Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th November 2006, 11:39 PM
Boris Cat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portsmouth. England
Posts: 165
Unhappy Disc test fail

Hi all from a linux newbie

This is my first posting and lets get straight to the point

Having downloaded the first iso image ftp://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub...i386-disc1.iso

Checked the checksum... yupp all ok

I duely burned it to disk, reset the BIOS boot order to CD drive then HDD instead of the more usual HDD then Floppy and hit the reset button

and got to the test media bit

Media test fail : do not continue with installation (not that I was until I got all 4 discs)

soooooo burn it to a new disc....... same again, download disc1 again, burn that to CD, media test fail, try the other burner with a new disk fail again (I'm getting frustrated here )

Ok Unpack the ISO image into a folder on the HDD and run windiff
Comparing the folder to a cd, I get 600 odd identical files with NO errors

What is going on here?

Boris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th November 2006, 11:47 PM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,999
How about burning at a slower speed? I generally burn at 16X even though I've got a 52X burner. You are installing from the CD-RW that you burned it with, right? There can be read errors between two CD-R/CD-RW drives.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th November 2006, 11:50 PM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
try the media check again, but when you get to the installer screen, first type linux ide=nodma, then continue on to the media check. see if it passes with that option. It was a common "bug" on FC4 and FC5, but I've only seen a couple instances of it with FC6. If it now passes the check, continue with the install. Or if you are only checking the one disk (for now), next time you start up, run the same option and check all the discs and continue with installation.

Just FYI, If you are using high speed CDrs, burn at a slower speed (maybe 12x)

Someone posted earlier that you could turn off dma for the mediacheck and if the disks pass, you can turn on dma for the HD with some hdparm option (sorry I don't remember so you'll have to search for it).
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th November 2006, 11:51 PM
Boris Cat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portsmouth. England
Posts: 165
Already tried that with no luck slowest my disk burner will go is 8* which is a a lot slower that its 52* max speed

Boris

<<<wondering if he should go into the coaster making business
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th November 2006, 12:05 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
Just to clarify, when you say you tried that, are you referring to both slow burn and #linux ide=nodma or just the slow burn speed?
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th November 2006, 12:08 AM
Boris Cat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portsmouth. England
Posts: 165
Whooopie

Using the Linux ide=nodma thingy works... disk passes the test

(as do the other 15 discs I burned either today )

Must be a bug in the installer

Anyways... guess its time to re-partion my windoze HDD into a 5 gig windoze bit and a 15 gig linux bit, but thats for tommorrow.

And see if my elderly PC with its AMD athlon 1ghz CPU, SIS730 main board with onboard vid/sound/lan , 256Meg of Ram and a 20 gig HDD can cope with a decent operating system as opposed to the win98 its running now.


Boris

hmmmm re-partioning without deleting stuff...........
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th November 2006, 12:15 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
Since there is another thread with a reformat and install over windows I feel obligated to ask. Are you aware that you should format the "end" of the disc for Linux? Ie: defrag Windows and then partition the remaining space for Linux. If you put Linux up front you'll lose windows (unless you are looking to reinstall anyway)
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th November 2006, 12:21 AM
bob Offline
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,999
Yes, please back up your data any time you're doing partitioning and or installations. And u-noneinc-s is absolutely correct - Windows wants (and needs) to be the first OS on the drive. After defragging, snip off the back end for FC, but it's okay to allow grub to install on the master boot record. That way you'll be able to dual-boot.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th November 2006, 12:36 AM
Boris Cat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portsmouth. England
Posts: 165
Well thats just answered a few questions I've just been looking for in the forum.

Yeah I figured out I need to defrag the drive before starting the linux install, was wondering if the installer re-partioned the HDD without interfering with the windows files and data.

As for data backup, I learned my lesson when a HDD failed unexpectedly, took me ages to get the data off the disk and into an old PC before the ultimate windoze command was issued:-
Format C:

still gotta download the other discs yet and burn them before any fiddling with the windows installation begins

Boris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
disc, fail, test

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FC9 error after test disc draca Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 13th November 2008 10:36 PM
ISO Test Fail (HELP) Samurai jer Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 22nd February 2006 02:47 PM
cd test fail caniggia Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 9 28th March 2005 04:07 PM
FC3 disc 2 always fail media check jnortham EOL (End Of Life) Versions 6 4th March 2005 07:25 PM


Current GMT-time: 06:57 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat