Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 6th August 2006, 12:26 AM
conebox Offline

Thumbs up Audio support with multiple users

I've just spent the past few hours struggling to find a way to enable audio for multiple users at the same time (Fedora Core 5). I'm posting my solution in case anyone else wants to know how I did it. Also, I would love input from some linux guru out there that knows whether I'm doing something terrible to my system by doing it this way. (I'm very new to Linux.)

Motivation:

My wife and I both use the same computer, but we log in separately. I usually log in first, then she logs in by getting a new GUI terminal (using "System Tools --> New Login" in the gnome menus). Her terminal is on VT9 (Ctrl-Alt-F9), mine is on VT7 (Ctrl-Alt-F7). To my surprise, I found out quickly that only the first user to log in (usually me) can play audio!

Solution:

PART 1 - Permissions

First, I needed to change the default permissions on the sound devices. This can be done by editing the following line in "/etc/security/console.perms.d/50-default.perms". I used the following values:

Original <sound> line:
Code:
<console>  0600 <sound>      0600 root
My changes:
Code:
<console>  0660 <sound>      0660 root.sound
This means that anyone in the "sound" group can read and write to the various sound devices. ("/dev/snd", "/dev/mixer", etc.)

Next, I created a "sound" group and added all the users to that group that I wanted to be able to access the sound device. This means that both my wife and myself are now members of the "sound" group. So, we now have full read/write access to the various sound devices.

After rebooting, these two steps got me half-way there. At this point, both users can change the volume using the gnome volume control. However, only 1 user has the ability to actually play audios.

PART 2 - Console Locking