Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 12th December 2006, 08:40 AM
nosbod Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
fc6 and unable to browse

since upgrading to fc6 I can only browse selected sites.
I can connect ok,

wget www.bbc.co.uk

Connecting to www.bbc.co.uk|212.58.224.35|:80
HTTP request sent,awaiting response...

This doesn't seem to be a dns issue, could it be ipv6?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th December 2006, 12:16 PM
FuerzaDelDios Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 38
If you want to disable ipv6 support, do the following:
Disabling IPv6 in Linux:
edit /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
and disable ipv6 support

for firefox:
in address bar, type about:config
search for "ipv"
the set the value to "true"

regs,
FDD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th December 2006, 12:42 PM
nosbod Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
yes, done that, thanks. Doesn't seem to make any difference. Obviously not an ipv6 issue. I really don't know what this could be. It happened specifically after upgrading from kernel 2.6.15. When I roled back to 2.6.15 it was fine.

Do you know if anything specifically changed that might cause this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th December 2006, 03:25 AM
FuerzaDelDios Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 38
not sure...
u can check firewall settings ...or browser's setting...

u can install a new web browser and try....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th December 2006, 03:43 AM
u-noneinc-s Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wine Country, California
Posts: 2,850
You can also try this as root. sysctl -w net.ipv4.tcp_window_scaling=0. This is only a fix for certain sites that take a long time to load. If you are having problems with all (or most) sites this may not help (but won't hurt), and when you reboot it's gone so you need to do it again or put it in a startup script.

I don't remember who to thank for this
__________________
Mark N.

Perpetual Newbie
--
I wanted to proclaim myself "The Typo King" but there's way too much competion. :p

411874 Get Counted
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
browse, fc6, unable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to browse the net shunk Servers & Networking 8 27th October 2008 07:05 PM
Unable to Browse Websites sgalland Servers & Networking 3 11th February 2007 05:10 AM
unable to browse internet klem Servers & Networking 8 12th July 2006 11:33 AM
Unable to browse net in FC5 binilbenjamin Using Fedora 7 11th April 2006 10:56 AM
Unable to Browse Internet jarb Servers & Networking 4 7th September 2005 12:20 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:05 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Si Racha - Varazdin Instagram Photos - Ayacucho Travel Photos on Instagram