Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th October 2006, 06:40 PM
steppenwolfUSA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
do i have a faulty amd chip?

my install of fedora isnt going well on a old 450 amd mhz computer --i heard i need a patch for the chip for win 95 maybe for fedora as well-for win 98 it seemed to be ok

im using fedora 5

it installled and then when sound card was trying to test it wouldnt, and rebooted and i get a blank screen

so maybe its the video card thats bad?

then i changed video card and added a ethernet card and it still has a blank screen after apearing to start

Last edited by steppenwolfUSA; 25th October 2006 at 06:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th October 2006, 06:50 PM
steppenwolfUSA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
i have 256 megs of ram

maybe its because my power supply is only 250 watts?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th October 2006, 07:35 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Just a couple of suggestions. Dunno if they will help or not, but perhaps worth giving it a whirl
Check that your BIOS is using setup defaults or optimized defaults etc. Then, if you can disable items in your BIOS that you are not going to use, such as serial port etc.
If that does not help then you could try starting the installer with linux vesa
and see if that gets you anywhere?

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th October 2006, 07:38 PM
steppenwolfUSA Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 120
hi

is that because the power supply cant handle them?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, chip, faulty

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help rescuing data from a faulty drive MuadNu Using Fedora 12 18th August 2009 04:46 PM
mdadm + faulty spare dO_Ob Using Fedora 0 29th October 2008 07:02 PM
I Think My Wireless Cable Must Be Faulty xeonman9000 Fedora Focus 8 28th March 2007 03:31 AM
Resume faulty on Thinkpad T21 timefortea Hardware & Laptops 0 18th November 2006 09:26 AM
Recovering Data from Faulty HD [S|G] Hardware & Laptops 2 22nd February 2006 01:09 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:10 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat