Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 31st August 2006, 12:36 PM
moredhel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Depths of Angband
Age: 22
Posts: 20
accessing music files on windows NTFS hard drive

EDIT: Using FC5!

Is it possible to somehow read my ntfs hard drive? because i didnt think that linux could read ntfs, only fat32.

basically i have a 3 partitions:

windows
linux
backup (made in windows)

backup has all my music on it aswell, and i would like to access from my linux aswell.

i thought of one possible way, that was to reduce the size of the windows partition then make a 4th partition as fat32, then transfer accross all of the stuff, then format the ntfs backup partition, and merge that with the windows partition, leaving me the exact same, but a fat32 partition 'backup' instead of ntfs.

but i was wondering, is there an easier way?

(also is it true that you can't get shockwave for linux!?)
__________________
registered linux user #426057

amd athlon 1.8 Ghz
nvidia geforce fx 5200
1.5GB ddr ram
120GB/80GB/60GB hdds

Last edited by moredhel; 31st August 2006 at 12:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st August 2006, 12:40 PM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
See http://www.fedorafaq.org/#ntfs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st August 2006, 12:42 PM
moredhel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Depths of Angband
Age: 22
Posts: 20
thanks :-)
__________________
registered linux user #426057

amd athlon 1.8 Ghz
nvidia geforce fx 5200
1.5GB ddr ram
120GB/80GB/60GB hdds
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st August 2006, 01:08 PM
moredhel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Depths of Angband
Age: 22
Posts: 20
where can ifind my drive then?
__________________
registered linux user #426057

amd athlon 1.8 Ghz
nvidia geforce fx 5200
1.5GB ddr ram
120GB/80GB/60GB hdds
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st August 2006, 01:36 PM
oryx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
type uname -rm
and go http://www.linux-ntfs.org/content/view/187/
download ur driver and enjoy fedora
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st August 2006, 01:45 PM
moredhel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Depths of Angband
Age: 22
Posts: 20
no, sorry my bad, i mean my ntfs hard drive.
__________________
registered linux user #426057

amd athlon 1.8 Ghz
nvidia geforce fx 5200
1.5GB ddr ram
120GB/80GB/60GB hdds
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st August 2006, 02:14 PM
moredhel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Depths of Angband
Age: 22
Posts: 20
ok i am currently trying to mount my hard drive, when i go 'fdisk -1 it comes out with:

fdisk: invalid option -- 1

Usage: fdisk [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK Change partition table
fdisk -l [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK List partition table(s)
fdisk -s PARTITION Give partition size(s) in blocks
fdisk -v Give fdisk version
Here DISK is something like /dev/hdb or /dev/sda
and PARTITION is something like /dev/hda7
-u: give Start and End in sector (instead of cylinder) units
-b 2048: (for certain MO disks) use 2048-byte sectors

now what?
__________________
registered linux user #426057

amd athlon 1.8 Ghz
nvidia geforce fx 5200
1.5GB ddr ram
120GB/80GB/60GB hdds
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st August 2006, 02:16 PM
moredhel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Depths of Angband
Age: 22
Posts: 20
sorry i did 1 instead of l

i got:

Disk /dev/hdb: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 8273 66452841 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hdb2 10186 14592 35399196 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hdb3 8274 8286 104422+ 83 Linux
/dev/hdb4 8287 10185 15253717+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdb5 8287 10185 15253686 8e Linux LVM

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/dm-0: 14.2 GB, 14227079168 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Disk /dev/dm-0 doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/dm-1: 1342 MB, 1342177280 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 163 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Disk /dev/dm-1 doesn't contain a valid partition table
__________________
registered linux user #426057

amd athlon 1.8 Ghz
nvidia geforce fx 5200
1.5GB ddr ram
120GB/80GB/60GB hdds
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st August 2006, 04:32 PM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
Your NTFS partitions are /dev/hdb1 and /dev/hdb2. Follow the instructions at http://wiki.linux-ntfs.org/doku.php?...an_ntfs_volume to mount the partitions, just replace "/dev/hda1" with the partition you want to mount.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th September 2006, 07:48 PM
j-billy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Ok, that's a good explanation, but, now, I do have the same problem, but with my FAT32 HD, some help?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29th September 2006, 09:25 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-billy
Ok, that's a good explanation, but, now, I do have the same problem, but with my FAT32 HD, some help?
Hello:
You need to a couple of things
First
open a terminal and log in as root using
su -
yourpassword

then type
mkdir /mnt/fat
[to create the mount point] you can change it later if you like
then while the terminal is still open
type
gedit /etc/fstab
and add this line to your fstab file
/dev/hdXx /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0
where Xx is the drive that you want to mount
save exit and reboot and you drive should be mounted under /mnt/fat

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29th September 2006, 11:58 PM
j-billy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
So, am I supposed to have the data file like this?:
Code:
LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
LABEL=/boot             /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
devhd15                 /dev/hd15  /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
LABEL=/home             /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
LABEL=/tmp              /tmp                    ext3    defaults        1 2
LABEL=/usr              /usr                    ext3    defaults        1 2
LABEL=/var              /var                    ext3    defaults        1 2
LABEL=SWAP-hdc10        swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30th September 2006, 12:17 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-billy
So, am I supposed to have the data file like this?:
Code:
LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
LABEL=/boot             /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
devhd15                 /dev/hd15  /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
LABEL=/home             /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
LABEL=/tmp              /tmp                    ext3    defaults        1 2
LABEL=/usr              /usr                    ext3    defaults        1 2
LABEL=/var              /var                    ext3    defaults        1 2
LABEL=SWAP-hdc10        swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
Hello:

Your fstab should look like this:
/dev/hd15 /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0

instead of

devhd15 /dev/hd15 /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0

if you are not sure what drive is your fat32, then open a terminal and log in as root using
su -
yourpassword
and type
fdisk -l

the output should tell you what/which your fat32 drive is
I doubt that hd15 represents your fat32 drive.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30th September 2006, 01:04 AM
j-billy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Got it,
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hdc: 40.0 GB, 40060403712 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 5174 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdc1   *           1        2587    19557688+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdc2            2588        5174    19557720    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdc5            2588        2628      309928+  83  Linux
/dev/hdc6            2629        3441     6146248+  83  Linux
/dev/hdc7            3442        3780     2562808+  83  Linux
/dev/hdc8            3781        3915     1020568+  83  Linux
/dev/hdc9            3916        3983      514048+  83  Linux
/dev/hdc10           3984        4051      514048+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hdc11           4052        5174     8489848+  83  Linux
[root@localhost ~]#
the the line must be:
/dev/hd1 /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0
I'll now boot... good luck to me...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30th September 2006, 06:42 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-billy
Got it,[CODE][root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hdc: 40.0 GB, 40060403712 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 5174 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdc1 * 1 2587 19557688+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdc2 2588 5174 19557720 f W95 Ext'd (LBA).
Quote:
Originally Posted by j-billy
/dev/hd1 /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0
I'll now boot... good luck to me..
Hello:

/dev/hdc1
and
/dev/hdc2
are your Fat32 partitions

therefore, you can mount either but not both, with
/dev/hdc1 /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0
or
/dev/hdc2 /mnt/fat vfat users,defaults,umask=000 0 0

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
accessing, drive, files, hard, music, ntfs, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessing a NTFS drive with linux. itmike Using Fedora 2 14th August 2009 07:16 PM
Accessing 2nd hard drive swizel713 Using Fedora 5 24th March 2007 09:23 AM
Problems accessing NTFS drive on FC$ donkeyend Hardware & Laptops 18 28th July 2005 01:48 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:07 (Sunday, 26-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Cagliari Instagram Photos - Yunfu Photos - San Miguel Xico Travel Photos