Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th July 2006, 05:18 PM
netjrc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
amarok-1.4.1-2

I just updated amarok using yum. Everything works fine until I close de application.

It doesn't matter which method I use to close it I always get the same error.
Attached is the debug information.

Does anybody have the same problem? and maybe a solution?

Thanks

Fedora Core 5 (fully updated)
amarok-extras-nonfree (livna) installed (I also found the problem without this plugin)
Attached Files
File Type: txt amarok-error.txt (13.1 KB, 122 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th July 2006, 07:46 PM
sueltraz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 105
Actually, yes. I do. I even compiled mine from the source rpm to get xine-lib as an option because I don't use livna. Not to mention, even though the package maintainer went through some effort to put gstreamer support back in, I can't use gstreamer which worked fine in 1.4. Which is the reason why I recompiled it with xine-lib support.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th July 2006, 08:09 PM
netjrc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
I compiled everything from source (including xine) and I still get the same error. I guess it is a bug in amarok-1.4.1. I suppose I'll have to wait for the bug fix, the new release or downgrade it to the previous version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th July 2006, 08:41 PM
sueltraz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 105
Actually, it's not really that big of a deal for me as if my computer is on, amarok is probably running.

The most disappointing thing about 1.4 thus far, at least from my perspective, is the drop of gstreamer support. Yes, it's not feature complete yet, but I think it works excellently for what it is.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th July 2006, 11:03 PM
Kirov-sama Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 82
it's known in bugzilla https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=197779 sadly, the update hasn't seemed to fix it yet.
has anyone noticed their flac support broken as well? I've had to compile xine-lib and amarok myself to get it working again. I've read there's a bug in xine-lib 1.1.1, but it worked fine w/ 1.4.0.
__________________
=================System==================
Motherboard: ASUS A8N SLI-Premium
Processor: AMD64 X2 3800+
RAM: 2048 mb
Graphics Card: ATI X850XT
Sound Card/Chipset: integrated
Total Harddrive Capacity: 700 gigs
PC Chassis: Thermaltake Shark
OS: Fedora 8 x86_64, Windows Vista x64
========================================
Registered Linux User #423872
Smolt: Laptop | Tower |
========================================
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th July 2006, 10:12 AM
bmagyarkuti Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary, Vác
Age: 25
Posts: 12
The problem is not with amarok itself, but being incompatible with latest qt update.
Anyway, I am also *very* annoyed by this, the folks at the bugzilla page are saying that they are working on it, so do yum update regulary and your will see your problem fixed
__________________
/barna
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th July 2006, 01:00 PM
sultanoswing Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 110
I'm actually pleased to read your problems, as I didn't like the 'right-click in playlist causes crash' bug which was fixed in 1.4.1, so compiled 1.4.1 from source and thought I'd permanently broken amarok, as I was experiencing this error ever since that time (and got it when I downgraded back to 1.4 from fedora-extras. Whew!

Here's hoping they get this sorted quickly.

EDIT: Yep, a downgrade to qt-3.3.6-0.1.fc5.i386 solved the crash on exit (and the right-click crash is gone in 1.4.1).

Code:
(as su) 
rpm -e --nodeps qt
then rpm the above qt package - sweet!

EDIT 2: Now Valknut doesn't work (needs qt-3.3.6-0.6). Welcome to dependency hell.

EDIT 3: Finally got the swine running. Re-yummed Valknut, which added the newer qt, which broke amarok again, bu on re-downgrading to the older qt, both amarok and Valknut appear to be working fine. Finally!

Last edited by sultanoswing; 11th July 2006 at 03:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th July 2006, 07:51 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,422
It may very well just be me... I don't get an error message anywhere, but I don't have any working engine!! Not Gstreamer, not Xine, nothing... Anyone else encountered this problem with latets Amarok/Qt/KDE updates?
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th July 2006, 08:58 PM
bmagyarkuti Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary, Vác
Age: 25
Posts: 12
Install amarok-extras-nonfree from the livna repository to have a working xine engine.

(or download the rpm from rpm.livna.org/fedora/5/i386/amarok-extras-nonfree-1.4.1-2.lvn5.i386.rpm for i386 and rpm.livna.org/fedora/5/x86_64/amarok-extras-nonfree-1.4.1-2.lvn5.x86_64.rpm for x86)
__________________
/barna
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th July 2006, 09:17 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,422
That did it, thanks.
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13th July 2006, 05:40 AM
Kirov-sama Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 82
if anyone is having the flac playback problem I've had w/ xine-lib 1.1.1, you can update to 1.1.2 using freshrpms' package. if you have the gpg key, yum will update the livna rpm w/ the freshrpm package...that fixed the problem for me.
__________________
=================System==================
Motherboard: ASUS A8N SLI-Premium
Processor: AMD64 X2 3800+
RAM: 2048 mb
Graphics Card: ATI X850XT
Sound Card/Chipset: integrated
Total Harddrive Capacity: 700 gigs
PC Chassis: Thermaltake Shark
OS: Fedora 8 x86_64, Windows Vista x64
========================================
Registered Linux User #423872
Smolt: Laptop | Tower |
========================================
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13th July 2006, 05:43 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,422
I've always used the Freshrpms xine over Livna's, however I like Livna's mplayer better
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13th July 2006, 05:47 AM
Kirov-sama Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thetargos
I've always used the Freshrpms xine over Livna's, however I like Livna's mplayer better
I'm stubborn so I compile my own mplayer
__________________
=================System==================
Motherboard: ASUS A8N SLI-Premium
Processor: AMD64 X2 3800+
RAM: 2048 mb
Graphics Card: ATI X850XT
Sound Card/Chipset: integrated
Total Harddrive Capacity: 700 gigs
PC Chassis: Thermaltake Shark
OS: Fedora 8 x86_64, Windows Vista x64
========================================
Registered Linux User #423872
Smolt: Laptop | Tower |
========================================
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13th July 2006, 05:49 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirov-sama
I'm stubborn so I compile my own mplayer
I would, but I'm too lazy
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13th July 2006, 07:05 AM
Kirov-sama Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 82
Latest qt update seems to have fixed the exit crash! qt-3.3.6-0.4.fc5
__________________
=================System==================
Motherboard: ASUS A8N SLI-Premium
Processor: AMD64 X2 3800+
RAM: 2048 mb
Graphics Card: ATI X850XT
Sound Card/Chipset: integrated
Total Harddrive Capacity: 700 gigs
PC Chassis: Thermaltake Shark
OS: Fedora 8 x86_64, Windows Vista x64
========================================
Registered Linux User #423872
Smolt: Laptop | Tower |
========================================
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amarok2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amarok-xone & amarok-extras-nonfree error -- no mp3 playback D= spfdz Using Fedora 1 23rd January 2007 02:07 AM
where is amarok??? hiberphoptik Using Fedora 8 26th October 2006 04:20 PM
amarok help! WIgglez Using Fedora 4 15th October 2006 05:17 PM
Why Amarok is out of FC5? Elijah Fedora Focus 16 6th June 2006 01:20 AM
Amarok 1.3 vulcanbomber Using Fedora 2 27th August 2005 03:33 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:59 (Thursday, 17-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat