Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 25th September 2007, 12:57 AM
denniswimer Offline

Fedora 7 Kernel Panic [System x3655 w/RAID]

I decided it was time to ask the experts, as I am relatively new to Linux(Fedora) and the installation onto this IBM System x3655 is driving me up the wall. The following is an excerpt from the output I was able to see (after the scrolling stopped) from my attempt at installing FC6:

Reading all physical volumes. This may take a while ...
Found volume group "VolGroup00" using metadata type lvm2
device-mapper: table: 253:0 liner:dm-linear: Device lookup failed
device-mapper: reload ioctl failed: Invalid argument
2 logical volume(s) in volume group "VolGroup00" now active
init[1]: segfault at (address information deleted for brevity)
error 4
nash received SIGSEGV! Backtrace:
. [backtrace information deleted for brevity]
Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!

After reading through a lot of the posts, I have tried various boot options -- in specific noapic and nodmraid -- all with no success.

Then, I attempted installing FC7. After acknowledging where the logfiles would be stored, I was presented with a screen with exceptions. The primary culprit here seems to be a PVCreateError: pvcreate of pv "/dev/sda1" failed [pvcreate -ff -y -v /dev/sda1]. It makes sense that if it cannot create the partition, it cannot mount and boot.

In both cases, when defining the partitions to be created, I have tried deleting all partitions and letting linux decide the best configuration; and deleting only the Linux partitions and accepting the default configuraiton. In both cases, I end up with sda and sdb partitions. In both cases, I have told it to perform the installation on the smaller partition (sdb -- not the LSI MegaRAID partition).

sda 285147MB LSI MegaRAID 8480E
sdb 285985MB ServeRA ARRAYA (designated to boot from this device)