Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 20th August 2006, 10:46 PM
stormproof Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
I ran into the same problem as you!

When you make the setting change to

gpgcheck=0

Reboot your machine!

Then run


rpm -e compiz
yum install --enablerepo=fedora-xgl gltiz-glx libsvg libsvg-cairo
yum install --enablerepo=fedora-xgl xorg-x11-server-Xgl xgl-hardware-list gset-compiz compiz
touch /etc/sysconfig/xgl/status
gnome-xgl-info
gnome-xgl-switch --enable-xgl --auto

reboot again!


You shouldn't have any problems. I have done this twice on 2 different PC'S



Thanks Firewing1!

Last edited by stormproof; 20th August 2006 at 10:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21st August 2006, 12:44 AM
guizhou_donkey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Age: 31
Posts: 53
when i do yum install --enablerepo=fedora-xgl xorg-x11-server-Xgl xgl-hardware-list gset-compiz compiz, it will not install:

Quote:
================================================== ===========================
Package Arch Version Repository Size
================================================== ===========================
Installing:
compiz i386 1.0.0-5 fedora-xgl 292 k
gset-compiz i386 0.3.3-1 fedora-xgl 80 k
xgl-hardware-list noarch 1.0.0-2 fedora-xgl 3.2 k
Updating:
xorg-x11-server-Xgl i386 1.1.99.1-3 fedora-xgl 1.7 M
Installing for dependencies:
fedora-xgl-settings noarch 0.0.1-2 fedora-xgl 6.0 k

Transaction Summary
================================================== ===========================
Install 4 Package(s)
Update 1 Package(s)
Remove 0 Package(s)
Total download size: 2.1 M
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
(1/5): xgl-hardware-list- 100% |=========================| 3.2 kB 00:00
(2/5): gset-compiz-0.3.3- 100% |=========================| 80 kB 00:00
(3/5): fedora-xgl-setting 100% |=========================| 6.0 kB 00:00
http://fedoraxgl.tuxfamily.org/repos...-2.noarch.rpm: [Errno -1] Package does not match checksum
Trying other mirror.
http://users.telenet.be/quenta/5/i38...-2.noarch.rpm: [Errno 9] Requested Range Not Satisfiable
Trying other mirror.
(4/5): compiz-1.0.0-5.i38 100% |=========================| 292 kB 00:01
(5/5): xorg-x11-server-Xg 100% |=========================| 1.7 MB 00:02


Error Downloading Packages:
fedora-xgl-settings - 0.0.1-2.noarch: failure: fedora-xgl-settings-0.0.1-2.noarch.rpm from fedora-xgl: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
Any ideas? I checked gpc-check just to be sure, and it is set to 0 for both ework and fedora-xgl repos.

Thx,
keith
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 21st August 2006, 01:11 AM
stormproof Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Did you reboot?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 21st August 2006, 01:28 AM
guizhou_donkey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Age: 31
Posts: 53
Quote:
Did you reboot?
--edit--

i restarted again, and when i tried this time it worked thx..
any idea why rebooting would make a difference with yum?

Last edited by guizhou_donkey; 21st August 2006 at 02:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 21st August 2006, 01:52 PM
The_Rooster Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by guizhou_donkey
--edit--

i restarted again, and when i tried this time it worked thx..
any idea why rebooting would make a difference with yum?
Cleaning the cache probably.

You can do the same with:

Code:
# yum clean all
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 21st August 2006, 04:01 PM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
Yes, the "yum clean all" would probably do it - I'll add it to the command list. As for the questions on page 1 -
Direct rendering must be enabled begore using Xgl, that's the things. AIGLX is build on an existsing Xorg server, while Xgl replaces Xorg and requires rendering to be already enabled. But, you can try adding that option, I think the config file for Xgl is in /etc/sysconfig/Xgl or something similar.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 21st August 2006, 05:18 PM
guizhou_donkey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Age: 31
Posts: 53
Actually i had tried cleaning the yum caches with clean all but that did not do the trick. Not sure what it was in the end. /shrug
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 21st August 2006, 06:56 PM
jvroig Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 281
Same here.

Did a yum clean all but the error persisted, Rebooted, and it was fine.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 21st August 2006, 08:05 PM
jvroig Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 281
Installed fine, but when it asked me to reboot after gnome-xgl-switch command, the x server failed. I viewed the log and it said unrecognized command: vt7.

