Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th June 2007, 01:12 AM
tsmalley Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Thunderbird profile manager doesn't work in Fedora 7

I just installed Fedora 7 from the live cd. I added Thunderbird via add/remove software, but need to run the profile manager. In other distros I have simply typed in
Code:
thunderbird -profilemanager
and the profile manager runs no problem. However, when I try it in Fedora 7, nothing happens. I have also tried running this as root. If I simply type
Code:
thunderbird
, it runs the email client no problem. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th June 2007, 05:40 AM
csturm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Age: 36
Posts: 2
I have the exact same problem.
I still can't get the profilemanager to start or load a profile with -p.
Instead I went to my home directory and found the directory .thunderbird
In that directory there is a file profiles.ini

Here I changed the file to point to the profile I want loaded
[Profile0]
Name=default
IsRelative=0
Path=/mnt/Share/Mozilla_Profiles/Thunderbird/Profiles/a84b6p7w.default

Of course change the part after Path= to your profile location
Also make sure to change IsRelative to 0 if the profile isn't in the current directory.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st July 2007, 09:54 PM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
Ah thanks man. At least there is a solution the -profilemanager option not working in thunderbird.
__________________
Desktop (64-bit) - F12, Debian Sid, OpenSUSE 11.2, ArchLinux
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st July 2007, 10:19 PM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,141
Try it without the "-" (thunderbird profilemanager).
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st July 2007, 11:50 PM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
without the dash it just loads my current profile which I setup using the instructions here
__________________
Desktop (64-bit) - F12, Debian Sid, OpenSUSE 11.2, ArchLinux
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd July 2007, 12:32 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 69
Posts: 22,141
Ah, never tried the -profilemanager, guess I'll never have the chance to either!
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd July 2007, 12:39 AM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
what is also strange is that the thunderbird --help says use one dash. firefox says use two dashes. thunderbird fails with one or two dashes. firefox works with its two dashes.
__________________
Desktop (64-bit) - F12, Debian Sid, OpenSUSE 11.2, ArchLinux
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th July 2007, 02:38 PM
Ritariassa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
I also noticed this problem.
Do you know if there is any solution coming up?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd July 2007, 04:44 PM
Neuropa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 14
I'm having the same problem... using Fedora 7 and Thunderbird 2.0.0.5.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th July 2007, 09:14 AM
Neuropa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 14
Found entry in BugZilla at: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=242519
But still no solution... :-(
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13th November 2007, 08:29 PM
wh0rd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Fedora 8, still nothing...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14th November 2007, 06:34 AM
Neuropa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 14
I haven't installed Fedora 8. Switched to Ubuntu... it works...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25th November 2007, 11:59 PM
Battlemarz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
This bug is really annoying me, keeping me from using Fedora .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28th November 2007, 08:56 PM
Jongi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,952
There's a work around right in this thread
__________________
Desktop (64-bit) - F12, Debian Sid, OpenSUSE 11.2, ArchLinux
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28th November 2007, 10:26 PM
Battlemarz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Yes, but then whenever i want to change profiles it is far more work then in Ubuntu.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, manager, profile, thunderbird, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Share thunderbird profile over NFS btwn Fedora nd Windows zirb Using Fedora 2 10th June 2009 11:55 PM
thunderbird profile neverer Using Fedora 7 24th August 2007 07:27 AM
A new network profile manager mrf Programming & Packaging 1 15th January 2006 12:59 PM
Thunderbird/Firefox Profile Backup Script armchair99 Using Fedora 13 29th November 2005 11:16 AM
Can't Restore Thunderbird Profile fryem720 Using Fedora 5 22nd September 2005 10:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:12 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat