Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th September 2006, 04:47 PM
Mixy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 52
Motherboard support? Temperature sensors?

Hi

I am new to fedora, and therefore some of you will find this a noob question. But as i have some problems with high temperature on hardware, i want to monitor the temperatur of my GPU and CPU.

I have browes the forum today, without any luck. Just tried to do "sensors" in terminal, wich said no sensors installed.

I have ASrock s939 sual sata2 motherboard, and Powercolor ATI x1900XT 256mb.

FGLRX driver for graphic card.

Thanks for answering.

PS If anyone know how i can get the media keys, and other keys to work in fedora, i'd be a happy man Have Microsoft keyboard with the fingerprint reader (altho i am counting on it wont work, so dont bother with that. The problem is that when i push the mediakays etc, seems no sign is recieved. Have tried to bound keys, and "xev | grep keycode --line-buffered" from terminal. No response. I am thinking i need a driver for this.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th September 2006, 09:16 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
You can use yum to install lm_sensors
then you can type sensors in the terminal and get some readings

PHP Code:
yum info lm_sensors
Name   
lm_sensors
Arch   
i386
Version
2.9.2
Release
1
Size   
1.6 M
Repo   
installed
Summary
Hardware monitoring tools.

Description:
 
The lm_sensors package includes a collection of modules for general SMBus
access 
and hardware monitoring.  NOTEthis requires special support which
is not in standard 2.2
-vintage kernels
For example:
PHP Code:
sensors
it8712
-isa-0d00
Adapter
ISA adapter
VCore 1
:   +1.42 V  (min =  +1.42 Vmax =  +1.57 V)   ALARM
VCore 2
:   +4.08 V  (min =  +2.40 Vmax =  +2.61 V)   ALARM
+3.3V:     +6.46 V  (min =  +3.14 Vmax =  +3.46 V)   ALARM
+5V:       +4.92 V  (min =  +4.76 Vmax =  +5.24 V)
+
12V:     +11.84 V  (min = +11.39 Vmax = +12.61 V)
-
12V:      +3.93 V  (min = -12.63 Vmax = -11.41 V)   ALARM
-5V:       +4.03 V  (min =  -5.26 Vmax =  -4.77 V)   ALARM
Stdby
:     +6.85 V  (min =  +4.76 Vmax =  +5.24 V)   ALARM
VBat
:      +3.09 V
fan1
:     3792 RPM  (min =    0 RPMdiv 2)
fan2:        0 RPM  (min 2636 RPMdiv 128)
fan3:        0 RPM  (min 3013 RPMdiv 8)
M/B Temp:    +32C  (low  =   +15Chigh =   +40C)   sensor thermistor
CPU Temp
:    +38C  (low  =   +15Chigh =   +45C)   sensor thermistor
Temp3
:      +128C  (low  =   +15Chigh =   +45C)   sensor disabled 
Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th September 2006, 09:19 PM
stanmc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixy

I have ASrock s939 sual sata2 motherboard, and Powercolor ATI x1900XT 256mb.
I am running an ASrock s939 dual sata2 MoBo. I have CPU temp and fan monitoring through gkrellm. To use this you have to install lm-sensors and gkrellm. After you do a yum or yumex install of these and reboot, start gkrellm and right click it. Choose Configure and you will find builtin (click on the arrow) and sensors. There you should find under the different arrows temperature/fans/voltages. While attempting to answer your question, I just found that my newly updated Nvidia card can be monitored for temp. The old one couldn't, or I just missed it. So thanks for asking the question. I don't know how long it would've been before I discovered that.
__________________
Linux Registered User #362558/ Three computers with AMD CPUs. One six core Phenom II 1090T and two eight core FX8350s
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th September 2006, 10:43 PM
Mixy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 52
To me it still didn't seem like i get any sensors up.

I had the lm sensors already isntalled. Still
"[mixy@Mixy ~]$ sensors
No sensors found!"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th September 2006, 10:53 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixy
To me it still didn't seem like i get any sensors up.

I had the lm sensors already isntalled. Still
"[mixy@Mixy ~]$ sensors
No sensors found!"
Hello:
Open a terminal and log in as root and run
sensors-detect
the instructions are fairly easy to follow

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th September 2006, 11:05 PM
stanmc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixy
To me it still didn't seem like i get any sensors up.

I had the lm sensors already isntalled. Still
"[mixy@Mixy ~]$ sensors
No sensors found!"
Seve 's suggestion is correct. I haven't done that in 11 months. Just for info my sensors are on w83627hf@290. I'm not exactly sure what that is, but when you open gkrellm after you get the sensors set up that probably will be what your devices show.
__________________
Linux Registered User #362558/ Three computers with AMD CPUs. One six core Phenom II 1090T and two eight core FX8350s
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st September 2006, 03:55 PM
Mixy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 52
Got a really noob question here. But at the end of the detect thing, i get
"Copy prog/init/lm_sensors.init to /etc/rc.d/init.d/lm_sensors
for initialization at boot time." Problem is that i cant really find "prog/init/lm_sensors.init" Anyone able to help me? I searced for the lm_sensors.init file, but coulden't find anything.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st September 2006, 05:28 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixy
Got a really noob question here. But at the end of the detect thing, i get
"Copy prog/init/lm_sensors.init to /etc/rc.d/init.d/lm_sensors
for initialization at boot time." Problem is that i cant really find "prog/init/lm_sensors.init" Anyone able to help me? I searced for the lm_sensors.init file, but coulden't find anything.
Hello:
Do you not just select Yes and then reboot? You do not have to copy anything afaik.
When you reboot and open a terminal and type sensors they should be there.
If not, then run sensors-detect again.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st September 2006, 07:32 PM
Mixy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 52
Yeah, i found em now Anyways, how do i know wich one is the CPU? I bet it is the hottest one of them. I coulden't find the GPU one there either No-one is high enough... lame
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st September 2006, 07:37 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
You can find more details etc. about how lm_sensors work here : http://www.lm-sensors.org/


Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st September 2006, 09:04 PM
stanmc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixy
Yeah, i found em now Anyways, how do i know wich one is the CPU? I bet it is the hottest one of them. I coulden't find the GPU one there either No-one is high enough... lame
Now that you have your sensors available have you tried gkrellm. It might be able to make your GPU temp available. It does for mine. Your nvidia card should supply this to gkrellm.
__________________
Linux Registered User #362558/ Three computers with AMD CPUs. One six core Phenom II 1090T and two eight core FX8350s
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2nd July 2007, 10:34 AM
Stian1979 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Taipei Taiwan
Age: 35
Posts: 401
What temeperatures should triger alarm on Hardisk and on CPU?
__________________
smolt profile

Without fedoraforum.org I would still be using Windows

Can annyone borow me some space on a ftp server?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2nd July 2007, 06:28 PM
lazlow Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,172
Stain

Look at the specs for your cpu and Hardisk. This will vari from model to model and manufacture to manufacture (ie certain seagate drives normally operate hotter than certain WD drives are when they are overheating).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2nd July 2007, 06:42 PM
Stian1979 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Taipei Taiwan
Age: 35
Posts: 401
My hardisk operate at about 47-48c witch is the same as it did under xp(fujitsu) and the CPU is running at 55c at the moment. (AMD 64)

I gues I just have to snoke on there webpages then.
__________________
smolt profile

Without fedoraforum.org I would still be using Windows

Can annyone borow me some space on a ftp server?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19th August 2007, 04:06 PM
jbkt23 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 548
I am currently using Fc6 with the latest updates. I have had lm-sensors running and installed for a year or so with fan and cpu sensor output available. I also use the gnome-panel-aplet to monitor the values.

Sometime in the last 2 months but before the 2.622. and 2.6.21 kernels I lost the fan output. And now I have errors generated from the applets for the cpu, mb, voltage readings. I have gone to lm-sensors.org and there found that I need version 2.10.3 or better of lm-sensors because of how the sysfs is implemented in the 2.6.22 kernels. But, only version 2.10.1 is available from the repositories. Below is the sensor output as it is now with the 2.6.22 kernel installed:
$ sensors
k8temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
Core0 Temp:
+34C

it8712-i2c-9191-d00
ERROR: Can't get adapter or algorithm?!?
VCore 1: +1.41 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V)
VCore 2: +4.08 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V) ALARM
+3.3V: +3.31 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V)
+5V: +5.05 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +6.85 V)
+12V: +11.97 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +16.32 V)
-12V: +3.93 V (min = -27.36 V, max = +3.93 V) ALARM
-5V: +4.03 V (min = -13.64 V, max = +4.03 V) ALARM
Stdby: +6.85 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +6.85 V) ALARM
VBat: +3.07 V
fan1: 0 RPM (min = 0 RPM, div = 2)
fan2: 0 RPM (min = 0 RPM, div = 128)
fan3: 0 RPM (min = 0 RPM, div = 8)
M/B Temp: +34C (low = -1C, high = +127C) sensor = thermistor
CPU Temp: +28C (low = -1C, high = +127C) sensor = thermistor
Temp3: +128C (low = -1C, high = +127C) sensor = disabled

I am a little confused from this thread as to wether I should add modprobe <sensor id> to the rc.local init file or not. It is what is reccommended by the sensors detect command.
till next
__________________
jbkt23
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
motherboard, sensors, support, temperature

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does MSI motherboard support Fedora Core 6? haimanti Hardware & Laptops 2 9th July 2007 08:27 AM
Temperature sensors... where are they? Guess_Who Hardware & Laptops 17 27th June 2006 10:24 PM
sensors cpu temperature static laiseng Hardware & Laptops 8 3rd April 2006 09:02 PM
how do i install sensors support? nucleus Hardware & Laptops 4 1st September 2005 02:55 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:45 (Thursday, 18-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin Copyright 2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat