Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd July 2006, 05:38 PM
Altstatten Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
How To Initiate Upgrade from FC4 to FC5

FC4 installed on ym laptop. BIOS is set to boot from CD, then HD. I've looked for simple directions on how-to upgrade but an hour of looking is enough.

When I reboot the computer it goes straight to the FC4 and loads it. Seems to ignore the FC5 Disk #1 in the CD drive.

How do I initiate the upgrade process?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd July 2006, 06:11 PM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
Boot with the CD #1, configure the language and keyboard, then choose "Upgrade an existing installation". http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/fedora...ng-system.html

Are you sure the FC5 disk is correctly burned? Does it work on other machines?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd July 2006, 07:39 PM
Altstatten Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
The cd just worked fine on my other computer. Just not being recognized at all on the laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd July 2006, 08:01 PM
Craig Pemberton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin
Posts: 195
If you have a boot menu option while your computer is posting, use that.
Otherwise, set it to boot from CD in your BIOS.
(This is not an issue with Fedora but with a basic hardware setting)
__________________
Elegance is not a dispensable luxury but a quality that decides between success and failure. -Dijkstra
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd July 2006, 08:08 PM
Altstatten Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 36
Quote:
while your computer is posting
What does that mean??

And I appreciate the reply but I mentioned in my very first post that my BIOS IS set to boot from CD. ???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd July 2006, 08:14 PM
Craig Pemberton Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austin
Posts: 195
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power-on_self-test

Sorry, it wasn't clear which BIOS you were talking about. Still sounds like a BIOS issue though.
__________________
Elegance is not a dispensable luxury but a quality that decides between success and failure. -Dijkstra
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd July 2006, 09:07 PM
lazlow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,172
Check a different bootable cd in the drive. It may be that the drive has a problem or has a problem with that specific disk.

lazlow
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th July 2006, 03:02 PM
enjoywithme Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
I am just wondering if i can upgrade my FC4 to FC5 directly from network? My old kernel is 2.6.14-1.1653_FC4. I executed "yum update" and found the kernel 2.6.17-1.2139_FC4 was installed. why is it not 2.6.17-1.2139_FC5 ? with FC5, the newest kernel i2.6.17-1.2139_FC5??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th July 2006, 03:51 PM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altstatten
The cd just worked fine on my other computer. Just not being recognized at all on the laptop.

Sometimes the CD Boot is ingaded by pressing a key on the keyboard
as
Press any key to boot from CD.

Also, some BIOS have a 2 part configuation,
1. Boot from CD = yes or on
2. Boot device list.
Fisrt CD, Second floppy, third HDD, etc

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th July 2006, 05:42 AM
Gu3st Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
looks prob with his cdrom drive.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th July 2006, 06:25 AM
Supadan85 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
if you have a floppy drive try making a bootable floopy to boot from the cd Drive, dowload "boot2pup.img.gz"
from "http://www.puppyos.com/boot2pup.htm" and make yourself a floppy according to the instructions on the page
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fc4, fc5, initiate, upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Initiate shut down by physically pushing power button randym Using Fedora 6 20th February 2009 12:37 AM
Grub wont initiate XP djXternal Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 14th October 2007 07:56 AM
How to automatically initiate autorun on inserting a cd Maverick-23feb Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 5 14th July 2005 10:19 AM
aMSN: Unable to initiate File Send sayeeth Using Fedora 0 19th September 2004 12:21 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:36 (Wednesday, 17-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat