Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 5th May 2004, 02:56 PM
espique Offline

Unhappy core 2 test 3 boots into blank screen after install

Hi there,

I just installed Fedore Core 2 Test 3, my first Fedora ever. The installation seemed to work quite well. I wasn't asked for monitor or screen resolution though. And I think here is my problem: After the first reboot (while showing details) I could see the line "X is not configured, starting..." and then the screen blanked out. Could not read the rest of it. My monitor LED is blinking as if it would not get a signal or a signal that it can't display.

Subsequent reboots all do the same, they boot into a blank screen.

I am running an AMD XP processor system, nVidia nForce2 chipset, MAtrox Parhelia graphic card. And I am not experienced in Linux.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,
Sascha
Old 6th May 2004, 02:56 AM
Bana Offline
Retired Community Manager

when you get into Grub (the one with the boot options) press e to edit the fedora entry then delete the rhgb line and press enter and then b. This should get you in without the graphical bootup (although it will still probably launch the gdm login manager) Then after a while press ctrl+alt+F1 and it should present you with a text login. Then you can edit your config file (/etc/X11/xorg.conf ) and hopefully change your refresh rates/resolutions to ones you know work. Or you can try something like xfree86config (if it is still there anymore). Good luck!
Old 6th May 2004, 03:03 AM
Picomp314 Offline

I know that this sounds wierd, but what kind of monitor do you have, sometimes linux has difficulties configuring certain types (particularly lcds)
Old 6th May 2004, 03:23 AM
Thoreau Offline

not to be a jackass, but if you're trying core 2 test3 as your 1st linux distro... i would try and get Core 1, it's super stable, or tough it out with test3

Does
Code:
XF86Config -configure
work in Fedora? or it is linux/Xfree wide?