The X Server always fails now. I just went to console only and gnome-xgl-switch --disable-xgl

X starts now (I am using Epiphany after all). No xgl of course. I checked the hardware list. I'm pretty sure my card is an Intel 855GM, and the xgl hardware list says it is supported, but slow.

So what's with the vt7 unrecognized command in starting X when xgl is enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 21st August 2006, 08:24 PM
Salamandra Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 324
Following the howto to install aiglx when i do

yum --enablerepo=aiglx install compiz

i get:

Code:
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package compiz.i386 0:0.0.13-0.12.20060721git.fc5.aiglx set to be updated
--> Running transaction check
--> Processing Dependency: libwnck >= 2.15.4 for package: compiz
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: libwnck >= 2.15.4 is needed by package compiz
I have an ATI mobility U1 in my laptop, don't know if it is going to work anyway.
__________________
Linux User #365705
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 21st August 2006, 08:40 PM
landoncz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 35
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Salamandra
Following the howto to install aiglx when i do

yum --enablerepo=aiglx install compiz

i get:

Code:
Resolving Dependencies
--> Populating transaction set with selected packages. Please wait.
---> Package compiz.i386 0:0.0.13-0.12.20060721git.fc5.aiglx set to be updated
--> Running transaction check
--> Processing Dependency: libwnck >= 2.15.4 for package: compiz
--> Finished Dependency Resolution
Error: Missing Dependency: libwnck >= 2.15.4 is needed by package compiz
I have an ATI mobility U1 in my laptop, don't know if it is going to work anyway.
Yep, I got that same error when trying to install aiglx on my laptop (intel graphics), and I searched the web for that package, but couldn't find a version newer than 2.14.2... I am not sure, but I don't know that you need to actually install compiz for aiglx? Once you have the aiglx repo, you should just need to do a yum update, and then turn it on... I am not sure though. Firewing, do you know why you need to install compiz for aiglx? The wiki I read did not say anything about installing compiz, but the wiki could be outdated...
__________________
Fedora Core 6 on Asus Z63A 14" Laptop
2.0 Ghz Pentium M
1 Gig RAM
100 Gig 7200 RPM

Code:
# rm -rf /dev/brain
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 21st August 2006, 09:10 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 40
Posts: 4,175
Got to here
Quote:
gnome-xgl-info
gnome-xgl-switch --enable-xgl --auto

reboot again!
And my screen flickers
Intel D855M chip set and graphics

logged in with init 3 and then startx to get the gui. So My question is, Have i hosed my setup or removingthe installed rpms will restore my system?
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 21st August 2006, 09:21 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 40
Posts: 4,175
After removing the rpms installed my screen flickers a nice share of blue with some garbbled text at the top something about would you like to start the X server i hit enter for the hell of it And it says please instal lthe x server nice

rebooted int oinit 3 again
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 21st August 2006, 09:27 PM
landoncz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Florida, USA
Age: 35
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim
After removing the rpms installed my screen flickers a nice share of blue with some garbbled text at the top something about would you like to start the X server i hit enter for the hell of it And it says please instal lthe x server nice

rebooted int oinit 3 again
Probably didn't need to remove the rpms, just do
Code:
gnome-xgl-switch --disable-xgl
(FYI for next time).

Since you did remove the rpms, just reinstall X I guess but disable the xgl repo, something like
Code:
yum install xserver --disablerepo fedora-xgl
might work....
__________________
Fedora Core 6 on Asus Z63A 14" Laptop
2.0 Ghz Pentium M
1 Gig RAM
100 Gig 7200 RPM

Code:
# rm -rf /dev/brain
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 21st August 2006, 09:38 PM
jim Offline
Retired Community Manager & Avid Drinker Of Suds
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Age: 40
Posts: 4,175
I reinstalled the rpms and ran the --disable switch.
__________________
Registered Linux User: #376813
Western NY
My linux site
Smolt Profile

please remember to say if you problem was solved

Did you get your id10t award today?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aiglx, beryl, compiz, working, xgl

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 7 +Intel965+ [Beryl, Compiz, Compiz-Fusion] Freezes bala04 Hardware & Laptops 0 15th September 2007 08:43 PM
beryl? aiglx? compiz? ANYTHING? ruthik Using Fedora 4 18th October 2006 11:57 PM


Current GMT-time: 23:32 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Hola Prystan Instagram Photos - Chunghwa - Bharatpur Photos