Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th March 2007, 01:06 AM
dhaulk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
fedora core 6 wont install at all

I cant get fedora core 6 to install my machine just keeps restarting right at the start of install.
My pc specs are.

AMD Athlon xp 2200
Syntax K7S746FX Mobo
geforce FX 5900XT
D-Link DWL-G520 wireless network card
2GB pc3200 ddr
120 gb seagate ide hd
20 gb western digital hd

I used partition magic and it wouldnt load. So I took out the 120 and tried with just the 20 and it wouldn't load. Finally I downloaded the fedora core 6 live cd and it wouldn't boot either. It would start to boot then the pc would restart.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th March 2007, 02:56 AM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 9,041
Try gparted live - PM isn't robust,
http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php

Can you boot a knoppix CD ?

Not obvious why you'd get the reboots. That's odd. All I can suggest is that you try "linux i686" from the FC6 first install screen. Also try the text based install, but the FX5900XT isn't that exotic.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th March 2007, 03:04 AM
dhaulk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Ok I figured it out my mobo bios had apic enabled and when I disabled it the live cd runs fine now gonna try the dual boot with xp
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th March 2007, 04:38 AM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 9,041
OK - you did a great job finding the problem.
I'd suggest tho' that you'll may want to boot kernels with the "apic=off" option on the kernel command line.

*AFTER* you install FC6 you may need to reboot the CD in rescue mode and edit the file in /boot/grub/grub.config so that "apic=off" appears on the ends of the kernel lines like:
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.18-1.2200.fc5 ro root=/dev/hda4 rhgb quiet acpi=off
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th March 2007, 05:46 AM
jesus5511 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
You don't have enough RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th March 2007, 07:16 AM
dhaulk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesus5511
You don't have enough RAM.
Say what I have 2 GB's of ram if that isn't enough then exactly how much do I need to run fedora?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th March 2007, 03:09 AM
clone11 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
how do you turn the acpi off?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th March 2007, 03:57 AM
dhaulk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by clone11
how do you turn the acpi off?

I have a setting in my mobo bios that allows me to enable or disable the acpi. But it wasn't acpi that was causing the problem it was the IO APIC Support that was causing the problem and after I disabled that everything runs fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th March 2007, 05:15 AM
jesus5511 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhaulk
Say what I have 2 GB's of ram if that isn't enough then exactly how much do I need to run fedora?
2.5GB DDR8900
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th March 2007, 09:57 AM
dhaulk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesus5511
2.5GB DDR8900
well I guess I could rob a gig from wifes puter lol wonder if she would notice I do have 3 memory slots. Maybe I'll just tell her that stick was compatible with her system. lol or maybe that my other 2 sticks were lonely.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th March 2007, 11:41 AM
barf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: UK
Age: 59
Posts: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesus5511
2.5GB DDR8900
When folks are looking for help this sort of dick head comment is not what they need
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
core, fedora, install

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora COre 4 NTFS Wont Install melissa.royer@v Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 2 16th January 2006 03:20 PM
Fedora Core 4 Wont Install On Sony Laptop CWireless49 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 12th September 2005 11:27 PM
Fedora Core 3 wont boot from CD! lethalhamster Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 8 28th January 2005 02:36 AM
Fedora Core 2 CD wont boot nergal Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 5th December 2004 05:05 PM
Fedora Core 2 wont see DVD Drive popdog Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 1st September 2004 05:45 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:43 (Thursday, 18-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
1476 Travel Photos - Kabul International Airport Instagram Photos - Starbucks Photos on Instagram - Tidung island Instagram Photos - Seven Sisters Country Park