Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th November 2006, 06:46 PM
clifweb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Malta
Age: 25
Posts: 166
Dual Boot WinXp and Fedora 6

I have 2 ide drives.
1st HDD hass 2 partions that I have Windows XP and the other for data.
On 2nd HDD i have 20GB of data and 30Gb for Fedora.
I installed it with the default settings but the dual boot set the windows xp as the default. When the setup was finished I rebooted my system and with no options to choose it had booted onto windows xp. Can some help?
Maybe adding something to the windows boot.ini in order to give the possibility to boot in Fedora.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th November 2006, 07:21 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,234
Well, I've just explained one option to set it up here: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=137979 You can also do as Mauriat Miranda suggests here: http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mj...6.html#install to use the boot.ini

Before doing anything else, why not try switching the drives in the BIOS and see if grub was installed on the other drive instead of on the Windows drive.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th November 2006, 07:34 AM
clifweb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Malta
Age: 25
Posts: 166
I tried the one that is in the forum but my windows didn't load it gave me an error. I copy and pasted the text as it was.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th November 2006, 02:45 PM
ed_e Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
I just figured out this problem yesterday. You can follow this guide: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=975 . Then make sure your BIOS is starting up both your hard drives on boot. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th November 2006, 01:38 PM
clifweb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Malta
Age: 25
Posts: 166
None of the above worked for me.

This is waht I done and worked fine for me:

1st I had Windows XP installed on the primary HDD
2nd I created 2 partion on the second hard drive one for swap and the other for the installation.
3rd I didn't select a partion for the boot loader.
4th I continued with the setup.
5th after Rebooting The boot loader was showed with the options th choose between Fedora 6 and windows XP. The setup installed the boot loader on the primary hard drive. This is very easy on mine worked fine if some have problems just ask.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th November 2006, 01:54 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,234
Good for you! Actually, you've done the 'default' install which puts grub on the master boot record (mbr) of hda, your primary drive. Glad it worked fine this time.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th November 2006, 01:57 PM
clifweb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Malta
Age: 25
Posts: 166
When i was installing I told the installation to use custom and set the partion manually. and I just didn't select the boot partion an so the setup used were the windows had installed its boot loader.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th November 2006, 03:28 PM
Supersaiyan.IV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
I just installed FC6 the day b4 yesterday, and installing XP b4 FC does the trick. Just use 'default install in free space'. Then set XP as default boot OS in Anaconda. Selection boot will flash for 4 seconds and upon no action will boot into XP.

peace
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st December 2006, 04:59 AM
xX_HEAVY_Xx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
I have Window's Vista and fedora 6 both running smooth as a dual boot, but is there any way to run window's inside of fedora?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd December 2006, 01:26 AM
Supersaiyan.IV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Windows is not open source, so nope.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, dual, fedora, winxp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to dual-boot Fedora Core 8 and WinXP (winxp installed 1st) LinuxNoobie Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 10 7th November 2008 06:31 AM
WinXP + Fedora dual boot macondo Using Fedora 1 26th August 2007 08:08 PM
Dual boot fedora core 4 & winxp??? fisho Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 17th December 2005 03:37 AM
Fedora 3 + WinXP dual boot partitioning phantomSPF Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 27th November 2004 02:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:48 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Mirante do Morro da Cruz Instagram Photos - San Miguel Park / Esmeralda Mar - Apartamentos en Ibiza Photos on Instagram - Jardins Del Cap Roig Photos - Bubano Travel Photos