Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th April 2007, 03:03 PM
richjoh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 158
xwindow screwed up

I'm running FC6 version 2944 and 2933 kernel, the login comes up fine after I log in I don't have a wallpaper, networking not started. A command line and default page of mozilla popes....

Maybe I did a standby and it doesn't recover, at this point I'm just not sure, its a dual boot laptop and M560 CLEVO
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th April 2007, 08:31 PM
John the train Offline
Techno-Womble - Community Manager
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gloucestershire, U.K.
Posts: 1,843
It could be that for some reason you are booting into run level 3 rather than run level 5.If you type ' startx ' at the prompt it should bring up your graphic desktop, then you can check your /etc/inittab file, If the last line - without a ' commented ' (#) at the start - has a figure 3 you will need to go in as root and change it to 5. Save it and restart and you should be OK
__________________
To get the right answer, one must first ask the right question!
Desktop F20 ( 64 bit )
Laptop F20 ( 32 bit )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st May 2007, 04:26 AM
richjoh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 158
I log in as root.
startx

Here's what I get
========
xauth: creating new authority file /root/.serverauth.3201

Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
If this server is no longer runing, remove /tmp/.X0-lock and start again
========

When I
======
rm /tmp/.X0-lock
startx
======

again I come right back to my problem described above.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st May 2007, 11:14 AM
John the train Offline
Techno-Womble - Community Manager
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gloucestershire, U.K.
Posts: 1,843
Ah yes, I've had this happen occassionaly. I wonder if it's a similar cause to browsers starting but not opening? But anyway, I find a ' hard restart ' - switch off, count 5, switch on - usually clears it on my Dell Latitude. Hope this is of some help.
__________________
To get the right answer, one must first ask the right question!
Desktop F20 ( 64 bit )
Laptop F20 ( 32 bit )
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st May 2007, 04:26 PM
richjoh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 158
I already done many hard restart, the problem persist...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd May 2007, 05:34 AM
richjoh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 158
I don't know what run level I'm running. Obviously gnome graphical is not running.
When I login I have a clock, command line and mozilla firefox. The desktop icons and linux menus are gone

Here's a paste of /etc/inittab file

#
# inittab This file describes how the INIT process should set up
# the system in a certain run-level.
#
# Author: Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@drinkel.nl.mugnet.org>
# Modified for RHS Linux by Marc Ewing and Donnie Barnes
#

# Default runlevel. The runlevels used by RHS are:
# 0 - halt (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
# 1 - Single user mode
# 2 - Multiuser, without NFS (The same as 3, if you do not have networking)
# 3 - Full multiuser mode
# 4 - unused
# 5 - X11
# 6 - reboot (Do NOT set initdefault to this)
#
id:5:initdefault:

# System initialization.
si::sysinit:/etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit

l0:0:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/rc.d/rc 6

# Trap CTRL-ALT-DELETE
ca::ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t3 -r now

# When our UPS tells us power has failed, assume we have a few minutes
# of power left. Schedule a shutdown for 2 minutes from now.
# This does, of course, assume you have powerd installed and your
# UPS connected and working correctly.
pf:owerfail:/sbin/shutdown -f -h +2 "Power Failure; System Shutting Down"

# If power was restored before the shutdown kicked in, cancel it.
pr:12345owerokwait:/sbin/shutdown -c "Power Restored; Shutdown Cancelled"


# Run gettys in standard runlevels
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty1
2:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty2
3:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty3
4:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty4
5:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty5
6:2345:respawn:/sbin/mingetty tty6

# Run xdm in runlevel 5
x:5:once:/etc/X11/prefdm -nodaemon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd May 2007, 07:49 AM
John the train Offline
Techno-Womble - Community Manager
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gloucestershire, U.K.
Posts: 1,843
From your inittab it certainly looks as if you should be at run level 5 ( the line that reads < id:5:initdefault > ), you say you have a clock and, if I understand you correctly, you can open Firefox? From this it seems to me that your desktop manager ( Gnome, KDE or Xfce ) has become corrupted. As the problem persists after a hard restart it's evidently not just a momentary hiccup in starting X, but from there I'm out of ideas, except to suggest a search for threads on reparing desktop managers. If no one else comes in on this thread it might be an idea to start one titled ' Desktop manager screwed up ' or some such, to catch the eye of those who may be able to help further.
__________________
To get the right answer, one must first ask the right question!
Desktop F20 ( 64 bit )
Laptop F20 ( 32 bit )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
screwed, xwindow

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suddenly Xwindow Puotta Using Fedora 2 28th February 2008 10:02 AM
XWindow Config jackjill Using Fedora 2 17th November 2004 04:35 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:50 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Le Port Travel Photos - Naukot Photos - Ordzhonikidzevskaya Instagram Photos