Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th April 2004, 05:37 PM
zjimward Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 73
Desktop Switching Tool

Has any one experienced the following problem under FC2 Test 3?

When I select the Desktop Switching Tool under either GNOME or KDE it executes and never appears to run.
  #2  
Old 29th April 2004, 07:15 PM
Bobmeister Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mt. Prospect, IL
Age: 55
Posts: 42
I can't even find it on the menu, however using the command-ling switchdesk works fine. On my fresh install of Test 3, just like test 2, I couldn't find any gui version of the desktop switcher anywhere...

Could be a "me" oversight though because I didn't look too hard...
__________________
Let's show Uncle Bill what a real operating system can do!
  #3  
Old 29th April 2004, 09:08 PM
LordMorgul Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sourthern California, USA
Posts: 503
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla....cgi?id=121840

If you have version 4.0.2-1 installed then this bug might be the problem.. if you have an earlier version installed, then the problem might be something else.

btw, yum/apt may fail to update from the earlier version if this is not a clean install of test3. I had to manually update switchdesk.

For the gui.. install switchdesk-gui.
__________________
- Andrew <lordmorgul@gmail.com>

No one now has, and no one will ever again get, the big picture. - Daniel Geer
  #4  
Old 30th April 2004, 12:17 AM
lord_sean Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ocala, FL
Age: 35
Posts: 3
Yup, same issue here, have yey to find a resoultion
  #5  
Old 30th April 2004, 01:29 AM
LordMorgul Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sourthern California, USA
Posts: 503
Well, in the meantime you can list the files owned by switchdesk, rpm -ql switchdesk and then copy the desired .Xclients.<windowmanage> file to your home directory's .Xclients-default.

That is the general operation carried out by switchdesk anyway.
I'm sure the maintainer will be all over the syntax error soon. (of course anyone knowing python could drop a patch on the bug and help him out..)
__________________
- Andrew <lordmorgul@gmail.com>

No one now has, and no one will ever again get, the big picture. - Daniel Geer
  #6  
Old 30th April 2004, 06:07 PM
zjimward Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 73
Thanks for all the responses. For those that don't know where the Desktop Switching Tool is now located. Look under Preferences|More Preferences|Desktop Switching Tool

Running switchdesk from the command line worked great.

The version installed is 4.0.2-1 and I noticed that according to

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzill...g.cgi?id=121840

link that 4.0.3-1 no longer has this bug. Until then switchdesk on the command line works fine.

Last edited by zjimward; 30th April 2004 at 06:26 PM.
 

Tags
desktop, switching, tool

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No desktop switching tool light speed Programming & Packaging 1 20th July 2005 07:21 AM
Desktop Switching Tool gkuhlen Using Fedora 3 26th March 2005 12:52 AM
Desktop switching tool mattm Using Fedora 6 16th August 2004 03:32 AM
Desktop Switching Tool in FC2 gonzalo76 EOL (End Of Life) Versions 8 9th June 2004 11:32 AM
Adding xfce4 to desktop switching tool mike Using Fedora 4 10th April 2004 08:11 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:30 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat