Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th November 2006, 08:40 AM
tmick Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Utah
Age: 47
Posts: 301
/home is limited to mb when a 80 GB hard drive is partioned as /home

I have recently installed FC6 and I thought I partitioned /home to use 80 GB. apparently this is not the case as Disk usage analyzer shows /home as having 104MB and my user at 103 MB.
Any ideas in how to fix this?? I do have G-parted installed.the Logical Volume Manager shows Partition 1 as being Unintialized.
running fdisk -l results in :
[root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 14 9729 78043770 8e Linux LVM

Disk /dev/hdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hdb1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/hdb2 14 9729 78043770 8e Linux LVM
__________________
Tim :eek:
Smolt profile

Last edited by tmick; 11th November 2006 at 08:45 AM. Reason: added fdisk info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th November 2006, 09:52 AM
markkuk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,075
Show the output of "df -h", pvdisplay and lvdisplay.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th November 2006, 09:55 AM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
Something messed up on the hdb drive and it looks like a second small /boot partition was made.
(did you do more than one install?)

If I were you, asuming you are a beginner, I would reinstall and tell the install to do the default install, use both disks, and tell it to delete all partitions.
Since you will have a learning curve the next time you install you can customize it much better after you lean the (rescue, mounts, cp, etc.

This type of default install will give you all the space in a / (which will include /, /home, /var which can grow as needed. (With SELinux running seperate partitions are of no benifit on a Desktop)

You will get about >140 GB of space to use.

I installed about 12 times before I figured out LVM.
I have install 20 times before I could get a /home and a /bkup, and a /workspace LV's.
I installed 30 times before I figured out multi-boot chained grub's.

But now I can do it with on hand and four finger tied behind my chair.

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th November 2006, 05:05 PM
tmick Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Utah
Age: 47
Posts: 301
Markkuk,
The results are:

[root@localhost ~]# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00
143G 5.3G 130G 4% /
/dev/hda1 99M 17M 78M 18% /boot
tmpfs 506M 0 506M 0% /dev/shm
/dev/hdb1 99M 74M 21M 79% /home
/dev/sda1 977M 164M 814M 17% /media/disk

[root@localhost ~]# pvdisplay
/dev/hdc: open failed: No medium found
Attempt to close device '/dev/hdc' which is not open.
--- Physical volume ---
PV Name /dev/hdb2
VG Name VolGroup00
PV Size 74.41 GB / not usable 0
Allocatable yes (but full)
PE Size (KByte) 32768
Total PE 2381
Free PE 0
Allocated PE 2381
PV UUID 4I784g-IU3K-qqux-EgVN-cflP-gmIB-WAogGP

--- Physical volume ---
PV Name /dev/hda2
VG Name VolGroup00
PV Size 74.41 GB / not usable 0
Allocatable yes
PE Size (KByte) 32768
Total PE 2381
Free PE 2
Allocated PE 2379
PV UUID dO2kll-Q26x-GgTM-1FJ9-VEqI-ozpp-2OEf7c



[root@localhost ~]# lvdisplay
/dev/hdc: open failed: No medium found
Attempt to close device '/dev/hdc' which is not open.
--- Logical volume ---
LV Name /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
VG Name VolGroup00
LV UUID 6Zyvy8-lcyI-R3LL-ThH1-9zQX-veUw-pErMAo
LV Write Access read/write
LV Status available
# open 1
LV Size 146.81 GB
Current LE 4698
Segments 2
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors 0
Block device 253:0

--- Logical volume ---
LV Name /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01
VG Name VolGroup00
LV UUID cQG24s-83sC-WvIh-1wkp-ZoTs-L7H7-Fqykj9
LV Write Access read/write
LV Status available
# open 1
LV Size 1.94 GB
Current LE 62
Segments 1
Allocation inherit
Read ahead sectors 0
Block device 253:1
__________________
Tim :eek:
Smolt profile

Last edited by tmick; 11th November 2006 at 05:07 PM. Reason: make more readable
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th November 2006, 05:26 PM
tmick Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Utah
Age: 47
Posts: 301
SlowJet,
I've installed before, I was trying to make a seperate /home so I can update to a newer version with less torture ( never seem to get my e-mails and bookmarks in the back up ).
I did have core 5 installed, it crashed, and I decided since I had to re-install it was time to see how FC6 worked with Nvidia (they got it right this time, YEA!!!!).
You state that
Code:
This type of default install will give you all the space in a / (which will include /, /home, /var which can grow as needed. (With SELinux running seperate partitions are of no benifit on a Desktop)
Why would forcing a size cause this?
Part of why I made /home 80GB (okay tried to ) is because I plan on trying the Virtual machine and I know from runnning VMware server on FC5 that adds quite a bit to the home dir.
__________________
Tim :eek:
Smolt profile
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th November 2006, 10:01 PM
tmick Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Utah
Age: 47
Posts: 301
LVM Tools Found

I searched the web and found a couple of how to's the links are:
http://www.unix-tutorials.com/go.php?id=333 (this one shows the LVM tools GUI)
and
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/LVM-HOWTO/index.html (this one explains the concepts and useage of the LVM... also explains what files are needed and how to run commands)
It appears as though I can fix this by running the following commands: (from http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/LVM-HOWTO/removeadisk.html)
# pvcreate /dev/sdf // to prep the disk
# vgextend dev /dev/sdf // to exend the partition
#pvmove /dev/hdb /dev/sdf // to move data from one disk to another
# vgreduce dev /dev/hdb // to remove from system; as per my understanding of the directions, this should make the disk ready for removal or reallocation of disk space.

Then it appears I need to create a new volume by:
Code:
# pvcreate /dev/hdb
which should create a volume group descriptor at the start of disk.

Then running
Code:
# dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/diskname bs=1k count=1
Code:
# blockdev --rereadpt /dev/diskname
the page http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/LVM-HOWTO/initdisks.html warns
Quote:
The following commands will destroy the partition table on the disk being operated on. Be very sure it is the correct disk.
Then I'll need to create a new partition by running
Code:
# pvcreate /dev/hdb1
Then run
Code:
# vgcreate my_volume_group /dev/hda1 /dev/hdb1
to make a new group.
*NOTE*
The web page http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/LVM-HOWTO/createvgs.html states there is a different command for LVM v1
I ran
Code:
lvm version
to check which version I had, and recived
Code:
 
LVM version:     2.02.06 (2006-05-12)
  Library version: 1.02.07 (2006-05-11)
  Driver version:  4.7.0
so the command should work.
The command
Code:
# vgchange -a y my_volume_group
should activate the volume.
Then it looks like I can run
Code:
# lvcreate -L 1500 -ntestlv testvg /dev/sdg
to create a partition volume in a logical volume to be allocated from a specific physical volume in the volume group (/dev/sdg)
That should repair my wrongly sized volume?
By running
Code:
 lvm help
I recived this list of commands
Code:
 Available lvm commands:
  Use 'lvm help <command>' for more information
   
  dumpconfig      Dump active configuration
  formats         List available metadata formats
  help            Display help for commands
  lvchange        Change the attributes of logical volume(s)
  lvconvert       Change logical volume layout
  lvcreate        Create a logical volume
  lvdisplay       Display information about a logical volume
  lvextend        Add space to a logical volume
  lvmchange       With the device mapper, this is obsolete and does nothing.
  lvmdiskscan     List devices that may be used as physical volumes
  lvmsadc         Collect activity data
  lvmsar          Create activity report
  lvreduce        Reduce the size of a logical volume
  lvremove        Remove logical volume(s) from the system
  lvrename        Rename a logical volume
  lvresize        Resize a logical volume
  lvs             Display information about logical volumes
  lvscan          List all logical volumes in all volume groups
  pvchange        Change attributes of physical volume(s)
  pvresize        Resize physical volume(s)
  pvcreate        Initialize physical volume(s) for use by LVM
  pvdata          Display the on-disk metadata for physical volume(s)
  pvdisplay       Display various attributes of physical volume(s)
  pvmove          Move extents from one physical volume to another
  pvremove        Remove LVM label(s) from physical volume(s)
  pvs             Display information about physical volumes
  pvscan          List all physical volumes
  segtypes        List available segment types
  vgcfgbackup     Backup volume group configuration(s)
  vgcfgrestore    Restore volume group configuration
  vgchange        Change volume group attributes
  vgck            Check the consistency of volume group(s)
  vgconvert       Change volume group metadata format
  vgcreate        Create a volume group
  vgdisplay       Display volume group information
  vgexport        Unregister volume group(s) from the system
  vgextend        Add physical volumes to a volume group
  vgimport        Register exported volume group with system
  vgmerge         Merge volume groups
  vgmknodes       Create the special files for volume group devices in /dev
  vgreduce        Remove physical volume(s) from a volume group
  vgremove        Remove volume group(s)
  vgrename        Rename a volume group
  vgs             Display information about volume groups
  vgscan          Search for all volume groups
  vgsplit         Move physical volumes into a new volume group
  version         Display software and driver version information
I don't think I'm going to try the command line to repair this, but I thought it was some useful information.
I think re -installing is going to be my best option to fix this
Please let me know if there is an "easier" way to repair my volume size.
Also some feed back about using 'file-roller' to make a back up of my current home directory (for my current bookmarls and e-mails) is a good way to make a back up.
__________________
Tim :eek:
Smolt profile
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th November 2006, 09:18 AM
SlowJet Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,048
tmick, you are making a mountain out of a molehill.
If you know that much about LVM you're miles ahead of most.
You already did the install correctly, just forgot about the FC5 boot partition and used that for home rather than the big lvm partition.

So just re-install, and in disk druid, remove every thing from hdb, one piece at a time, the lv, the vg, the pv, the partition hdb2, the partition hdb1.
Then create one big partition, hdb1, use LVM button to make a pv, Vg, , edit the VG and rename to unique name, add lv for home using all the extents, format as ext3, mount as /home.

Just like you did the first time except you are undoing the hdb parts first.

As far as saving your little bit of data on the current home you can use kd3 and backup home on a cd before the install.

SJ
__________________
Do the Math
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th November 2006, 09:44 AM
tmick Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Utah
Age: 47
Posts: 301
OK in re reading my last post I was hunting flies with an nuclear warhead
I guess re installing would be best and easier then my last post.
I'll make a copy of yumrepos.d also, god forbid I remember the url to the macromedia repo when I get to the part of the install that allows additional repos
Thanks for the help.
__________________
Tim :eek:
Smolt profile
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drive, hard, limited, or home, partioned

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable access hard drive /home after booting from usb key kurtdriver Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 10th April 2009 04:17 AM
Trying to Set a Second Internal Hard Drive for /home Backup Boricua Using Fedora 3 10th November 2008 05:37 PM
Using a USB external hard drive for /home? thesun Using Fedora 0 14th June 2008 07:53 PM
Mounting The Home Directory to a Separate Hard Drive robertdaleweir Using Fedora 9 26th January 2008 05:50 AM
Second (slave) hard drive mounts strangely, and I can't put home directories on it eryq Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 6th December 2007 03:28 PM


Current GMT-time: 05:44 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat