Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th April 2004, 12:58 AM
gonzalo76 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Buenos Aires, ARG
Age: 38
Posts: 320
Create a Linux boot disk with mkbootdisk

If you forgot to make a boot disk during the Fedora Core 1 Installation process or mayble you lose it, this how to is just for you.

How to create a boot disk in Linux

The command you'll use to make the boot disk is 'mkbootdisk'. The mkbootdisk can only be executed from a command prompt, that's why you'll have to open a terminal.

1. The first step is to find your running kernel version on the machine. This number has to be exact 'cause it's required by mkbootdisk command. To find the number type: uname -r
Like this:
Code:
[root@pc-gonzalo root]# uname -r 
2.4.22-1.2174.nptl
(Thank you ghenry for this)

2. Log on as root with 'su -' command if you are not already logged on, you'll also need to enter the root password.
Code:
[gonzalo@pc-gonzalo gonzalo]$  su -
Password:
[root@pc-gonzalo root]#
3. Make sure that /dev/fd0 is unmounted. To check this type: mount and check if your floppy drive is mounted or not.
If it is mounted, unmount it with the 'umount' command like this:
Code:
[root@pc-gonzalo root]# umount /dev/fd0
4. Create the boot disk
Label a floppy disk Linux Boot Disk and place it in the drive. Attention, mkbootdisk will erase and replace all information on the disk.
At the root command prompt enter the mkbootdisk command using the kernel number you obtained before. Like this:
Code:
[root@pc-gonzalo root]# /sbin/mkbootdisk 2.4.22-1.2174.nptl
IMPORTANT
You'll have to use the full pathname for the command. Without the full pathname, you'll received a 'Command Not Found' message. With "su", instead of "su -" you did not load roots paths, i.e. "su -" loads roots bash_profile, which tells bash that you can run commands from /sbin/. (Thank you ghenry for this )

After pressing [Enter], the following message is displayed:
Insert a disk in /dev/fd0. Any information on the disk will be lost.
Press<ENTER> to continue or ^C to abort:


At this point, press [Enter] to confirm. After mkbootdisk copies the kernel and all other necessary programs to the disk, the command prompt will return.

mkbootdisk copies the following files to the floppy disk:
boot.msg
initrd.img
ldlinux.sys
syslinux.cfg
vmlinuz


boot.msg script:
Press <return> (or wait 10 seconds) to boot your Red Hat Linux system from
/dev/hda5. You may override the default linux kernel parameters by typing
"linux <params>", followed by <return> if you like.



Of course, I edited this script to:
Press <return> (or wait 10 seconds) to boot your Fedora Core Linux system from
/dev/hda5. You may override the default linux kernel parameters by typing
"linux <params>", followed by <return> if you like. Have a Fedora day !!!


syslinux.cfg script:
default linux
prompt 1
display boot.msg
timeout 100
label linux
kernel vmlinuz
append initrd=initrd.img ro hdc=ide-scsi apm=off acpi=on root=/dev/hda5


NOTE
/dev/hda5 is where I have the Fedora's boot partition


Don’t forget to test your boot disk !!!

More info at TechRepublic

This method does not work for Fedora Core 2 and 3.
You'll receive an error message like this one:

Code:
[root@linux root]# /sbin/mkbootdisk 2.6.5-1.358
Insert a disk in /dev/fd0. Any information on the disk will be lost.
Press <Enter> to continue or ^C to abort:
cp: writing `/tmp/mkbootdisk.Vm3185/initrd.img': No space left on device
cat: write error: No space left on device
cat: write error: No space left on device
20+0 records in
20+0 records out

For Fedora Core 3
Installing GRUB on a floppy disk

Code:
# /sbin/grub-install /dev/fd0
Quote:
# /sbin/grub-install /dev/fd0
Installation finished. No error reported.
This is the contents of the device map /boot/grub/device.map.
Check if this is correct or not. If any of the lines is incorrect,
fix it and re-run the script `grub-install'.

# this device map was generated by anaconda
(fd0) /dev/fd0
(hd0) /dev/hda
Everytime you install a new kernel you'll need to update your floppy disk running "/sbin/grub-install /dev/fd0" again.
__________________
Greetings :)
gonzalo

Last edited by gonzalo76; 16th February 2005 at 01:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th April 2004, 01:22 AM
mhelios Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Queensland, AU
Posts: 738
Great info gonzalo76.

One point to remember is that this boot floppy will only work with the kernel you currently have installed.

So if you still have a boot floppy disk from the original FC1 installation (2115 version), it's time to follow this HOWTO to update your floppy with the latest (2174) files.
__________________
mhelios@fedoraforum.org
Registered Linux User # 348963
GnuPG KeyID: 0xCE9F8922
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th April 2004, 02:44 AM
gonzalo76 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Buenos Aires, ARG
Age: 38
Posts: 320
Oh sure, I forgot that.
Thank you !
greetings
gonzalo
__________________
Greetings :)
gonzalo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd June 2004, 02:50 PM
tux2furious Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 59
fyi, to simplify a bit:

/sbin/mkbootdisk `uname -r`
__________________
http://fedoraguide.org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd June 2004, 03:17 PM
gonzalo76 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Buenos Aires, ARG
Age: 38
Posts: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by tux2furious
fyi, to simplify a bit:

/sbin/mkbootdisk `uname -r`
You forgot to unmount the floppy device first

Anyway, here in Linux, there are multiple ways to make the same thing.
The user is the one who decides which one to choose.
__________________
Greetings :)
gonzalo

Last edited by gonzalo76; 22nd June 2004 at 04:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd June 2004, 05:19 PM
niloshima Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
I just tryed the things u have ask me to do. but i get some mesages like
20+0 records in
20+0 records out
when i put my FDD to the drive an f when i execuite the
[root@localhost proporta]# /sbin/mkbootdisk 2.4.22-1.2115.nptl


Please help me
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd June 2004, 05:38 PM
tux2furious Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 59
Have you read the instructions above?

Anyway,
1) # su -
2) # /sbin/mkbootdisk `uname -r`

Results:
[root@fedora root]# /sbin/mkbootdisk `uname -r`
Insert a disk in /dev/fd0. Any information on the disk will be lost.
Press <Enter> to continue or ^C to abort:
20+0 records in
20+0 records out
[root@fedora root]#
__________________
http://fedoraguide.org
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd June 2004, 01:03 AM
foolish Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aalesund, Norway
Age: 27
Posts: 1,888
Great guide there. Good work.

(this is where we all press the scale and add to gonzalo76s reputation.)
__________________
Sindre Pedersen Bjørdal || http://www.fedorasolved.org || Hardware Profile
- Please adhere to the FedoraForum Guidelines.

Last edited by foolish; 23rd June 2004 at 01:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd June 2004, 04:29 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
i am sorry this does not work with FC2! it only works for FC1!!
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd June 2004, 04:36 PM
tux2furious Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by imdeemvp
i am sorry this does not work with FC2! it only works for FC1!!
still can't get it work huh?

i'm using FC2, and it's working fine...

better not say "does not work with FC2"
should say "does not work on my FC2 machine"
__________________
http://fedoraguide.org
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23rd June 2004, 11:41 PM
niloshima Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
Unhappy

Please some tell me why i am getting

20+0 records in
20+0 records out

I do not unstand.


am i doing this correcr way?

Here is the things i can see in the teminal


[proporta@localhost proporta]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost proporta]# uname -r
2.4.22-1.2115.nptl
[root@localhost proporta]# mount
/dev/hda7 on / type ext3 (rw)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,mode=620)
usbdevfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw)
/dev/hda6 on /boot type ext3 (rw)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
[root@localhost proporta]# /sbin/mkbootdisk 2.4.22-1.2115.nptl
Insert a disk in /dev/fd0. Any information on the disk will be lost.
Press <Enter> to continue or ^C to abort:
20+0 records in
20+0 records out
[root@localhost proporta]# /sbin/mkbootdisk `uname -r`
Insert a disk in /dev/fd0. Any information on the disk will be lost.
Press <Enter> to continue or ^C to abort:
20+0 records in
20+0 records out
[root@localhost proporta]# :
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23rd June 2004, 11:50 PM
tux2furious Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 59
that is not error. try put in that boot disk and restart your computer...
make sure your floppy priority in bios is higher than your hard drive

i'm also not sure what is 20+0 records in and out...
__________________
http://fedoraguide.org
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th June 2004, 12:20 AM
niloshima Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 41
Unhappy

I tryed from ths boot disk i have made but got a error Boot Failed
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24th June 2004, 12:31 AM
ghenry Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,019
Yes, you have only written 20 blocks.

Type:
Code:
info coreutils dd
for more info

I would try a different method.
__________________
http://blog.suretecsystems.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24th June 2004, 01:08 AM
ghenry Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by niloshima
Hi
thanks for helping me. but i do not undsand the way to it.

Please help me
what version have mkbootdisk do you have?

rpm -q mkbootdisk

mkbootdisk-1.5.1-1.1 for me.
__________________
http://blog.suretecsystems.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, create, disk, linux, mkbootdisk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to create a Boot Disk from Windows pgreen2000 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 5 31st October 2007 05:07 PM
Create Boot Disk twofiftysx Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 20th October 2007 05:51 PM
How to create a boot disk alnreddy Using Fedora 0 22nd February 2005 04:02 AM
Is there a way to create a boot disk without booting up the Linux sustem? chitian5057 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 11th February 2005 06:46 PM


Current GMT-time: 15:51 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat