Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd July 2007, 02:23 PM
Daniel114 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 107
Dual Monitor Problem

hello,

I'm having a problem with dual monitors.

basically I have a tft screen at 1024x768 in front of me, which I would like to use as the primiary monitor, and a crt to the right of it which I would like to use as secondary.

Using the system-admin-disply tab didn't seem to work, it allowed dual head (I want them to be independant) but switched them around so that the crt was primary and apparently situated where the tft is.

I channged the xorg.conf to try and allow the monitors settings to stay (kept reverting) and now all I am able to get is a clone of my tft on the crt no matter what I change

xorg is

# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Multihead layout"
Screen 1 "Screen0" LeftOf "Screen1"
Screen 0 "Screen1" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
Option "Xinerama" "off"
Option "Clone" "off"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor 1280x1024"
HorizSync 31.5 - 79.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 90.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1024x768"
HorizSync 31.5 - 48.5
VertRefresh 40.0 - 70.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "radeon"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard1"
Driver "radeon"
VendorName "Videocard Vendor"
BoardName "ATI Technologies Inc R480 [Radeon X800 GTO (PCIE)] (Secondary)"
BusID "PCI:1:0:1"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

anybody any ideas? incidentally when startx was reinitialised it picked up the make of my tft (LG L1510s) but now it wont display that

any help wouldbe greatly appreciated, im sure its something quite simple

dan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th July 2007, 12:54 PM
VictorienSardou Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 628
in this section, you are missing 'Monitor "Monitor0"'
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dual, monitor, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KDE4 not running in second monitor? (Dual monitor problem) thylacine222 Using Fedora 1 27th December 2008 04:30 PM
another dual monitor problem poskitzconfi Hardware & Laptops 2 17th April 2008 06:20 PM
X radeon dual monitor color problem one monitor itdoesnotwork Using Fedora 2 14th January 2008 07:01 PM
dual monitor problem cap mstr Hardware & Laptops 25 17th December 2007 05:20 AM
Dual Monitor Install problem Tosak Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 23rd February 2006 06:57 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:21 (Wednesday, 01-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat