Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 22nd May 2007, 09:13 PM
syrex Offline

Unable to file share using Samba

Hi,

I am pretty new to Linux, trying to make a share server run on Fedora Core 6. I have all the latest updates applied. I initially could not log in to the server from my XP SP2 box (192.168.1.5), but I could reach the shared folder on the XP client from my Linux box. After reading so many posts, and trying different things, Fedora can no longer even see the Windows workgroup anymore, although I can ping the XP box and browse the Net.

From XP, trying to get into the server, I get the standard not accessible error.

Here are some things I captured to try to see if someone can spot what I have wrong:

[root@Drake ~]# testparm /etc/samba/smb.conf
Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
Processing section "[homes]"
Processing section "[printers]"
Processing section "[Shared]"
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
Press enter to see a dump of your service definitions

[global]
server string = Drake
interfaces = etho, eth1, lo
log file = /var/log/samba/%m.log
max log size = 50
dns proxy = No
hosts allow = 192.168.1.0/24, 127.
hosts deny = all
cups options = raw

[homes]
comment = Home Directories
read only = No
browseable = No

[printers]
comment = All Printers
path = /usr/spool/samba
printable = Yes
browseable = No

[Shared]
comment = Shared files
path = /mnt/G-Drive/shared
read only = No
guest ok = Yes

smbd.log:

[2007/05/21 11:24:29, 0] smbd/server.c:main(847)
smbd version 3.0.24-5.fc6 started.
Copyright Andrew Tridgell and the Samba Team 1992-2006

nmbd.log:

[2007/05/21 11:24:29, 0] nmbd/nmbd.c:main(700)
Netbios nameserver version 3.0.24-5.fc6 started.
Copyright Andrew Tridgell and the Samba Team 1992-2006

192.168.1.5.log:

empty

main.log:

[2007/05/21 11:24:57, 0] smbd/service.c:make_connection_snum(920)