Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th July 2007, 07:42 PM
gonphsn1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Problem creating default IPv6 gateway on fc6

Hey folks,
I'm doing some feasibility research on IPv6 and I've run into a problem while
attempting to set up an IPv6/IPv4 network that includes a FC6 machine. It appears
to me to be some sort of kernel incompatibility issue, yet I know that the 2.6.18 kernel is IPv6 compliant...

Here's the setup

Fedora Core Release 6 (Zod)
Kernel 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 on an i686
Pentium II (Deschutes)

/etc/sysconfig/network:
NETWORKING=yes
NETWORKING_IPV6=yes
HOSTNAME=xxxxxxx.xxxxxx
IPV6_DEFAULTGW=12::1%eth0


/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=none
HWADDR=00:10:4B:1F:77:2C
IPV6INIT=yes
IPV6ADDR=12::2/126
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Ethernet
USERCTL=no
PEERDNS=yes
IPADDR=193.168.0.2
GATEWAY=193.168.0.1
NETWORK=193.168.0.0
NETMASK=255.255.255.0

With this configuration, restarting the networking service results in the following:

service network restart

....
....
Bringing up interface eth0: WARN [ipv6_add_route] Unknown error.

Investigating the network-function-ipv6 file shows that the operation fails at the point where it is adding the default route for this interface, i.e. ip -6 route.

The command is:

ip -6 route add ::/0 via 12::1 dev eth0 metric 1

Manually entering this at the command line results in the following error:

RTNETLINK answers: Invalid argument

I have also tried adding the route using the route command, the corresponding command is:

route -A inet6 add ::/0 gw 12::1 dev eth0 metric 1

Manually entering this at the command line results in the following error:

SIOCADDRT: Invalid argument


route version: net-tools 1.60 route 1.98 (2001-04-15)
ip version: ip utility, iproute2-ss060323

What's the deal? I can ping6 between adjacent nodes in my network but I can't set up any routing tables! Any help would be great, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th July 2007, 01:35 PM
gonphsn1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
bump.

So no one has any ideas? Bummer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st August 2007, 02:52 AM
jcliburn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mississippi, USA
Posts: 1,180
I've had success using radvd to enable IPv6 on my network. Pick a host on your network to serve as the router, then install, configure, and start radvd on it. Your radvd host will transmit router advertisements onto your network, and all your IPv6-enabled hosts will autoconfigure to a usable v6 address.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
creating, default, fc6, gateway, ipv6, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how can I configure a simple default IPv6 route Rui Bernado Servers & Networking 1 22nd November 2005 03:02 AM
how can I configure a simple default IPv6 route Rui Bernado Servers & Networking 1 18th November 2005 11:05 PM
how can I configure a simple default IPv6 route Rui Bernado Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 1 18th November 2005 11:05 PM
how can I configure a simple default IPv6 route Rui Bernado Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 18th November 2005 11:01 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:39 (Thursday, 18-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat