<---- template headericclude ----->
Rather outdated
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Grimryu Guest

Rather outdated

Hi... I'm trying to get a linux server going for my own personal usage... and its a pentinum 2 with a 60 gig hdd, and 128 mb of ram... Now I have Fedora Core 6 "zod" from linuxonline.biz... and I've tried to install it a few times now, and it seems to always freeze and lock up during installing... I did however get to about 120 packages done... then something weird happened and the screen turned redish with the <tab>/<alt-tab> at the top with a bunch of red under that and white text saying several things were done, and just sat there. Not exactly sure what to do?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks like your pretty low on ram, you might want to try a text install. But I'm no expert, just an observation. You can always install a light WM afterwards.

Grimryu Guest
    Well I've been trying to install in text, cause thats all I can try to install under.

A.Serbinski Guest
    Choose the bare minimum packages and add more later.

Grimryu Guest
    Not exactly sure how to do such, I am rather new to this all.

Grimryu Guest
    I got about... 400packages in 29% done, then I get this red screen again and its got like disabling swap... on the top line in red surrounded by blue then its got /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol01 in red with blue around it, the <tab> thing and then shows unmounting filesystems... and a bunch of things like /dev/pts done.... /sys done... and kinda sits there... *sighs* and at the bottom it says... You may safely reboot your system.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Grimryu

You're right on the ragged edge of the minimum requirements for text mode installation. I suspect it's gonna be pretty dicey until you get a little bit more RAM.

Dan

Grimryu Guest