Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th December 2006, 02:23 AM
cdawley4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 55
SATA Hard Drive Help

Hi,

Upon installing FC6 and following the link http://jimlawrnc.mine.nu/mywiki/DualBootLinux, I was unable to boot into my Windows Hard Drive. I have an ECS KN1 Extreme MB. My hard drives are connected via SATA channel 1 and 2. Both show as master. When I boot into Linux, I try to boot into XP and get an error about not being able to find Windows. Will I have to set my grub.conf file up differently due to me having 2 SATA devices and both as a master? I noticed that SATA doesn't support slave drives, at least on my ECS MB and ASUS MB.

Thanks,

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15th December 2006, 04:13 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Can you boot into FC and open a terminal log into root using
su -
yourpassword
and post the output of the following 3 lines

cat /etc/grub.conf

cat /boot/grub/device.map

fdisk -l

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th December 2006, 04:32 AM
cdawley4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 55
Here it is. The 80G drive is my windows HD and the 160G is my Linux.
Quote:
cat /etc/grub.conf
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
#
#Windows Boot
#
title Windows XP
map (hd0)(hd1)
map (hd1)(hd0)
rootnoverify (hd1,0)
makeactive
chainloader+1
boot
#
#Linux Boot
#
title Fedora Core (2.6.18-1.2798.fc6)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 ro root=/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.18-1.2798.fc6.img
Quote:
cat /boot/grub/device.map
# this device map was generated by anaconda
(hd0) /dev/sda
Quote:
fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 9728 78140128+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 14 19457 156183930 8e Linux LVM
I was reading on one other site where someone said to install linux with both drives hooked up. The problem is that I am afraid that I will mess up my windows partition and I don't have my pictures or other documents backed up. Wouldn't want to loose them.

Thanks,

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th December 2006, 06:32 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
If you disconnect your FC drive from your motherboard including the power and reboot.
Can you boot into windows without any problem?

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th December 2006, 01:53 PM
cdawley4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 55
yes, everything works fine with the FC Drive disconnected. That is the way I have it right now, so my wife can use the computer and boot into Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th December 2006, 06:13 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Okay, thanks
Then you likely just need to re-install grub on your FC Dirve's mbr.
Assuming that you still do want not touch your mbr on the windows drive?
You should attach both hard drives as you would normally with your FC drive set to the First Boot drive in your BIOS.
Because after you have grub installed correctly this is the drive you want to boot from. You also want FC to see both drives, which at this point it does not:
Quote:
cat /boot/grub/device.map
# this device map was generated by anaconda
(hd0) /dev/sda
Once you have the drives attached, boot from your FC install disc and select F5 and type
linux rescue
follow along with the on-screen instructions (don't need network) and when you get to the last prompt # type

chroot /mnt/sysimage

Then type

fdisk -l
This is to confirm where the OS's are installed and what their drives are labeled as.
From your previous post:[see below]
Windows is resident on /dev/sda
and
FC is resident on /dev/sdb

Quote:
Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 9728 78140128+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 14 19457 156183930 8e Linux LVM
If this is still the way it is when you get this far then to re-install grub on the mbr of the FC drive do the following:
type
grub-install --recheck /dev/sdb
this will re-probe the device map and install grub on the mbr of
/dev/sdb
when it's done type exit, enter, exit and reboot setting your BIOS boot order to boot from /dev/sdb [FC drive]
When FC comes up open up a terminal and log in as root using
su -
yourpassword
then type
gedit /etc/grub.conf
and
add your maping entries under the WinXP
save, exit and reboot and hopefully, you will have an active dual boot PC

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th December 2006, 06:58 AM
cdawley4 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 55
Got it working. It appears that the commands I typed into the grub.conf file were not the correct syntax. I went to the link that someone else provided me and copy/pasted the commands into my grub.conf file and it started working after I re-setup my drive map.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th March 2007, 02:35 AM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 61
Posts: 1,390
I've got a queston that is somewhat related to this topic.

I have my new system with an SATA drive, sda, running FC6 x86_64. I have a second system currently running FC6 32 bit. The drive in it is PATA. I purchased a Serial ATA to IDE Converter and intend to take the drive from the 32 bit system and install it as a second drive in the 64 bit system. That should make the drive to be recognized as sdb if my thinking is correct.

Is it possible to make some configuration changes in the 32 bit version on the second drive, add it to the grub configuration on sda and be able to change my dual-boot XP/FC6 x86_64 into a triple boot, adding the 32 bit version without a total reinstall on sdb, or should I just go ahead and reinstall?

The main reasons are that I want to take the other parts of the 32 bit system to upgrade a third system and I don't really need both FC6 systems right now. I also want the /home partition on what will become sdb to be a backup of that on sda.

I searched, but didn't find anything that was close enough to what I want to do to be able to figure out an answer.

Thanks,

Stephen
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th March 2007, 02:53 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenH
I have my new system with an SATA drive, sda, running FC6 x86_64. I have a second system currently running FC6 32 bit. The drive in it is PATA. I purchased a Serial ATA to IDE Converter and intend to take the drive from the 32 bit system and install it as a second drive in the 64 bit system. That should make the drive to be recognized as sdb if my thinking is correct.
Hello Stephen:
Most likely that is the case. The only way to be sure is to fdisk -l and confirm your suspicions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenH
Is it possible to make some configuration changes in the 32 bit version on the second drive, add it to the grub configuration on sda and be able to change my dual-boot XP/FC6 x86_64 into a triple boot, adding the 32 bit version without a total reinstall on sdb, or should I just go ahead and reinstall?
You can easily make a tri-boot, however, you will have to manually copy over the kernel boot information from the fc6 32bit install and adjust as such for each new kernel. For example, if you copy over the /etc/grub.conf information from the 32bit install and add it to your /etc/grub.conf file on your 64bit installation, you will most likely have to adjust the root (hd0,0) entry to likely root (hd1,0) etc.
i.e.
PHP Code:
title Fedora 7 (2.6.20-1.2967.fc7)
    
root (hd1,0)
    
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.20-1.2967.fc7 ro root=LABEL=/12 nodmraid rhgb quiet
    initrd 
/initrd-2.6.20-1.2967.fc7.img 
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenH
The main reasons are that I want to take the other parts of the 32 bit system to upgrade a third system and I don't really need both FC6 systems right now. I also want the /home partition on what will become sdb to be a backup of that on sda.
When you install the 32bit version use a custom configuration, meaning create your own partitions and do not use LVM. That way you an easily create a backup partition to accomplish what you want to do.


Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th March 2007, 04:13 AM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 61
Posts: 1,390
Seve,

I just tried it out with the following results:

As I suspected and you confirmed, it was indeed recognized as sdb.

What I wasn't expecting was that on boot, I got a whole bunch of error messages. What appeared to be happening, but I can't confirm is that somehow, FC6 x86_64 was trying to read files from the partitions on the second drive which was conflicting with the files on the first. The error messages scrolled by too fast to catch during the boot process.

It did start up, but then claimed that it couldn't find the icon for Google Earth (of all things). I started gpartd and confirmed that the partitions were all there. However, all of the partitions on the second drive, to include the /, /boot, /home, and swap were also all mounted. This could, I guess, conceivably have caused the error messages above.

I then shut down and disconnected the second drive. I didn't want to take a chance of corrupting anything. (I'm being very paranoid here probably. Better to be safe than sorry though.) When I restarted the computer, x86_64 came up normally, seemingly none worse for the wear.

I think I might just wipe the second drive and start from scratch. It might be easier that way. Both drives are 250 Gb, but different brands. The primary is Samsung and the secondary is Maxtor. Having the first drive mirrored to the second would be nice, but I am not sure if that is even possible.

Stephen
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10th March 2007, 04:20 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello Stephen:
When you install fc6 64bit did you use a custom paritioned layout or did you use LVm?
Same question for your fc6 32 bit?

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10th March 2007, 04:29 AM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 61
Posts: 1,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seve
Hello Stephen:
When you install fc6 64bit did you use a custom paritioned layout or did you use LVm?
Same question for your fc6 32 bit?

Seve
Hello Seve,

I used a custom layout for both. I don't have the second drive hooked up at the moment, but here is the data from sda:

[root@emerald ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 13044 104775898+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 29248 30401 9269505 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda3 13045 29247 130150597+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 13045 13305 2096451 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6 13306 13436 1052226 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 13437 18658 41945683+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda8 18659 29247 85056111 83 Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order

The layout for sdb (32 bit) is similar except it lacks the NTFS and FAT32 parts. It is also on primary partitions instead of extended. It has the same three partitions, /, /boot, and /home plus swap that sda (64 bit) has. Could the error messages I saw have to do with it having two /home partitions? That is what I am suspecting.

I'll shut down and hook it back up so I can copy the info from it as well.

Stephen
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10th March 2007, 04:37 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Most likely you just need to hook the drive up and then reset your BIOS to default or optimized default settings, save, exit and reboot.


Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10th March 2007, 05:00 AM
StephenH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Age: 61
Posts: 1,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seve
Hello:
Most likely you just need to hook the drive up and then reset your BIOS to default or optimized default settings, save, exit and reboot.


Seve
I'm not so sure about that. The drive is being recognized by both the BIOS and FC6. Here is the output of fdisk -l with both of them connected:

[root@topaz ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 250.0 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 13044 104775898+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 29248 30401 9269505 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda3 13045 29247 130150597+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 13045 13305 2096451 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6 13306 13436 1052226 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 13437 18658 41945683+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda8 18659 29247 85056111 83 Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order

Disk /dev/sdb: 251.0 GB, 251000193024 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30515 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2 14 15311 122881185 83 Linux
/dev/sdb3 15312 30262 120093907+ 83 Linux
/dev/sdb4 30263 30515 2032222+ 5 Extended
/dev/sdb5 30263 30515 2032191 82 Linux swap / Solaris
[root@topaz ~]#

The 32 bit installation seems to be conflicting with the 64 bit installation. Besides the icon not found quirk, I tried connecting up a flash data stick. It wasn't recognized. One of the messages that flashed by on boot had to do with USB. Also, I am almost 100% sure that it was loading the /home directory from sdb and not sda. I had saved the captured text above to both my home directory and the desktop. When I disconnected the drive and rebooted, it was on the desktop, but not in the /home directory.

I think that the sticking point of this little experiment so far seems to be in having a /home directory on both drives. I guess that the usual way is to have one /home directory which is then accessed by multiple Linux versions, not to take an existing installation and pop it in a case with another existing Linux setup.

Stephen
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10th March 2007, 05:08 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
In your fc64bit isntallation open a terminal and log in as root using
su -
yourpassword
then type
mkdir /mnt/other
then while still in the same open terminal type
gedit /etc/fstab
and add the following line
/dev/sdb3 /mt/other ext3 defaults 0 0
save exit and reboot
assuming that /dev/sdb3 is your 64bit /home partition, if not change /sev/sdb3 to whatever it is

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drive, hard, sata

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sata hard drive armandocl Hardware & Laptops 1 1st January 2008 08:33 AM
SATA hard drive not found martypants Hardware & Laptops 13 17th November 2007 11:46 AM
SATA 2 Hard Drive Problems DigitalMan Hardware & Laptops 0 23rd April 2007 02:53 PM
sata hard drive question. thnguyen Hardware & Laptops 2 7th July 2005 04:47 PM
Install on SATA Hard Drive MikeEller Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 31st March 2005 05:22 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:34 (Thursday, 27-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Idea Hotel Milano Bicocca