Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th November 2007, 05:14 PM
lynxus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 216
Wpa2

Hi guys,

How do i get the option for WPA2 on the network manager?

I only have the option to configure wireless network connections with normal WPA

I need WPA2 enterprise and cant seem to figure out where ./ what needs to be done to get these options.


Thanks
Graham
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th November 2007, 07:05 PM
linearfish Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 139
I've got the same problem. I'll let you know if I figure anything out.
__________________
(Cobain) Fedora 8 - Gigabyte GA-K8U, Sempron 64 3000+, 2 gigs ram (Kingston and Gskill), 160 gig Maxtor SATA hd, nVidia GeForce 7600 GS 512mb, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-950 USB TV stick
(Cornell) Fedora 9 - AMD Turion X2, 3 gigs ram, 250 gig hard drive, nVidia GeForce 8200
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th November 2007, 07:11 PM
nincehelser Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
I've just loaded Fedora 8.

After turning on the NetworkManager, NetworkManagerDispatcher, and WPA_Supplicant services, I see the option for "WPA and WPA2 Enterprise" when selecting "Connect to Other Wireless Network".

However, I'm stuck and just getting a WPA-PSK connection working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th November 2007, 03:57 AM
lynxus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 216
IM confused why this isnt built in? the DVD is big enuf?
This is stuff that most ppl will use and yet REALLY hard to get working?

FYI im still stuck!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th November 2007, 04:34 AM
lynxus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 216
Anyone out there?
Can getting WPA2 etc really be a massive issue on fedora?

Dont make me quote ubuntu lol...
@

/me cry


-G
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th November 2007, 11:30 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Here's a work-around but it involves reverting back to the F8 test versions of NM

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=171361
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th November 2007, 10:32 PM
nokomo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
I had det samme problem in ubuntu anf Fedora8 but after installing wicd networking tools i am able to connect to my wireless via wpa2
http://wicd.sourceforge.net/wiki/dok...f681a8e798d508
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10th November 2007, 10:49 PM
nokomo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
I forgot to say that you have to 'chmod +x wicd' after instruction 5.
good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wpa2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WPA2 connection help :P lollysticky Using Fedora 2 23rd March 2009 01:59 AM
WPA2 Missing Fix Iron_Mike Servers & Networking 3 13th November 2007 11:35 PM
WPA2 in networkmanager lynxus Using Fedora 0 9th November 2007 10:57 AM
WPA2 issue linearfish Servers & Networking 16 11th September 2007 07:38 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:59 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Kyurdarmir Photos on Instagram - Talitsa Photos on Instagram - Jagalur