Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th June 2007, 02:52 AM
danwaineo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 243
What service runs every five minutes?

I'm watching videos in mythtv, and I'm getting dropouts every five minutes. I've checked the system monitor but the service doesn't last long enough. However, I can see spikes in the CPU display. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th June 2007, 03:04 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Open a terminal window and run the command "top"

Last edited by Iron_Mike; 7th June 2007 at 03:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th June 2007, 03:11 AM
danwaineo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 243
I'll try, but it doesn't last very long. I don't know if I'll be able to see it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th June 2007, 03:26 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Just watch it for a little bit and you'll see what's hogging the cpu cycles, I'm guessing "makewhatis" or maybe "beagled"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th June 2007, 03:33 AM
danwaineo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 243
I thought it might be beagled, so I turned if off.

I can't be sure, but it looks like it might be gdm-binary. Weird. Anybody know what GDM does every 5 minutes?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th June 2007, 03:48 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Doesn't run here, reboot the computer and run "top" again.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th June 2007, 04:02 AM
danwaineo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 243
I think it does - if you are running gnome. Scroll down in "gnome-system-Monitor"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th June 2007, 06:22 AM
danwaineo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 243
I think I found the problem. I had my wireless router and my HDHomerun to close to each other. I moved them farther apart, and I don't have the problem anymore.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
minutes, runs, service

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chkconfig wokrs but service start says unknow service gkk Servers & Networking 4 10th December 2007 02:45 AM
Running mldonkey as a service, service does not startup Dhana Servers & Networking 2 14th August 2006 04:43 AM
adding a service which runs from inetd paulur Servers & Networking 4 14th May 2006 02:46 PM
how to connect my roadrunner service or aol service to my fedora core 1 on my compter john nelson jr Using Fedora 1 14th March 2005 12:22 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:12 (Sunday, 20-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat