Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th April 2007, 10:07 AM
ositstomc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
LVM woes

Hi

I have a PC with two hard disks (SATA), they were both configured similarly using FC5 and the standard LVM config. One disk has just replaced the other but I would like to still access the old disk as a secondary disk, both disks are now connected and are addressed as SDA & SDB.

The problem: How can I mount the volume group on the second disk, both disks contain a Volume called 'VolGroup00'. I assume I need to rename one of these volumes in order to mount it, but how do I rename a volume which contains the / partition which is active?

There must be an easy way to this, tell me I'm stupid :-)

TomC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th April 2007, 11:17 AM
daverj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 670
you can make the second disk part of VolGroup00. To do that you need to do 3 things:
1) destroy the partition table on it
Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=512 count=1
2) initialize it as an available physical volume
Code:
pvcreate /dev/sdb
3) add the disk to the volume group
Code:
vgextend VolGroup00 /dev/sdb
that should do it. google lvm for more info and details.

davidj

edit: mind you, this will destroy all the current info on /dev/sdb. If you want to preserve it, you need to back it up. Then you can follow the steps above and then restore.

Last edited by daverj; 24th April 2007 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th April 2007, 03:06 PM
ositstomc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
I was hoping to keep some of the data on the old disk?

TomC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th April 2007, 04:25 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by ositstomc
I was hoping to keep some of the data on the old disk?

TomC
Hello:
If I read your post correctly ? You have two volumes named the same?
You will have to rename at least one.
Just be careful and you should be fine.

If so, have a look at this thread, it should help you.
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/s...ght=VolGroup00

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th April 2007, 10:33 PM
ositstomc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Success...but how do i mount?

Thanks Seve

I booted from the CD using the rescue option and was able to rename my old partition. I can now see the new name when I 'lvm vgscan' but how can I mount this volume?

TomC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th April 2007, 10:45 PM
ositstomc Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
FYI

There is no /dev entry for the new volume name?

TomC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th April 2007, 12:23 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Quote:
Originally Posted by ositstomc
Thanks Seve

I booted from the CD using the rescue option and was able to rename my old partition. I can now see the new name when I 'lvm vgscan' but how can I mount this volume?

TomC
Hello Tom:
You need to mount your new volume the same way as any other partition
First, make a mount point :
for example:
mkdir /mnt/newvol
then add the following to your :
/etc/fstab
/dev/nameofnewvol/LogVolXXX /mnt/newvol ext3 defaults 0 0

Where nameofnewvol/LogVolXXX is the name of the volume group that you renamed. [if that makes sense ]

Save, exit and reboot and the new volume should be mounted at /mnt/newvol

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lvm, woes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F9 AMD and LG LCD woes nitromike2006 Hardware & Laptops 1 17th October 2008 10:40 PM
fc8 woes Kasper-pA- Using Fedora 8 13th November 2007 01:44 AM
FC5 T3 Woes Tellik Fedora Core 5 - Dev 2 18th March 2006 04:58 AM
Yum Woes in FC3 neiljt EOL (End Of Life) Versions 2 5th December 2005 06:13 PM
DWL 650 woes nottaclew Servers & Networking 1 21st March 2005 06:45 PM


Current GMT-time: 09:47 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Yambio Photos on Instagram - Bitung Travel Photos - Minglanilla