Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th February 2007, 03:22 PM
ramya Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Mozilla s not loading applets

Hi
This is Ramya.

I ve been trying to run applets on my Mozilla(1.7.12 release 5) web browser which came with fc5.It gives me a peice of a jig-jaw puzzle indicating i need a plug in.

I ve downloaded and installed jre1.4.2_12 and j2sdk1.5.0_11 according to instructions in the sun website.It does not help.

Does any1 have a clue wat s wrong??
It ll be of great help to figure this out-stuck with a proj!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th February 2007, 03:36 PM
tornadof3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 164
You need to symbolically link the Java plugin module to your mozilla plugin directory (/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins). Eg if you installed Java in /opt/java, you should see a file named "libjavaplugin_oji.so" in the /opt/java/plugin/i386/ns7 directory. The following command will link the plugin for you:
Code:
ln -s /opt/java/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
and then restart Mozilla.

(you'll need to do this from a terminal window as root and obviously change /opt/java to wherever you installed Java)
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+
RAM: 4GB DDR2
HDD: 1x320GB
Fedora 9 x86_64
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th February 2007, 04:15 PM
gotencool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Age: 31
Posts: 17
You only need download one of this: jre (virtual machine) or j2sdk(virtual machine+development tools).
Install one of this and then you must make a symbolic link. You need know where was installed Java
Then you must make this (as root):
ln -s java_path/.../plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th February 2007, 05:19 AM
ramya Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks for the help...
I did try creating a symbolic link..but it still does not work..
wat s even more confusing is mozilla folder is available in 3 places..all of which contain the plugin folder...in /usr/include( has 2 folders-1 mozilla,1 mozilla1.7.12)...in /usr/lib..and i ve created the link at all 3 places :-)..
Pretty much a novice at this..
Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th February 2007, 07:06 AM
ramya Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Hi...
Just wanted to know if we cud use Java Native Interface with Applets.
If possible does it require a main function??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
applets, loading, mozilla

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firefox not loading applets joesp Using Fedora 4 2nd October 2007 10:18 AM
Grub Not Loading, Windows XP Loading Directly After Installing Fedora Core 4 mitsotos Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 21st September 2005 03:41 AM
Java applets crashing firefox/mozilla on FC3 03giant Using Fedora 7 11th January 2005 03:15 AM
Java applets plugin for Mozilla kumarannair Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 11 9th December 2004 01:00 PM
Problems loading panel applets howard Using Fedora 0 13th October 2004 02:40 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:31 (Wednesday, 17-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat