleted.

I removed 3.0 and reinstalled using yum

same error. then i went back to the previous kernel. same error.

Iron Mike, I thank you for your suggestions. I am going to need to go back and start from scratch. Probably I will have to look at the specific config files .

Having to compile new modules for each new kernel is looking less awful every day. hopefully I'll be able to configure via command line http://ipw2200.sourceforge.net/README.ipw2200

what is the difference between the driver and the firmware?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1st July 2006, 02:20 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by idiotprogrammer
ok, in /lib/firmware, there were other versions which I deleted.

I removed 3.0 and reinstalled using yum

same error. then i went back to the previous kernel. same error.

Iron Mike, I thank you for your suggestions. I am going to need to go back and start from scratch. Probably I will have to look at the specific config files .

Having to compile new modules for each new kernel is looking less awful every day. hopefully I'll be able to configure via command line http://ipw2200.sourceforge.net/README.ipw2200

what is the difference between the driver and the firmware?

I wouldn't go back to the git go yet. About yum/yumex you never know where it is going to put the files or "hooks" to the files. I would guest that maybe it is in one of your hotplug directories. For something as simple as the firmware, just download the .tgz file, unzip it and manually copy it to your /lib/firmware directory. Reboot the computer. NetworkManager is a better alternative to cmd line configuration, but it is not perfect. With my 2915, NM, running both VPN and WPA2 it works pretty good. One thing to remember the firmware is driver specific i.e. certain versions of the firmware work only work with certain versions of the driver.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 1st July 2006, 09:27 PM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
try, try again

After a hiatus to let my frustration die down, I'm willing to try again.

What do you mean by hotplug directory?

rj
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 1st July 2006, 09:29 PM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
In linux, what is a driver?

does this mean you're going to start having to compile your own kernel?

rj
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 1st July 2006, 10:32 PM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by idiotprogrammer
After a hiatus to let my frustration die down, I'm willing to try again.

What do you mean by hotplug directory?

rj
In some versions of Linux, there is a directory called hotplug that allows modules to be loaded. If you su - to root and type locate hotplug you will find it. Fedora uses /lib/firmware but also has a hotplug directory.

A driver allows a piece of hardware to operate/commuicate with the OS. You can compile your own kernel but not really necessary unless you want to.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 1st July 2006, 11:35 PM
idiotprogrammer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 78
Iron Mike,

i downloaded the ipw firmware, but what does it mean to have the driver. Does itsimply mean the firmware is loaded? (or do you need to download or configure something special).

What do I do to load the driver? How do I know when the driver is loaded?

here are my directories with "hotplug." Note that I am running the 39 kernel, not the 35. What should I be checking for?

Quote:
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/net.hotplug
/etc/udev/rules.d/51-hotplug.rules
/lib/modules/2.6.16-1.2133_FC5/kernel/drivers/pci/hotplug
/lib/modules/2.6.16-1.2133_FC5/kernel/drivers/pci/hotplug/acpiphp.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.16-1.2133_FC5/kernel/drivers/pci/hotplug/acpiphp_ibm.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.16-1.2133_FC5/kernel/drivers/pci/hotplug/cpqphp.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.16-1.2133_FC5/kernel/drivers/pci/hotplug/ibmphp.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.16-1.2133_FC5/kernel/drivers/pci/hotplug/pciehp.ko
/lib/udev/udev_run_hotplugd
/selinux/booleans/hotplug_disable_trans
/usr/share/doc/selinux-policy-2.2.43/html/system_hotplug.html
/usr/share/selinux/devel/include/system/hotplug.if
One thing I noticed in system-config-network is that it uses wrong defaults. For example, it uses Managed instead of Auto, 0 instead of Auto, etc.
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-<interface-name>
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

here's the recurring error message I see for eth1 which still never turns on: Determining IP information for eth1... failed; no link present. Check cable?

I'm seeing a lot of netplugd errors. That's a daemon to monitor dynamic IP's; could this be the problem, or is this a symptom?



my eth1 script
Quote:
# Please read /usr/share/doc/initscripts-*/sysconfig.txt
# for the documentation of these parameters.
ONBOOT=yes
USERCTL=yes
IPV6INIT=no
PEERDNS=yes
TYPE=Wireless
DEVICE=eth1
HWADDR=00:12:f0:89:85:40
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
NETMASK=
DHCP_HOSTNAME=
IPADDR=
DOMAIN=
ESSID=
CHANNEL=1
MODE=Auto
RATE=Auto
here's an error message from dmesg:
Quote:
ip_conntrack version 2.4 (8192 buckets, 65536 max) - 224 bytes per conntrack
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth1: link is not ready
audit(1151790258.877:4): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1833 comm="netplugd" scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tclass=process
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
audit(1151790259.185:5): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1834 comm="netplugd" scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tclass=process
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth1: link is not ready
audit(1151790259.193:6): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1835 comm="netplugd" scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.197:7): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1836 comm="netplugd" scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.201:8): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1837 comm="netplugd" scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.205:9): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1838 comm="netplugd" scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.209:10): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1839 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.217:11): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1840 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.221:12): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1841 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.225:13): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1842 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.229:14): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1843 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.233:15): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1844 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.241:16): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1845 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.245:17): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1846 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.253:18): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1847 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process
audit(1151790259.257:19): avc: denied { setpgid } for pid=1848 comm="netplugd " scontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s0 tcontext=system_u:system_r:hotplug_t:s 0 tclass=process

Last edited by idiotprogrammer; 2nd July 2006 at 12:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable, check, determining, eth1, failed, information, link, present

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Determining IP information for eth1... failed; no link present. Check cable? sidda6 Servers & Networking 5 9th September 2007 10:18 AM
Determining IP information for eth1... failed; no link present. Check cable? ghell Servers & Networking 4 16th March 2007 11:41 PM
Wireless - Determining IP information for wlan0...failed; no link present...... rakman Servers & Networking 1 7th January 2006 06:36 PM
2.6.12 works! 2.6.13 Determining [snip] no link present. Check cable? ColinL Servers & Networking 0 6th November 2005 07:26 PM
ifup: failed; no link present. Check cable? xtra Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 29th November 2004 04:56 PM


Current GMT-time: 13:35 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Vung Tau Photos on Instagram - Tanjungbalai Photos on Instagram - Lianghu Travel Photos on Instagram