Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th October 2007, 08:31 AM
_stan_ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
rhythmbox decoder plugins

Hi everyone,
This is my first attempt at using Linux, I used to use XP. I am having problems with rythmbox. I am unable to play a *.pls file from an internet radio station;

http://www.shoutcast.com/sbin/shoutc...e=filename.pls


when I try to listen it tells me I need to install a decoder. how do I do this? Has this something to do with yum?

help would be welcome.

_stan_
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th October 2007, 08:36 AM
Demz
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
have u got gstreamer installed?

install the livna repo http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-7.rpm

i think you'll need the

gstreamer-plugins-ugly-0.10.5-2.lvn7.i386.rpm

and

gstreamer-plugins-bad-0.10.5-3.lvn7.i386.rpm

and

gstreamer-ffmpeg-0.10.2-2.lvn7.i386.rpm

yum should handle the dependancies during install of those 3 rpm's

Last edited by Demz; 13th October 2007 at 08:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th October 2007, 08:42 AM
_stan_ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
not sure, when I select Applications/Add Remove Software I get told that

Another application is running which is accessing software information.

how do I close that application? there is nothing showing on the panel.

_stan_
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th October 2007, 08:42 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Try

su -
rpm -ivh http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-7.rpm
yum install gstreamer-*

And try exaile for internet radio & media player as it has a good shoutcast plugin

yum install exaile
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th October 2007, 08:44 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by _stan_
not sure, when I select Applications/Add Remove Software I get told that

Another application is running which is accessing software information.

how do I close that application? there is nothing showing on the panel.

_stan_

To disable the other app ( yum-updatesd ) try


su -
chkconfig --level 12345 yum-updatesd off

Last edited by leigh123linux; 13th October 2007 at 11:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th October 2007, 10:19 AM
_stan_ Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
wow, thanks guys'. I was nervous about being a newbie and posting a question.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
decoder, plugins, rhythmbox

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rhythmbox keeps asking for Windows Media Audio Decoder plugin abakalidis Using Fedora 13 14th July 2010 09:48 PM
MPEG 1 Audio/Video Decoder Plugins eck.gw3 Hardware & Laptops 1 18th December 2008 02:12 AM
RhythmBox no m4a but I have plugins installed mckechan Using Fedora 27 30th October 2007 12:02 PM
need help installing rhythmbox plugins rswitzer Using Fedora 3 1st January 2005 03:52 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:35 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Redmond - Bethesda Photos on Instagram - Westmont Travel Photos on Instagram