Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #121  
Old 10th December 2007, 06:03 AM
aniketv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: India,USA
Age: 29
Posts: 218
Hello all,
I just wanted to know, if anyone has had succeeded in using skype v1.4 or v2.0beta with pulseaudio, and if yes how!
Because I had lotsa troubles with skype and pulse, rest all was working fine(mplayer,xine etc) . So I have disabled pulse currently, but i wanna use desperately coz i need to switch between snd cards frequently( BT headset and Onboard soundcard) , so pulse Is what I need !!!
  #122  
Old 23rd January 2008, 04:46 PM
ahvi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 116
For anybody having problems with sound in VLC, make sure /usr/lib/pulse-0.9/modules/module-esound-sink.so is displayed in Settings>Preferences>Audio>Output Modules>EsounD>Esound server
  #123  
Old 23rd January 2008, 04:59 PM
cable_txg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 302
I do have PulseAudio working fine for me. When installing FC4 - FC8 I believe I had to set my group to also belong to sound(PulseAudio in FC8). Here's my id:
uid=500(Cable_txg) gid=500(Cable_txg) groups=100(users),495(pulse-access),497(pulse),500(Cable_txg) context=system_u:system_r:unconfined_t:s0

Also from System->Administration->Users and Groups click on properties for any user name and under "Groups" tab, click on pulse and pulse-access to include user in that group.

Hope that works....
__________________
"Genius is one percent inspiration and 99 percent perspiration" --- Thomas Alva Edison.

Laptop: Intel i7, Geforce GT 425M, Blu-Ray :D
Laptop: Amd64 X2, Geforce Go 7600 Intel Core 2 Duo, Geforce 8600M GT
Desktop: :mad: Thanks Windows Vista! R.I.P. Sept. 2007 :mad:
  #124  
Old 27th January 2008, 08:06 PM
elvenhack Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Fedora 8 pulse audio as a system-wide daemon

For anybody trying to get Fedora 8 to run as a system-wide deamon as opposed to only starting up when someone logs into an X-server (ex: I'm setting up my machine as a headless jukebox, so I want to be able to ssh into it and start a song using mpg/ogg123 on the command line) here was the last crucial step for me. I'm sure this somehow bad for security but at least it works.

Go into /etc/pulse/default.pa and comment out the line
load-module module-x11-publish.

After doing this I was able to successfully run the following command as root:

# pulseaudio --system -D

Good luck!
  #125  
Old 14th February 2008, 01:03 PM
escapeflowne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 55
i have this problem with sound->in general pulseaudio plays sound fine. but after some reboots i hear no sound and when i run alsamixer in terminal it says pulseaudio:connection refused. the only solution i found was either remove alsa-plugins-pulseaudio or rm -rf /tmp/pulse-username as root ,pulseaudio -k and pulseaudio -D. so my question is -are these solutions real solutions or am i missing a simple trick ? i have consolekit and avahi-daemon running.
  #126  
Old 14th February 2008, 09:25 PM
strikeforce Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 1,464
Console Kit is supposed to fix that since it is supposed to be giving you permissions.

The actual error comes from /tmp/pulse-username
__________________
- Helping New Users
Fedora Solved

- How to pay forward
Fedora Help Wanted

- Need a quick guide
Fedora Guide
  #127  
Old 24th February 2008, 02:23 AM
jnissly Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tampa Bay - Florida, US
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottro
Sigh, sound. I'll just say, remember, Fedora is considered a bleeding edge distro. Yeah, it should Just Work(TM) but when I get ticked, I tell myself, well, it's not one of those distros that aims to try to be an MS replacement.

Personally, I feel that even ALSA was an answer to a question no one asked, but, that's a rant for a different day. OSS worked with less effort.

Anyway, here is my experience. Firstly, sound has been broken for some people as non-root for awhile. The usual solution, leaving pulseaudio out of the equation, is to edit /etc/security/console.perms.d/50-whatever it's called, and add

<sound>=/dev/dsp* /dev/snd/*

Then, at the bottom add

<console> 0666 <sound> 0600 root

This fixes the non-root issue if pulseaudio isn't involved.

.
Thank you for posting this, it did the trick for me. I used to have to chown /dev/snd every time I booted.
  #128  
Old 16th March 2008, 04:25 PM
bluestone Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, US
Posts: 12
Wink

For my issue (no sound in Nexuiz: crime). I found some great tips from the links on this page regarding sound:

http://jaymzworld.com/pages/inspiron.shtml

for me, he was right, only -- system-config-soundcard just needed the box unchecked regarding alsa being non-hardware specific.

I think...

Anyway, sound is working now.
I'll be shooting you all soon in Nexuiz!

bluestone
  #129  
Old 28th May 2008, 09:22 AM
shweta Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: India
Posts: 6
I have the same problem. There's no sound, root or no root. Also pulse audio crashes. And when I try editting the etc/security file it says no privileges to do such a thing.
  #130  
Old 29th May 2008, 07:48 AM
escapeflowne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 55
1>what is the output of /sbin/lspci -v|grep -i audio ?
2>try removing the alsa-plugins-pulseaudio ?
3>try removing the /tmp/pulse-<username> folder,then pulseaudio -D.
4>if all else fails try mounting tmpfs on /tmp ?
  #131  
Old 16th January 2009, 04:08 AM
Dr.Lee Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Hi all,

I seem to have the same problem as you guys. For me, there's no sound, root or no root.
Did anyone succeeded in using skype 1.4? I hope someone can help me. I've been looking for an answer for quite a while now but it never seemed to work.Simulation pret immobilier

Thanks all!
  #132  
Old 16th January 2009, 06:40 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,937
as far as i know skype dose not work with pulse on fedora 8 ,may have been fixed in fedora 9 or 10 .or just remove pulse and reinstall alsa -- before the servers are taken offline ( 8 hit End of Life on jan 7)
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
  #133  
Old 8th April 2009, 11:22 PM
Gabyrpg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Awesome post, thanks !
  #134  
Old 9th April 2009, 12:41 AM
glhere Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 81
audio, mplayer, selinux messages

ok, so whether I set up pulseaudio or alsa I get no sound. One cannot be opened and the otherrefuses to connect.

SELinux message when attempting to watch online streaming video is

>The mplayer application attempted to load /usr/lib/codecs/drv4.so.6.0 which requires text relocation. This is a potential security problem. Most libraries do not need this permission. Libraries are sometimes coded incorrectly and request this permission.<

Seems trying to write to a file and execute it at the same time is a no-no, but this was supposedly corrected in kernels >2.6...

Anyone know about this?

Thanks for your time
  #135  
Old 9th April 2009, 01:47 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,937
glhere please start a new thread for this NEW problem.
and what dose your problem have to do with fedora 8 .
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Closed Thread

Tags
audio, fedora, nonroot, pulse, sound, users

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulse Audio Sound Card per Application NoOneElse Using Fedora 1 20th May 2010 04:16 PM
Multi User Sound Fedora 10 w/Pulse Audio? ottoguy Using Fedora 4 13th November 2009 09:13 AM
F10 Bluetooth Audio + Pulse == pulse crashes. fwelland Hardware & Laptops 2 7th February 2009 01:07 PM
Fedora 8, Pulse Audio, 2 Audio Cards Alex Lang Using Fedora 5 24th January 2008 09:05 PM
Fedora 7 vs 8 and KDE nonroot sound jaa Using Fedora 1 4th January 2008 10:25 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:41 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Bhudgaon Travel Photos - Hengyang Instagram Photos - Bois-Colombes Instagram Photos