Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Servers & Networking
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Servers & Networking Discuss any Fedora server problems and Networking issues such as dhcp, IP numbers, wlan, modems, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th May 2007, 06:11 AM
cryincold Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canton(Guangzhou)
Posts: 7
Unhappy using the same network setting,my xp can connect to internet,bu Fedora can not.WHY?

I installed xp & fedora on my system. and both of them can connect to internect without problems.
For some reasons i re-installed my fedora, that's the very nightmare begins.
My fedora cannot go to internet from then on.

there is my network setting:
IP: 202.116.71.148
Netmask: 255.255.254.0
Gateway: 202.116.70.1

Kernel IP routing table:
Destination Gateway Genmask flags Metric Ref Use Iface
202.116.70.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.254.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
166.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 202.116.70.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

when i tried to use Wget to connect to certain URL, i was prompted:
no route

and i did the following work:

[root@localhost setmefree]# /usr/sbin/tcpdump -iv eth0 > log &
[3] 2630
[root@localhost setmefree]# tcpdump: ioctl: No such devic

then i ping the gateway
# ping 202.117.70.1

#tac ./log
11:35:40.637225 arp who-has 202.116.70.1 tell 202.116.71.148
11:35:41.637246 arp who-has 202.116.70.1 tell 202.116.71.148
11:35:42.637268 arp who-has 202.116.70.1 tell 202.116.71.148
.
.
.
11:35:44.637306 arp who-has 202.116.70.1 tell 202.116.71.148

My xp system also has the same network configureation: the same IP and netmask the same network adapter, the same Gateway. it works very well.

i feel very very frustated, i don't know what is the problem.

andbody can give me a hand. tks in advance. !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th May 2007, 06:23 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Show us:
su -
iptables --list

ifconfig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th May 2007, 06:23 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Also
/etc/hosts
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th May 2007, 07:08 AM
cryincold Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canton(Guangzhou)
Posts: 7
tku marcrblevins.

[root@localhost setmefree]# iptables --list
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination


[root@localhost setmefree]# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:E9:42:35:F8
inet addr:202.116.71.148 Bcast:202.116.71.255 Mask:255.255.254.0
inet6 addr: fe80::215:e9ff:fe42:35f8/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:16 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0x2c00

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:3769 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3769 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:8477292 (8.0 MiB) TX bytes:8477292 (8.0 MiB)

[root@localhost setmefree]# cat /etc/hosts
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
::1 localhost.localdomain localhos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th May 2007, 07:52 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Your /etc/hosts looks crappy. You are missing the 127.0.0.1 to work with IPV4 while the ::1 was for IPV6.
You need to add the 127.0.0.1 line.

Here is mine for example:
127.0.0.1 kiriyamablevins.dyndns.org kiriyamablevins localhost.loc aldomain localhost
::1 kiriyamablevins.dyndns.org kiriyamablevins localhost.localdomain
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th May 2007, 08:38 AM
cryincold Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canton(Guangzhou)
Posts: 7
still cannot work

hi ~ marcrblevins .

unfortunately it still cannot work.

i've correct my /etc/hosts as:

127.0.0.1 setmefree.com setmefree localhost.localdomain localhost
::1 setmefree.com setmefree localhost.localdomain localhost

then restart the system.
the problem goes on ...

and i get another error prompt, when i switch to the console:
eth0: Transmit timed out, status 0003, PHY status 786D, resetting ...

that's really a torment to me .. ..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th May 2007, 08:40 AM
cryincold Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canton(Guangzhou)
Posts: 7
what can i do to work it aroud , i was totally stunned.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connect, fedora, internet, network, notwhy, setting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot connect to network/internet sul Servers & Networking 5 18th July 2008 01:25 AM
Users can still connect to internet without setting up the proxy setting wshamroukh Servers & Networking 1 3rd May 2007 09:54 PM
Can't connect to internet/network Elbie Servers & Networking 2 21st April 2007 07:05 AM
The 2nd PC cannot connect to Internet via network philippjosefric Servers & Networking 0 2nd April 2005 09:39 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:14 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat