Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd June 2007, 03:47 AM
dac9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Fedora 7 Nearly all services fail @ startup

Hey All,

I install a fresh copy of Fedora 7. I then install updates using the update manager... After this

I complete all of the steps from this tutorial "http://www.howtoforge.com/the_perfect_desktop_fedora7"

I then install the KMOD nVIDIA driver + Beryle...

Everything is working fantastically until a few days later when a reboot and I get all these errors and the computer reports that primary HD cannot be mounted in read/wright mode.. I have attached three images of the errors i recieve at boot. X will not start and i dont want to format again. I would rather learn how to fix the problem....

I was speaking in the Fedora, Freenode IRC chan and many people told me this is a hardware problem with my Motherboard or HD... before I buy new Hardware i wanted to be sure.... is this a hw problem because i had windows on this drive for 8 months with no isse...


Regards,
dac9
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	21.5 KB
ID:	12502   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	12503   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	24.9 KB
ID:	12504  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd June 2007, 04:32 AM
BillT440 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 106
check your mounts and /etc/fstab

looks like the volume for /var isn't mounted or is in read-only mode. Try rescue mode or single user and give the volume a fsck for starters.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd June 2007, 04:34 AM
dac9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
What command do i type in root to do what you have said
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd June 2007, 04:42 AM
BillT440 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 106
ok, read your post more thoroughly .... Sorry, long day.

I'm not sure if you're using LVM and I'm not sure LVM can do this, but the volume can put in RO mode due to errors. I know the FS can and will do this if there's a multitude of rw errors. I imagine a bad mobo (ide controller?) / disk could be the cause, yes.

The errors you receive leading up to the event... are they disk related errors?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd June 2007, 04:43 AM
dac9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Yes all the errors start with drive mounting and read/wright mode
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd June 2007, 04:49 AM
BillT440 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 106
at the grub window, append a "1" (without quotes) to the kernel boot line. You'll receive errors and such and it will probably take a few minutes for everything to fail before you get a prompt. Make sure /var isn't mounted:

mount|grep var

look over the output to ensure the device isn't mounted.

if it is, do:
umount /var
fsck -y /path/to/device


I don't know your partitioning / LVM strategy, so I have to be kinda vague at the moment. /var could be coming off of your rootfs for all I would know. Know how you set this sucker up?


-Bill
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd June 2007, 04:53 AM
dac9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
ok var is not mounted... and I have my file system setup using the Fedora 7 Default options
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd June 2007, 04:55 AM
BillT440 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 106
ok, usually the defaults are pretty ugly from an administrative standpoint. F7 may have changed the game, but I haven't used default partitioning for as long as I can remember. This might be painful, but could you post the contents of your /etc/fstab?

-Bill
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22nd June 2007, 04:58 AM
dac9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
using SSH... How could I copy that file over or open it?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd June 2007, 05:11 AM
BillT440 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 106
ok, since /var or the device that holds /var is borked, I don't think ssh will start up. You can try it.

service network start
service sshd start

Otherwise, I'm out of nifty ideas other than typing it out manually.

awk '{print $1 " " $2 }' /etc/fstab


Should be enough.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22nd June 2007, 05:17 AM
dac9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
ok... to clarify im using SSH now. i typed that command. should it place a log somewhere or something?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd June 2007, 05:22 AM
BillT440 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 106
should just output some stuff to your screen like

/dev/rootvg/rootvol /
LABEL=/boot /boot
devpts /dev/pts
tmpfs /dev/shm
/dev/rootvg/homevol /export/home
proc /proc
sysfs /sys
/dev/rootvg/tmpvol /tmp
/dev/rootvg/varvol /var
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd June 2007, 05:23 AM
BillT440 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 106
I'm really just trying to find out where your /var is. I'm sorry for putting you through all the troubles. I know how much of a pain this can be.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd June 2007, 05:25 AM
dac9 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Oh no problem im learning heaps anyway...

Here it is...

tmpfs /dev/shm
devpts /dev/ptd
sysfs /sys
proc /proc
#Entry for
LABEL=/boot /boot
/dev/sbd1 /media/Pedro_2
/dev/VolGroup00/LoVol01 swap
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22nd June 2007, 05:35 AM
BillT440 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 106
ok, this is from the goofed up system? When you booted with the "1" argument for single user mode, did you have the errors? According to the output here, there's no / mountpoint. Are you sure you copied and pasted the whole output?

Typically, I'll expect to see something like /dev/sda / or /dev/sda2 /

ok, since I'm not doing very good here, mind posting the whole contents of /etc/fstab? Maybe I goofed you up with my awk nonsense since I didn't expect your file to have comments in it. You can get the file content's in it's unmolested form like this:

cat /etc/fstab


just make sure you can get the whole file. Something seems missing here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fail, fedora, services, startup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After update from 10 to 11, ntp and http services fail un4tune8son Using Fedora 9 25th November 2009 05:46 AM
Winbind services fail on boot, Fedora 11 SpuriousQ Using Fedora 0 14th August 2009 01:36 AM
chkconfig messes priorities - half of the services fail to start duni Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) 1 18th May 2008 06:41 AM
Console Mouse Services Fail ..!!!! nocolour Using Fedora 2 25th May 2004 09:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:04 (Saturday, 26-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat